Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Rockvale Middle School

Public | 6-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 10, 2014

Rockvale middle is the worst school I have ever attended. The teachers treat you so wrong, that you constantly feel bad about yourself. I have been called names by a teacher there and the principal knew about it and did nothing. You can get accused of something you didn't even do by the teachers, and when you try to explain yourself all they do is not listen, and stick to the wrong side of the story. I don't recommend this school at all!


Posted May 1, 2014

Completely thrilled - my 7th grader has totally excelled! Great sports and great music dept!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2014

Worst school ever. They do not care for their students and don't care if they succeed. I made a mistake sending my son here. Please rethink sending your children to this school, especially if they have problems with school to begin with. Such as a learning problem. Careless people.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2014

Rockvale Middle School is one of the worst schools I ever attended. Everyone was so rude especially the assistant principals. A middle school teachers job is to prepare you for high school and the math teachers did just the opposite where I was not prepared for high school level algebra If I had the choice to move schools at the time I would have switched in a heartbeat. The amount of bullying at Rockvale was absolutely ridiculous. The teachers do not care about the students because if they did then the bullying wouldn't be as bad. There should be new teachers because the current ones can't teach. I am just glad that i am no longer a student of that terrible excuse for a school. I wish i could go lower than a 1/5 for the rating.


Posted November 25, 2013

Was not pleased with this school at all. If you have a child within special needs this district and school is not for you. When we lived there, we had countless meetings with teachers, principle etc. They classified my child as being unorganized, not participating in class, not asking for help etc. I kept telling them that I believed he was on the Autism spectrum and he was having serious problems learning the material. They kept brushing me off. Long story short, we moved out of state, I scheduled a meeting with in the first month of my child attending the new school. They immediately picked up on the fact he did have a learning disability and was finally dx on the spectrum. My child had a horrible time in middle school and still remembers the issues. I am so grateful with our new district and so is he.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2013

The school should have better enforcement on rules about bullying. My best friend goes to this school and they get bullied constantly all day every day, which is making their grades really low. My friend told me he was on the school bus and he was knocked to the floor of the bus and kicked constantly over and over. The educational system seems very stable compared to the schools I've seen in the past.


Posted April 4, 2010

Brand New School - All in all a great experience for my child. A bit disorganized at first but that goes in part with the school opening and gaining consistency. Teachers seem to be very dedicated - some homework assignments don't make sense - but all in all the work looks like it matches the grade and is challenging. My daughter loves it there. The grounds are clean, not much drama reported and great variety of athletics and clubs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2010

I absolutly LOVE rockvale middle school. I have the best of friends and playing on the soccer team makes it alotmmore fun too:)
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2013.

204 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
49%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

204 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
64%
Science

The state average for Science was 62% in 2013.

204 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
59%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 87% in 2013.

204 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2013.

336 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
33%

2010

 
 
26%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 47% in 2013.

336 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
41%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2013.

336 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
61%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

336 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 41% in 2013.

311 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
38%

2010

 
 
34%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 47% in 2013.

324 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
55%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2013.

324 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
76%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 82% in 2013.

324 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students51%
African American27%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White57%
Economically disadvantaged38%
Students with disabilities42%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students71%
African American57%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White77%
Economically disadvantaged59%
Students with disabilities54%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students80%
African American65%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White85%
Economically disadvantaged70%
Students with disabilities58%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students92%
African American81%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilities77%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students61%
African American36%
Asian68%
Hispanic58%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White69%
Economically disadvantaged51%
Students with disabilities46%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students65%
African American39%
Asian63%
Hispanic63%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White74%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Students with disabilities46%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students86%
African American69%
Asian84%
Hispanic84%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disabilities71%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students94%
African American88%
Asian89%
Hispanicn/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilities85%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students66%
African American54%
Asiann/a
Hispanic40%
White68%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Students with disabilities30%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students53%
African American36%
Asian59%
Hispanic33%
White58%
Economically disadvantaged39%
Students with disabilities28%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students80%
African American59%
Asiann/a
Hispanic73%
White84%
Economically disadvantaged69%
Students with disabilities41%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students89%
African American73%
Asiann/a
Hispanic93%
White91%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilities57%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
100%
English I

The state average for English I was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

English I

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 70% 67%
Black 17% 23%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 2%
Hispanic 5% 7%
Two or more races 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 39%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Nurse(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Instrumental music lessons

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • American sign language
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • American sign language

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Nurse(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Library
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Softball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Instrumental music lessons
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6551 Hwy 99
Rockvale, TN 37153
Phone: (615) 904-6746

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Cason Lane Academy
Murfreesboro, TN




Blackman Middle School
Murfreesboro, TN



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT