Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lockeland Elementary Design Center

Public | PK-6 | 297 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 7, 2013

LDC has been a fantastic experience so far, and I don't anticipate that changing. My son loves his school, the parents are involved, the teachers seem to geniunely enjoy teaching at our school and love the kids. There are too many fun and additional activities outside of school to count, from chili art fundraisers to family math and reading nights to fall festivals, it's actually hard to keep up. We are so fortunate to have this for our kids and I wish more elementary schools were as supportive and available in metro Nashville.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2012

Lockeland Design is a good School but not for kids with exceptional education needs as is most of Nashville. One of the biggest negatives about this school is the lack of services available for children on the AS. I guess that is more of a Tennessee issue. The lack of real diversity in this school is another big negative as well. The positives are the teachers really do care and the principle cares as well. The PTO is very involved and that helps.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2009

We love Lockeland due to there academic excellence and wonderful teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2009

Lockeland is filled with light, love, fun, and laughter. I love that my children are learning Spanish and have ample opportunity to express themselves creatively through art, reading, writing, and more!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2009

Lockeland has great teachers and staff, great families, numerous volunteers, and is located in a close knit, supportive community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2009

The school thrives on the involvement of the parents and teachers in each child's life. I have never seen a better atmosphere for learning, growth, and self-confidence than in the huge team that is Lockeland.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2009

The staff, teachers, and parents all work together to make Lockeland Design Center an exceptional school where children are truly loved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2009

Lockeland's teachers and staff make each child feel special and that has a positive effect on the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2009

Lots of enthusiasm to learn and grow.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2009

That my daughters can walk to school. The school is apart of our neighborhood.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2009

I love Lockeland because it's a throwback to old neighborhood schools. Many of us walk to school each day and the parents know each other, the kids and the teachers. Everyone is supportive of the school and it's just a sweet little school tucked into a great little neighborhood. How lucky are we?!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2009

Our school has provided a wonderful environment for my children to grow and learn. I love that we have embraced green programs such as composting and a school garden and most importantly I love that the parents and faculty are very devoted to giving their time and energy to make the school so amazing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2009

It's an amazing, nurturing neighborhood school with great involvement by parents with teachers. Each student is known personally by the faculty, staff, and the principal. Children are celebrated for what they are at the same time that they learn at an astounding rate. My child comes home smiling every day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2009

I love Lockeland because my son loves school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2009

The teachers and their love for the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2009

Lockeland is nestled in a well established older neighborhood. The curriculum is designed to center around Language Arts, including a Story Telling Festival and Spanish (Immersion) taught every day to all the children. This school is preparing most of the children to go on to college, and also practices inclusion for children with disabilities. (We no long have Pre-K, because the school is full of students K-4).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2009

We feel fortunate to have our daughter Lilla attending Lockeland!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2009

I have had my children at Lockeland for the past 5 years - this is my daughter's last year there and, fortunately, she is headed to a terrific middle school. But my kids were so fortunate to have been able to attend this school - excellent programs and teachers. Dedicated, kind, and helpful staff. The principal is excellent. I have nothing but the highest praise for Lockeland.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2008

Fantastic school! Best one in the cluster and I'd say it's the best in Metro Nashville!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2007

I agree with the other posts, this is a great school. Spanish is taught daily and there are bilingual signs throughout the building. My son has learned how to read and write in Spanish, the 1st grade classes published books in Spanish. And, we had our 2nd Annual Storytelling Festival featuring some bright talented Storytellers from our school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
72%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 49% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
70%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
83%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 84% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 49% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
23%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 48% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
47%
Science

The state average for Science was 56% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
44%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 88% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 57% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 55% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 87% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 62% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 87% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students78%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White83%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students80%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White83%
Economically disadvantaged39%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students89%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White93%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students85%
African American83%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White86%
Economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students80%
African American67%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White84%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students92%
African American92%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White92%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
English I

The state average for English I was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

English I

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 77% 67%
Black 18% 23%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 2%
Hispanic 2% 7%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 20%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00am
School end time
  • 3:00pm
School Leader's name
  • Emily Spencer
Special schedule
  • Block scheduling
Fax number
  • (615) 258-1336

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Gifted / high performing
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

105 South 17th St
Nashville, TN 37206
Phone: (615) 258-1330

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

East Academy
Nashville, TN




Cora Howe School
Nashville, TN




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT