Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Portland High School

Public | 9-12 | 1104 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 13, 2013

This school is very behind and slow on academics. They also do nothing about bullying as administration.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 17, 2011

Good School, but needs better traffic routing. Needs more outreach for parents. Needs more real life training for college prep.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2007

Portland High School is, in my opinion, the best high School in Sumner County. We have great students, we also have a wonderful staff! Our graduation rate was below where it should have been at one time, but we are on the rebound, thanks in part to our new principal, Mr. Bob Gideon. I couldn't have asked for a better principal, he actually listens to the concerns of students and faculty alike. He is doing a wonderful job. All of the PHS staff are doing a wonderful job. Keep up the good work, guys!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 29, 2005

I think that Portland High is the best school out of other school in the Sumner County region. At this school bullying is very slim and the principal's involvment with the students is very great. Mrs. Grogan and Mr. Dyer are very strict, yet nice as well. Overall, this is a very good school to go to.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 16, 2005

I think portland High school is the best school i have ever attended and i also have a daughter now who attends there. The sports are aewsome and the teachers are understanding and educational. It is the best place to go to school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 13, 2005

I used to be a student at Portland High school until I moved to Minnesota and I am about to move back in the next week. Portland High School is a wonderful school the teachers and Principal keep the students busy. Mrs. Grogran is a wonderful Principal and she keeps the kids in line most of the time. Thanks Portland High for making my freshmen year great!!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 9, 2004

I think that Portland High School is one of the best schools in our county. The teaching staff is wonderful, and my kids actually look forward to going to school in the morning, they practically wake me up to take them. Mrs. Grogan, the principle, is a commanding yet fun principle. She keeps the students in line, yet she also knows how to have fun. Portland High School is the kind of place that I want my kids to stay. I never have to fear for their safety. Officer Martin keeps the school under a tight watch, and he does a great job.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2004

I think Portland High School is an awesome school because it allows someone to be an individual and they can accomplish so much there because the population is so small. Everybody knows everybody here, and everyone is nice to everyone...most of the time, there's always one. I just moved here like 2-3 years ago and I love it! I couldnt have been half the things I am now if I had went to the over populate Hendersonville High School.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 65% in 2013.

298 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
37%

2010

 
 
32%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 42% in 2013.

257 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
22%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 62% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
38%

2010

 
 
41%
English I

The state average for English I was 68% in 2013.

304 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
55%
English II

The state average for English II was 59% in 2013.

309 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
52%
English III

The state average for English III was 40% in 2013.

274 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
35%
U.S. History

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students67%
African American33%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White69%
Economically disadvantaged59%
Students with disabilities18%
English language learnersn/a

Algebra II

All Students29%
African American31%
Asiann/a
Hispanic25%
White29%
Economically disadvantaged23%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Biology I

All Students82%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White82%
Economically disadvantaged65%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

English I

All Students59%
African American25%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White62%
Economically disadvantaged49%
Students with disabilities24%
English language learnersn/a

English II

All Students54%
African American35%
Asiann/a
Hispanic50%
White56%
Economically disadvantaged45%
Students with disabilities25%
English language learnersn/a

English III

All Students38%
African American31%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White40%
Economically disadvantaged27%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

U.S. History

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities87%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 91% 67%
Black 5% 24%
Hispanic 3% 6%
Asian 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 42%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
Visual arts
  • Painting
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (615) 325-5302

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Library
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

600 College St
Portland, TN 37148
Phone: (615) 325-9201

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Highland Academy
Portland, TN





White House High School
White House, TN


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT