Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Norwood Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 6, 2007

Some of the older staff are Norwood are wonderful. However it is very evident which teachers are in the 'in' clique. These teachers and their children can do nothing wrong in the eyes of the school administration. It once was a wonderful school. My first child went through there and had awesome elementary years. However, because of the clique and the fact that nothing is done about their children and the way that they act, I have taken my second child out of Norwood and placed them in another school. My third child will never go to Norwood unless things change in the next few years. I hope that things change in the near future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2007

I think that Norwood School is a great school. Some, but not all of the staff needs to work on greeting the parents/visitors that they pass in the hallways, instead of staring straight ahead as if they don't see you, or looking through you. After all, the school is made up of the people of the community. If the community is diverse racially or economically, the school will be also. Just make the people welcome. We're there because we're supposed to be there. Other than that I think that it's a great place for a child to learn. Mr. Patton, the school secretary, lunchroom and janitorial staff are not in this category of unfriendly people.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2007

I attended Norwood as a child and now my 8 year old son is a student there. A lot of teachers that taught when I attended are still there but the new teachers that I have delt with have been great. Participation and involvement is what you make it.If you need answers-don't stop until you get them. Be an assertive parent!We have to teach our children how to lead and not follow. Part of that is getting involved no matter what! Favoritism is everywhere and as parents we have to teach our children how to deal with that even if its hard for us to deal with at times.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2007

I would like to start off by saying that I really am not happy with the way things are run here at norwood. Most of the teachers are wonderful but for the most part there is major favoritism going on. It really hurts to know that if there is a problem within the school we parents do not have anyone we can talk to. Are we not supposed to have an open door policy. Are we not supposed to know that we can count on our 'leaders' to guide our children. And if there is a problem or we are concerned about what is going on that and effort would be made? I am not trying to call anyone out but as a parent it just makes we wonder how can our children get the best education, when the kids are forgotten in all the politics!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2006

I my self can say it is an great school. My kids have learned a lot. There are a few teachers that I have not been happy with but there are more that I am happy with.As for Mr. Patton he is an excellent principal but there was at least one time I can say I was not happy with him but all the other times I have been. He is a great principal an yes I think he is too laid back but that can be a good thing at times. as for the fundraiser I myself an my child look forward to them every yr even the people we ask to buy things from it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2005

My son has diabetes and he has gone to Norwood Elementary since Kindergarten. They has always helped us and his teachers have been wonderful. My husband went there when he was little and he said it was the same back then. There are great teachers and Mr. Patton is great as a principle.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2005

The teachers in 3rd and 5th grades are absolutely wonderful. The principal is too laid back and when presented with a problem he does nothing. If there was a better leader in this school the state tests scores would be much better. Most of the teachers will speak to other parents about other children. Majority of teachers are not like this but if you are in the in-croud with a teacher your child does wonderful. If not watch out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2005

I really like the school. There are parts of the curriculum that I don't like, but it's a county wide program. The teachers are very nice. They truly care for the students, but sometimes I feel the principal could do a better job with leadership. Parent involvement seems to be good. There are lots of fundraisers which do get frustrating for both parents and students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2004

It's very good school, the teachers are very helpful and nice and really good with the children, the principal is also very helpful and nice. To me it's a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
12%

2010

 
 
29%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 49% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
18%

2012

 
 
26%

2011

 
 
12%

2010

 
 
31%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
38%

2010

 
 
56%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 84% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 49% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
18%

2011

 
 
22%

2010

 
 
23%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 48% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
31%

2011

 
 
28%

2010

 
 
37%
Science

The state average for Science was 56% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
29%

2011

 
 
24%

2010

 
 
42%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 88% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 57% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
38%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 55% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
42%
Science

The state average for Science was 63% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
65%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 87% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students38%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White40%
Economically disadvantaged30%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students18%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White19%
Economically disadvantaged15%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students45%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White45%
Economically disadvantaged36%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students70%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White71%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students60%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White58%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Students with disabilities40%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students44%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White42%
Economically disadvantaged38%
Students with disabilities40%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students62%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White60%
Economically disadvantaged58%
Students with disabilities47%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students84%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White83%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilities80%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students55%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White54%
Economically disadvantaged53%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students48%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White49%
Economically disadvantaged47%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students50%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White51%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students95%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 97% 67%
Black 2% 23%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 7%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 74%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (865) 435-2758

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

809 Tri County Bl
Oliver Springs, TN 37840
Phone: (865) 435-2519

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





St. Marys School
Oak Ridge, TN



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT