Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Hunter Middle School

Public | 6-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 6, 2013

We are brand new to this area. The staff at Hunter Middle have been so friendly and helpful. My daughter has really had a great experience here so far. This school could really use some extra funds due to cut backs. The money would help get the teachers adequate supplies for their classrooms. This will help with visual aide for the special needs classrooms as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2013

Hunter Middle School is going into their third week for 2013-14. My granddaughters enrolled this year and I am impressed with the results I have seen and heard from them. Their summer reading requirements were new to the girls, yet they were able to complete them within two weeks prior to the beginning of school. I rate this school as 4.5 stars based on what I've seen so far.


Posted June 11, 2013

I graduated from Hunter Middle school this past May. I enjoyed my time greatly at Hunter. There have been students who hated their time in middle school, but I believe that it's what you make of it. If you follow the rules, do the work, and pay attention in class then students should enjoy their time. However, if students do the exact opposite then they won't enjoy it because they aren't learning. They are goofing off with their friends. The teachers were very kind to me and they give many chances to complete work and even excel. Now, the principal calls every week to inform parents about weekly events and students watch "WHMS" each day to find out about daily occurrences. I would say that Hunter could improve by delving deeper into student's school lives and try to fix any problems that a student might have although they can go and speak with their teachers or the guidance counselor if they desire. I would highly recommend Hunter Middle School for preparing me academically for High School.


Posted April 30, 2013

My child is in 6th I hate the school! The communication between teachers and parents is non existent! They basically throw your kid into a pool and hope they can swim if not oh well! They allowed my child to have hypoglycemia instances and not even notify me that's right my child was passing out in school and no one thought I should know! The principal is worthless! Don't ask for him to come to a meeting he won't show! My child is adhd and we are trying to get a handle on the right meds but I can't with out the teachers help I have been to every parent teacher meeting and I tell all teachers email me if you see him failing well he has 3 fs no word from any teacher! If you don't throw money at the school they could give to craps about you or your kid! The bullying is also out of control principal just sweeps it under the rug! My suggestion is if you can put your child some where else run and don't look back!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 16, 2011

This school has had a lot of problems with bullying this year. The principal is NOT responsive to concerns about bullying. The teachers are great. Support staff are also very kind and concerned.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2011

I'm currently an eighth grader at HMS , I'll be promoting next week. Although I'm excited , I'm definitely going to miss my teachers , they are wonderful ! In all my three years , I've never had a teacher that I absolutely disapprove of. I must say though that the administration needs A LOT of work , I don't think they care about the students , not even honor students ,such as myself . Sports is not a big thing with them , in fact if they could I bet they'd take them all away . Aside from that, I loved my time at Hunter , the teachers and students really connect !


Posted September 29, 2009

The principal is not the best but the teachers are great my kids love them. The dress code changes all the time my kids were sad to hear that cru-knecks are out of dress code know i personally liked the cru-knecks theres no point in not letting them werar cru-necks wats the difference between polos and cru-necks. But otherwise i highly recomended.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2009

Hunter Middle School is an overall great school. I am in the 7th grade and so far it's pretty good. All the teachers and staff members are nice. The teachers are'nt like strict teahcers. Their fun to talk to, someone you could ask for homework help, etc. The teachers will give you the education you deserve. You should really consider your child, granddaughter, whoever to come to Hunter Middle School.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 29, 2009

The kids love all their teachers so far.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2009

I have mixed feelings about Hunter Middle School. The middle school years are difficult years for many children/teenagers. Overall Hunter is a good school, but it could improve in some areas. It all depends on the teacher and the principal at the time as far as how good of an experience my son or daughter had.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2009

My Grandson goes here and I am pleased with the school.


Posted July 19, 2009

This will be my final year at Hunter and i don't know if i should be sad or joyful. Hunter is an all around wonderful school, but several of the students and i have come to the conclusion that it has become a prison! Mr.Kuehn was an extraordinary principal as was Mr. Fairchild! Only now, we've got a new principal and assistant principal. The assistant principal is the worst disciplinarian i've layed eyes on! We joke around and call her The True Devil That Wears Prada! But the thing is that it's not a joke! She is like our new prison wardon and we're the inmates that have done nothing wrong! -An anonymous Writer.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 3, 2009

i love hunter middle school ive only been there a year but i sure can tell you if i could pick any school in the world id go to hunter. Yeah its that good.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 19, 2009

Hunter is the Middle school in Hamilton County that does it all. The education, the teachers, the parents, the Coaches are incredible, all superb. I highly recommend this school for character building in young people. My son will be leaving after this year and although he is excited about the future in High School, he loves Hunter and is sad to be leaving such a high quality group of people.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2008

I think Hunter Middle is hands down the best middle school in hamilton county the teachers are great. the sports and extracurricular activities are great too.i have attended for three years and have enjoyed all of them thank you Hunter Middle.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 6, 2008

We love Hunter Middle School. We have had a wonderful experience here at Hunter. My son is in the 7th grade at Hunter and loves this school. The teachers care about the children and are willing to put the effort forward to make sure they are on task with what needs to be learned. My son has never had a better experience. Our Elementary years were horrible but once he started hunter in the 6th grade we have had a total different experience. He looks forward to going to school every day. Thank you Hunter for the care and wonderful teaching my son has experienced!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 3, 2007

The way to get the extracurricular activities and most of the teachers support at this school is have money.The kids of the not rich doesn't have much of a chance.If your child happens to get on one of the faculties bad side you might as well throw your hands in the air.If your child has any behavioral issues there's no hope for them at Hunter.They do not deal well with ADHD kids at all.The assistant principle doesn't deal well with these kids at all.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2013.

241 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
39%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

241 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
64%
Science

The state average for Science was 62% in 2013.

241 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
67%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 87% in 2013.

241 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2013.

216 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
36%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 47% in 2013.

216 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
51%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2013.

215 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
61%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

215 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 41% in 2013.

168 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
16%

2010

 
 
19%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 47% in 2013.

230 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
56%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2013.

230 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
70%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 82% in 2013.

230 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students58%
African American67%
Asiann/a
Hispanic58%
White57%
Economically disadvantaged51%
Students with disabilities52%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students73%
African American71%
Asiann/a
Hispanic50%
White75%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disabilities46%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students74%
African American67%
Asiann/a
Hispanic67%
White75%
Economically disadvantaged66%
Students with disabilities41%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students90%
African American83%
Asiann/a
Hispanic92%
White90%
Economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilities48%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students50%
African American36%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White53%
Economically disadvantaged42%
Students with disabilities36%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students54%
African American33%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White58%
Economically disadvantaged41%
Students with disabilities36%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students67%
African American39%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White73%
Economically disadvantaged59%
Students with disabilities52%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students91%
African American64%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilities60%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students43%
African American41%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White43%
Economically disadvantaged36%
Students with disabilities27%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students51%
African American33%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White55%
Economically disadvantaged36%
Students with disabilities30%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students74%
African American51%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White79%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disabilities30%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students91%
African American72%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilities57%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
98%
English I

The state average for English I was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

English I

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 75% 67%
Black 21% 23%
Hispanic 3% 7%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 44%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (423) 344-1485

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6810 Teal La
Ooltewah, TN 37363
Phone: (423) 344-1474

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Brown Middle School
Harrison, TN




Tyner Middle Academy
Chattanooga, TN


Cumberland Hall Academy
Chattanooga, TN


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT