Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Dupont Elementary School

Public | PK-6

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 29, 2012

Our Family relocated to Davidson County schools just this year. We are very satisfied thus far. However I wish that,as all parents do, that we could do more to raise the "bar."I feel my son could be challenged more. Having said that I do really love his teacher. She is so focused and it shows! We feel certain we will remain in this area for years to come. Dupont Elementary is the reason for that.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2011

We have three kids that have went or are now attending Dupont Elementary..Our first experience with Dupont Elem. was in 2003 and We have only had GREAT!!!!!! experiences, every teacher my kids have had still check on them if I see them out in public, or pass them in the halls of the school..We have actually made sure we do not move outside the school district because of the great teachers at this school...My children have always been shown kindness & taught beyond levels necessary for them to excel in life..I could not be happier..as for the office staff...Ms Connie, Coffee, & Brown ARE AMAZING!!!!! If my kids have been sick or needed me for other reasons they made them feel comfortable until i arrived. Lets not forget the principal, Mrs Hoskins, she knows every child at her school & makes it a point to notice them personally, my kids love this...From personal experiences not a better school out there,, was sad when my oldest left for hadley, which has been a great school as well. Even the janitors, & cafeteria crew have been great to the children as they see them through the school..AMAZING PLACE to have your children..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2010

My grand daughter attends Dupont. The teachers, principal and staff are caring, and extend that care to families and the community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2010

I am a parent with a preschooler there at Dupont but I feel that parent involvement should be encouraged more and the students there should be using the computer more to become familiar with using a PC. My child was told that she had to watch the other students use the PC because she was too small (signed release for use) . I requested a parent teacher conference with the teacher and she never scheduled with me after receiving her progress report. In my opinion the teacher was not being honest about her behavior in school and although she see me every day , she never tells me reports on my child in school. Staff a tDupont apppear not to be very freindly toward african americans and therefore do not involve them in particular activities. I dont like that they learn letters and numbers backwards either.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2009

Wonderful school .I wish I never took my kids out of that school,Now i cant find a school that match it
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 15, 2008

The lack of communication between parent and school is dreadful. They express that they do not have parent involvement and I wonder why? I was not told (by the teacher or the administration) that my child s teacher was pregnant. I had to ask her about the details of the situation (when are you leaving? and when are coming back?). When the interim teacher came to the class, there was no meet and greet with the new teacher. Once again I had to talk to the teacher. Both teachers have never corrected my child's school work. I asked to have a meeting with the principle and I was never called back. My child had a Christmas program on a Friday, which was canceled due to weather. They rescheduled the program and never informed me. The front office still needs to work on their people skills, sometimes they do not even say Hi.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2007

The teachers are great, my daughter has learned so much here and her interest in reading is overwhelming , but the front office staff has to work on their people skills a little more.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 4, 2007

Excellent school - terrific administrators - wonderful reading program. My going into 2nd grader is reading at a 4th grade level - what more could I ask for.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
36%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 49% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
28%

2011

 
 
36%

2010

 
 
39%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
49%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 84% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 49% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
22%

2012

 
 
30%

2011

 
 
31%

2010

 
 
16%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 48% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
30%
Science

The state average for Science was 56% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
37%

2010

 
 
30%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 88% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 57% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 55% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 87% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 62% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 87% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students34%
African American21%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White33%
Economically disadvantaged30%
Students with disabilities27%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students27%
African American14%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White27%
Economically disadvantaged20%
Students with disabilities18%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students54%
African American43%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White58%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Students with disabilities55%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students72%
African American64%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White73%
Economically disadvantaged68%
Students with disabilities64%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students22%
African American8%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White25%
Economically disadvantaged22%
Students with disabilities20%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students31%
African American33%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White29%
Economically disadvantaged30%
Students with disabilities40%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students46%
African American33%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White48%
Economically disadvantaged47%
Students with disabilities30%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students82%
African American83%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White82%
Economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilities60%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
English I

The state average for English I was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

English I

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 73% 67%
Black 18% 23%
Hispanic 6% 7%
Two or more races 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 76%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1311 9th St
Old Hickory, TN 37138
Phone: (615) 847-7305

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Family Christian Academy
Old Hickory, TN





Metro Christian Academy
Goodlettsville, TN



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT