Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Hardin County High School

Public | 9-12

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 4, 2013

This "school" is a joke. I graduated in 2008 with a guy that could only read on a 4th grade level - I'm not kidding. I remember being partnered up with him in English Honors (he had NO business being in this class) and he didn't know how to spell words like "resolute" or "accomplished". I was stunned at the fact that I had to work so hard at keeping up my grades, when he was just carried along. He was a "star" at our school for his abilities for playing football. That is just a small example of how the staff and administrators do not care about the education system. I'm not being bitter, I'm just telling you how it really is. If you value the education of your child, do not make them go to this school. Oh, and that guy went on to get a full ride to the school of his choice. (of course to play for their football team)


Posted February 12, 2010

HCHS has been a friend to me and all of my family. It is responsive to the local community and exceeds practically all of the expectations one would have for a private institution let alone a public school. It is not perfect. There are areas that need improvement but there has always been an air of dedication to excellence. Balance is the key to a well run school. HCHS is balanced as well or better than any other school with which I have been associated.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 10, 2009

The HCHS is amazin, idk if i could ask 4 a better school. the teachers and staff r so helpful and friendly, and we r all workin on bein a family, thts sumthin tht rlly matters when u have a group as big as ours. i'm rlly proud of my school, and if any1 was lookin 4 a school, i would b 1 of the 1st 2 recommend them 2 the HCHS. GO TIGERS!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 5, 2009

Hardin County High School is in the top 25 high schools in Tennessee. It is also ranked among the top 10% in the United States. These statistics were noted in Newsweek Magazine. The principal and assistant principals care deeply for the students. The teachers excel in their vocations. They love and care for your children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 15, 2008

this school does everything it can for the students it is not the schools falt that your children are kids that do not want to listen or are just stupid these teacher do everthing they can and all yall can dois sit here and say that they are not doing there job when they are you are not there holding your kids hand so you don't know how bad things get in the class rooms.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 4, 2008

This school is a joke when it comes to a student that is having problems in class learning. All that matters to this school is how well they can perform in sports.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 3, 2008

This link from tn.gov shows the facts for Hardin County High School. http://www.greatschools.org/school/parentReviews.page?id=459&state=TN The facts are that 54%, or 595, of 9-12 grade students are economically disadvantaged. This group of students did not meet the AYP benchmark in English -a score that is worse than state as a whole. Last year Hardin County High School did not meet the state goal for graduation. It is now considered a 'target' school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2008

Academics are of excellent standards, graduation rate is high, and standardized testing scores are above average. Great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2008

academics do not meet good standards.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2008

Very good school. Has worked very well with my children, I am pleased.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 26, 2007

As a graduate of HCHS I myself would say this is an excellent school, although at times it seems to be operated on a 'who you know' bases. Academics are great, I my self attend a Division 1 school here in TN. Great extracurriculars and clubs. Parents, keep track and stay involved with your student at this scholl.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 2, 2007

quality of academic programs is high. extracurricular activities is available to anyone who will work for it. parental involvement is very high.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 65% in 2013.

298 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
37%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 42% in 2013.

294 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
31%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 62% in 2013.

300 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
51%
English I

The state average for English I was 68% in 2013.

274 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
61%
English II

The state average for English II was 59% in 2013.

277 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
54%
English III

The state average for English III was 40% in 2013.

266 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
38%
U.S. History

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students61%
African American58%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White61%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Students with disabilities21%
English language learnersn/a

Algebra II

All Students38%
African American33%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White38%
Economically disadvantaged35%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Biology I

All Students70%
African American50%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White73%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Students with disabilities27%
English language learnersn/a

English I

All Students74%
African American77%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White74%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilities14%
English language learnersn/a

English II

All Students60%
African American56%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White60%
Economically disadvantaged51%
Students with disabilities21%
English language learnersn/a

English III

All Students48%
African American28%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White50%
Economically disadvantaged40%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

U.S. History

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities81%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 93% 67%
Black 5% 23%
Hispanic 2% 7%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 52%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

909 South Pickwick Rd
Savannah, TN 38372
Phone: (731) 925-3976

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT