Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Bledsoe County High School

Public | 9-12 | 565 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 27, 2009

I have a foster child at Bledsoe Co. H. S. The school has been wonderful in meeting the needs of this child. They were very quick to get me his needed school records. Thank you Bledsoe Co. for your help.


Posted January 22, 2009

I went to Bledsoe County my whole life, and currently am a second year college student. I struggled in some areas at Bledsoe because of my own choices and freewill. I have made the deans list in college because applied myself. Bledsoe has many accademic clubs and activities that can prepare students collegically. The majority of teachers I had, where great. Most of my struggles where attributed to laziness not applying myself. If you try at Bledsoe, you'll do fine. The only issue I ever had is that the guidance department could do better at informing students of scholorships and post high school oppurtunities. Mr. Oreto was always nice and seemed to care. I think he could use some help though, in order to better inform students. Try and you will get out of it what you have put into it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 11, 2008

I am a student at Bledsoe County High and in my opinion its one of the best schools in TN. You couldn't find any better teachers than what we have in our school system. I feel like I am getting a good education here and being prepared for college.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 23, 2007

Between unqualified teachers, snowday and sickout days when does my child get an education? I speak with my daughter on a regular basis about her choices for college. This school falls short in preparing her. The guidance councilor hasn't taken interest at all in her future. Not once has she had an appointment to review her course of education. This school does not prepare our children for what lies ahead. They seem to just shuffle them through the system.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2006

I went to Bledsoe for about 2 months and I have to admit it is one of the best schools I've ever been to. I met some of the most loving friends I have ever known. Mandi Frost
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 3, 2005

I am currently going to Bledsoe , and the school has some of the smartest kids in TN. I recently went to a competetion were we placed 2nd in our district. This is one of the best small town schools that you can go to.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 3, 2004

I graduated from this school. I consider my education from there as complete as any available in any similar small school system. We have very good teachers and staff. We have teachers that drive as far away as 75 miles to teach here. This school is SACS accredited, as are all our schools in the county. We are a very rural county with a very low tax base, but the school system manages to do an extremely good job with what they have.The biggest problem that I can see locally, as elsewhere I am sure, is getting parents involved actively in their child's education. It would make a world of difference. Thanks.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 23, 2004

I wish I had sent my child elsewhere or home schooled. The majority of children are not being taught enough to even enter the job market. Local colleges say 'oh' very sympathetically, when they find out your child graduated from Bledsoe}.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 65% in 2013.

140 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
55%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 42% in 2013.

159 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
44%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 62% in 2013.

160 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
79%
English I

The state average for English I was 68% in 2013.

148 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
63%
English II

The state average for English II was 59% in 2013.

155 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
64%
English III

The state average for English III was 40% in 2013.

156 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
52%
U.S. History

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students70%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White71%
Economically disadvantaged68%
Students with disabilities14%
English language learnersn/a

Algebra II

All Students58%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White59%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Biology I

All Students78%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White80%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilities52%
English language learnersn/a

English I

All Students66%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White68%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Students with disabilities18%
English language learnersn/a

English II

All Students61%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White63%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Students with disabilities12%
English language learnersn/a

English III

All Students35%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White36%
Economically disadvantaged31%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

U.S. History

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 96% 67%
Black 2% 23%
Hispanic 2% 7%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 68%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (423) 447-6580

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

877 Main St
Pikeville, TN 37367
Phone: (423) 447-6851

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT