Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-4
Public
Old Hickory, TN
Students enrolled: 524
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

5 stars
Based on 20 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


21 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Andrew Jackson Elementary School 5

Posted August 05, 2014
- a parent
All my children went to Andrew Jackson! The amount of involvement, professionalism, and love that goes in this school from the school staff to the parents is unbelievable! Any child would be blessed to be able to attend this school!

Andrew Jackson Elementary School 4

Posted December 03, 2013
- a parent
My daughter entered the lottery to get in to this school and it has been a great experience. She has attended since the first grade and is now in 4th grade. I just wish Nashville elementary schools went through the 5th grade! She has loved it and the teachers have been great, encouraging, and loving. Parent involvement is strong. There is a very active PTO. It is a great environment for elementary students. My only complaint would be the focus on TCAPS seems a bit much, but I guess all of the schools are like that these days.


Andrew Jackson Elementary School 5

Posted February 21, 2011
- a parent
I love this school. My daughter and I relocated to Nashville just in time to miss the lottery that might have gotten her into a magnet school - and I am personally very committed to public schools - so Andrew Jackson was our school of choice (thanks goodness we could find a house in the district!). The staff and teachers are amazing - they are committed and engaged and personable and I feel like I am leaving my child in good hands there every day. She comes home happy and healthy and interested in the world around here. Every day her questions get a little more astute. You can not ask for more in an Elementary School.

Andrew Jackson Elementary School 5

Posted February 01, 2009
- a parent
Andrew Jackson has been a wonderful school for my daughter. She has gone every year since Kindergarten and now that she is in 4th grade we have to leave. It's going to be so hard to find a school as good as AJS. All around fantastic place to be. The principal, Mrs. Gleason, is very nice and all of her teachers have always been so caring and ready, if you need them, to communicate with you. We love AJS!

Andrew Jackson Elementary School 5

Posted January 12, 2009
- a student
I attended AJS from the fall of '98 to the spring of '03. Looking back on it, I'm so glad my parents sent me their instead of a private school. The school is a very nice and clean building, and the two playgrounds were awesome too. The school year was packed with so many fun activities and we always had fun. The teachers were very caring and made the classes enjoyable. This school was just hands down awesome and I enjoy going back when I get the chance. I miss that place!


Andrew Jackson Elementary School 5

Posted November 14, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Andrew Jackson Elementary School 5

Posted October 13, 2008
- a parent
Both my children have attended AJ and loved every minute of it! As good or better than the local private schools.

Andrew Jackson Elementary School 5

Posted October 06, 2008
- a parent
This is a great school. Every teacher is always teaching including the music, art, and pe teachers. I am amazed that my 1st grader has learned so much. I think that the teachers are very helpful and concerned. I cannot imagine any of them being rude to a parent or child unless they were treated with little or no respect. Keep up the great work AJS!


Andrew Jackson Elementary School 5

Posted October 01, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Andrew Jackson Elementary School 5

Posted September 20, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Andrew Jackson Elementary School
110 Shute La, Old Hickory, TN  37138
(615) 847-7317
Last modified Andrew Jackson Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-4. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Andrew Jackson Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. Top