Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Oak Ridge High School

Public | 9-12 | 1458 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 27, 2013

Oak Ridge High School ranks not only as one of the best high schools in the state of Tennessee, but also in the United States. With progressive class options and a huge selection of AP and Gifted options, the school produces some of the best test scoress in the nation. Oak Ridge hires the best teachers, and in turn has a pay rate higher than 95% of area schools. The principal is a caring, dedicated person and has a great variety of accomplishments. My own child attends ORHS and as a Sophmore is able to take College level classes. In 2011-2012, two seniors at ORHS won the national Seimens contest and $100,000. For a competative child, Oak Ridge is great and produces the type of learining enviroment that all school systems strive to acheive. Oak Ridge also has phenominal programs for those struggling in classes. I reccommend this School to EVERYONE. With a recent rennovation, ORHS has expanded and even has a huge workshop for engineering and also has programs at the National Laboratory, the reason that the city of Oak Ridge exists. Given the opportunity, missing out on ORHS would be the worst mistake a parent could make.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 11, 2012

I love the Oak Ridge School System. I am currently in college and have recently graduated from ORHS. I have grown up in the Oak Ridge School System. The teachers are wonderful. Granted there are some terrible teachers that I have had to put up with, but the AP teachers are great!! Most of the teachers in the system try to do all they can to help a student succeed. We have wonderful AP programs and career readiness programs. I went through the clinical program which gave me great experience towards a health care career. The teachers prepare you for college to the extent that college is extremely easy because of the way the teachers intensify your learning in high school. I was in honors and AP classes and I learned so much and was well prepared for college. I recommend this school system 100%.


Posted March 1, 2012

I really dislike this school, a majority of the teachers rather see their students pass than fail, the science and math department are horrible, and if you aren't brilliant, you don't shine at this school. It's really hard to fit in, everything is so cliche-ish. I honestly wish I could go to another school, you have basically been with the same people in school since preschool. If I knew someone was moving to the East TN area, I would make sure they steer clear from Oak Ridge and ORHS


Posted September 8, 2011

Excellent school. Both my son and daughter attended ORHS. I have been very well pleased with their preparation for college. They said they were far ahead of their college classmates in every area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2011

My children are recent graduates of ORHS (2008 and 2011). They were what I would call conscientious and hard-working but probably average ability (for ORHS) high school students. My concern was that they would not benefit as much from the excellent academic programs at the high school as the many gifted students (e.g. in the past year 50 of 350 students scored 30 or higher on the ACT), but I was pleased to observe that they did benefit. There is a culture of excellence within the school and it gets imprinted on most of the students. My older child, who was average academically at ORHS, is consistently making the dean's list in college. She says that ORHS prepared her well for college. Socially, there are many extra-curricular clubs, sports teams and activities for student involvement. Oak Ridge and the Oak Ridge Schools are are probably the most ethnically diverse town and school system in East Tennessee, which is not saying that much. A significant proportion - maybe 15% - of the high school is non-white and many of the students are children of immigrants. This might appeal to some who would like their children to experience a less-homogeneous high school "demographic."
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2011

My daughter is a senior. She has a scholarship to William and Mary. Three of her classmates will be attending M.I.T. At least one other student will be at Harvard. Other schools I know of where Oak Ridge graduates will attend are: Vanderbilt, North Carolina, Duke, Stanford, and 2 service academies. I think all this speaks for itself.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2010

It is the best public school in the area. It has a wide range of student activities and good teachers. Plus me and my kids attended there!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2009

This school rests on past glory, but has been in decline for a number of years. It has gone from one of the top 100 schools in national surveys to below average. The school has dedicated teachers but has endured years of constrained budgets and policy disputes between the principal, school administration and school board.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2009

Oak Ridge was highly recommended by Dept of Ed. for TN. Jefferson Middle-School was awesome. Personal attention to all students. Then came the high school. Still in High School but deeply disappointed. If you don't meet the 'Oak Ridge critique/clique' you're on the out....and counsellors don't even care. So do the work, get the paper and move on.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2008

This is an extraordinary school for any student who is bright and motivated. There are wonderful opportunities to excel and a highly involved staff that deals with the students on a personal level. However, a student who is not motivated will soon find himself left behind. The students themselves value hard work, talent, and motivation. My children had a life-altering experience here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 27, 2005

If you want the best in everything - academics, music, art, sports, extracurricular activities, community support, etc. - then you would enjoy, and appreciate Oak Ridge High School. The community is very diversed given students an educational advantage in life. It continues to be a nationally ranked high school. The private schools in the area cannot rival the education and success that our students have achieved. The academic facilities are in the process of being updated to rival any in the country. Some of the sport facilities mainly football needs to updated to match the programs success and tradition. The school is much like a junior college. When your son and/or daughter goes to college and after they graduate, they will notice along with their peers and professors that they are much ahead of everyone else.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 29, 2005

A great school for the top kids. Average kids- that might do well in other schools- have a hard time and do not appear to be valued here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2004

I attended this school between 1991 and 1994 and I enjoyed it, I was challenged and I received one of the best educations in the nation. It is very supportive of handicapped children with the sports, education and how they are active in the community. I was very proud to attend an institution such as this one and I hope maybe one day my children may attend.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 8, 2004

Far above area schools in all areas. Will soon go through a major remodel to increase technical areas of use.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 5, 2004

Special education is ignored. IEPs are not followed. Must advocate for child again and again. Negative attitudes regarding student accomodations. Caters to high achievers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2004

Only a great school for excellent students. If your child has a learning disability or a handicapping condition which requires an IEP or a 504 plan - we suggest that you run, don't walk, to a different educational facility.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

One of the top in TN and the nation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

I went to Oak Ridge High School and I think the quality of education is still as good or better 50 years later.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2003

This school is a great school, 80% of their teachers are college professors they have a great system for teaching our kids.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 65% in 2013.

254 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
51%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 42% in 2013.

305 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
60%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 62% in 2013.

365 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
77%
English I

The state average for English I was 68% in 2013.

335 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
81%
English II

The state average for English II was 59% in 2013.

326 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
83%
English III

The state average for English III was 40% in 2013.

245 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
65%
U.S. History

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students65%
African American52%
Asiann/a
Hispanic46%
White68%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Students with disabilities32%
English language learnersn/a

Algebra II

All Students62%
African American33%
Asian93%
Hispanic57%
White66%
Economically disadvantaged38%
Students with disabilities19%
English language learnersn/a

Biology I

All Students82%
African American55%
Asiann/a
Hispanic76%
White89%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disabilities54%
English language learnersn/a

English I

All Students82%
African American63%
Asiann/a
Hispanic73%
White86%
Economically disadvantaged66%
Students with disabilities32%
English language learnersn/a

English II

All Students73%
African American42%
Asian83%
Hispanic75%
White79%
Economically disadvantaged53%
Students with disabilities31%
English language learnersn/a

English III

All Students59%
African American39%
Asiann/a
Hispanic67%
White62%
Economically disadvantaged45%
Students with disabilities17%
English language learnersn/a

U.S. History

All Studentsn/a
African American92%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities94%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 77% 67%
Black 13% 24%
Hispanic 5% 6%
Asian 4% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Two or more races 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 35%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1450 Oak Ridge Turnpike
Oak Ridge, TN 37830
Phone: (865) 425-9601

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Oliver Springs High School
Oliver Springs, TN


Hardin Valley Academy
Knoxville, TN



Paideia Academy
Knoxville, TN


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT