Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Andrew Jackson Elementary School

Public | K-4

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 5, 2014

All my children went to Andrew Jackson! The amount of involvement, professionalism, and love that goes in this school from the school staff to the parents is unbelievable! Any child would be blessed to be able to attend this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 3, 2013

My daughter entered the lottery to get in to this school and it has been a great experience. She has attended since the first grade and is now in 4th grade. I just wish Nashville elementary schools went through the 5th grade! She has loved it and the teachers have been great, encouraging, and loving. Parent involvement is strong. There is a very active PTO. It is a great environment for elementary students. My only complaint would be the focus on TCAPS seems a bit much, but I guess all of the schools are like that these days.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2011

I love this school. My daughter and I relocated to Nashville just in time to miss the lottery that might have gotten her into a magnet school - and I am personally very committed to public schools - so Andrew Jackson was our school of choice (thanks goodness we could find a house in the district!). The staff and teachers are amazing - they are committed and engaged and personable and I feel like I am leaving my child in good hands there every day. She comes home happy and healthy and interested in the world around here. Every day her questions get a little more astute. You can not ask for more in an Elementary School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2009

Andrew Jackson has been a wonderful school for my daughter. She has gone every year since Kindergarten and now that she is in 4th grade we have to leave. It's going to be so hard to find a school as good as AJS. All around fantastic place to be. The principal, Mrs. Gleason, is very nice and all of her teachers have always been so caring and ready, if you need them, to communicate with you. We love AJS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2009

I attended AJS from the fall of '98 to the spring of '03. Looking back on it, I'm so glad my parents sent me their instead of a private school. The school is a very nice and clean building, and the two playgrounds were awesome too. The school year was packed with so many fun activities and we always had fun. The teachers were very caring and made the classes enjoyable. This school was just hands down awesome and I enjoy going back when I get the chance. I miss that place!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 13, 2008

Both my children have attended AJ and loved every minute of it! As good or better than the local private schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2008

This is a great school. Every teacher is always teaching including the music, art, and pe teachers. I am amazed that my 1st grader has learned so much. I think that the teachers are very helpful and concerned. I cannot imagine any of them being rude to a parent or child unless they were treated with little or no respect. Keep up the great work AJS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2008

Horrible communication between teachers/parents. Several of the teachers are very rude to the parents and children. It is a madhouse at the end of the day with little supervision of the children while loading into cars.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2008

My daughter attended Kindergarten at Andrew Jackson this past school year. She LOVED it. Her teacher was wonderful, patient and kind. She came out of Kindergarten reading on a 2nd grade level. The PTO is wonderful and there is a ton of parent involvement. We love AJS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2008

AJS is an awesome school. The school itself is clean and bright. the staff is wonderful and they have a great PTO. My daughter has been there all of her school years and this year (08-09) will be her last. She'll be leaving and she is already upset! Great place...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2008

My son attended Kindergarten at Andrew Jackson this year. He had the most wonderful teacher! She was loving patient and attentive. I absolutely loved all of the activities such as Eagle Run, Winterfest, and the Fiesta Field Day. The school was very safe and I never worried about the welfare of my child while in the care of the staff at AJS. The parent involvement is off the charts as well, having wonderful volunteers and such.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2007

I went to AJs from K-4th grade and I absolutely loved it! It is a great school, and has absolutely WONDERFUL teachers. It is very clean, and there are alot of activities that take place over the year. Field Day, Eagle Run, Winterfest and many more. The teachers are very caring and it's a complete blast! I would highly reccomend this school.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 8, 2006

AJS is a fantastic school. My daughter is in 3rd grad there and loves it. Parental involvement is very high, which is one reason it has been named a National School of Excellence. There are no sports to speak of, because the children are kept busy with a variety of activities like the Eagle Walk early in the school year and the Student Activity Day, which will be coming up this coming Friday, May 12. My daughter's favorite subjects this year have been, in order, Art, Music, and Reading. The teachers are all awesome, highly trained and love the students and do whatever is needed to help them succeed. They have a new principal this year who has done an amazing job. If I have one complaint it is that I or my wife have filled out the same free lunch application five times since the beginning of the year, 2006.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
55%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 49% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
43%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
72%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 84% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 49% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
44%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 48% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
42%

2010

 
 
39%
Science

The state average for Science was 56% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
51%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 88% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students61%
African American58%
Asiann/a
Hispanic25%
White68%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students53%
African American58%
Asiann/a
Hispanic8%
White58%
Economically disadvantaged36%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students77%
African American73%
Asiann/a
Hispanic42%
White85%
Economically disadvantaged68%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students93%
African American92%
Asiann/a
Hispanic83%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students55%
African American46%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White60%
Economically disadvantaged48%
Students with disabilities42%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students54%
African American46%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White63%
Economically disadvantaged37%
Students with disabilities53%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students60%
African American54%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White66%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Students with disabilities42%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities84%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 68% 67%
Black 20% 23%
Hispanic 7% 7%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 42%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00
School end time
  • 3:00
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Ann-Marie Gleason
Fax number
  • (615) 847-7336
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

110 Shute La
Old Hickory, TN 37138
Website: Click here
Phone: (615) 847-7317

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Christian Life Academy
Old Hickory, TN





Dupont Elementary School
Old Hickory, TN



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT