Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Snow Hill Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 571 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 18, 2013

My school is awesome because the teachers really care about and spend time outside of school with their students doing extra fun and educational trips !!! We love Snow Hill !!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2013

This school has the most experienced, most wonderful principal who helps parents and teachers willingly, with loving care. The teachers are the best. The number one priority is for students, first, last and always. We could not ask for more. Snow Hill is a GREAT school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2013

Snow Hill Elementary is a FANTASTIC school. My child has support and genuine compassion and kindness from his teachers and from all staff, including the principal. Yes, they are strict and do not waiver from the core values every child needs to learn now - respect, responsibility, readiness - I am very supportive of this. It's easy to see that if these values are not instilled in children at a young age, there is a good chance the child will not care about these values. There are actions taken if a child doesn't (after given many chances to learn). Can't follow the 3 'R's', you don't get to attend field trips, etc. FANTASTIC! Children are safe, cared for, and each teacher develops a lesson plan that will suit every child - yet not one kid knows who is an 'A' student and who is struggling with a subject. I say that b/c I see it 1st hand. It's a shame when a parent/guardian gets mad at the staff over issues with their child. It is our responsibility to reinforce the values that are being taught. I am 100% satisfied with Snow Hill, the teachers, staff, principal, etc. GREAT JOB!!! I am proud to have my child attend there and forever grateful to the staff....WONDERFUL school!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2012

Great school and willing to work w/ parents and willing to work on game plan for parent teacher student relationship involvement.The last school was a wreck,(Harrison Elementary),but the Teachers and staff at Snow Hill helped set our minds at ease that this school could help and was willing to turn that bad experience into an enjoyable one were parents are encouraged to be involved,and not just talk they really do what they say instead of blowing smoke and acting too busy or important to help. GOOD JOB SNOW HILL!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2012

I don't know where the great reviews for this school come from. The security is lacking, the principal is inflexible and long winded, some of the teachers are two faced, and the school is very old and under staffed. I do not wish to go into detail about the exact security that is lacking about this school but needless to say, it has been brought to the principal's attention and nothing has been done. Say what you want about my opinion of the principal and teachers, but security isn't a subjective thing. Either they have it or they don't. Snowhill doesn't. As far as the staff, don't assume your first impression of them is in fact their true nature. As soon as you have a problem or issue that requires extra attention, you are now a liability and a irritant. And by problem or issue, I mean ANYTHING that requires you to visit the front office. Something as simple as getting a new lunch number or car rider number is viewed as petty and nagging. I would advise anyone that is planning on moving their child to this school not to make the mistake we did. We assumed the teachers and principal really cared and we came in with a pleasant attitude. That only enabled us to be taken advantage of.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2012

We, as a family, absolutely love Snow Hill Elementary. We had to relocate and miss it terribly. The teachers were so nice, pricinpal was warm and welcoming, small #'s creates a great sense of community. We hope to be back soon!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2011

This is the only school my son has ever attended, he has went thru prek and kindergarten here at Snowhill and I love it!! The transition of starting school at 4 yrs old was made to be so easy.... all the teachers and parents whom you see or pass by in the halls are so kind and helpful. My son loves school and I whole-heartedly believe that Snowhill has to be the best elementary school in Tennessee...... Amy Herron
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2010

Snow Hill is a great school with top notch teachers. My kids are very happy here and moved moved here from out of town. They are doing the same work. They love it here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2008

Snow Hill is one of the best schools i have ever attended! All of the teachers are wonderful and very kind! I miss the school very much and i wish it goes all the way up to 8th grade instead of 5th. Snow Hill is a very well rounded school and it has barely any flaws. former student: Kristin Pruett
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 29, 2005

Snow Hill is the best school I had ever went to. I went there 1-5 grades and that school is the coolest ever! Mrs.Woods is the greatest pricipal that I ever had met. I didnt want to leave that school!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 24, 2004

I think Snow Hill is an awesum school.I went there k-5 grade an had a lot of fun!I was on Safety Patrol in 5th an Mrs.Visage did an awesum job making sure we were on post on time.Snow Hill is the best. You will learn a lot all of your years at Snow Hill.Megan
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 9, 2003

Snow Hill School is a wonderful school. The teachers are great and the principal is absolutely wonderful. Mrs. Woods is the most caring principal I have ever came across. I would not want my children to attend any other school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2003

Great school, great people, great kids, great teachers and principal.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
45%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 49% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
48%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
68%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 84% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 49% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
46%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 48% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
51%
Science

The state average for Science was 56% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
74%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 88% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 57% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
37%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 55% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
61%
Science

The state average for Science was 63% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
74%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 87% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students69%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White69%
Economically disadvantaged68%
Students with disabilities53%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students56%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White55%
Economically disadvantaged58%
Students with disabilities53%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students79%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White79%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilities73%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students88%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilities67%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students66%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White64%
Economically disadvantaged43%
Students with disabilities20%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students59%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White58%
Economically disadvantaged36%
Students with disabilities20%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students79%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White77%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Students with disabilities50%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students94%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilities80%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students73%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White70%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilities46%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students66%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White64%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Students with disabilities39%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students84%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White82%
Economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilities62%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities92%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 92% 67%
Black 3% 24%
Hispanic 3% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Asian 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 37%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9042 Career La
Ooltewah, TN 37363
Phone: (423) 344-1456

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Allen Elementary School
Soddy Daisy, TN




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT