Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Sevier County High School

Public | 9-12 | 1776 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

23 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Thursday, October 16, 2014

As an ex employee I can tell you we had done away with corporeal punishment years before 98. Read the law about interrogation with police. Of you have nothing to hide what would it matter? And yes, underfunded.


Posted July 7, 2013

This school was cool I went there back in like 98 or so and while they still did corp punishment back then I had to threaten the vp if he touched me I would kick his so they would act like normal people.other then that the school was great and the vocational building was awesome , and they had the hottest English teacher Mrs Childress


Posted October 4, 2010

the encouragement of many of the teachers and staff
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2010

Do you know this school has took students in a room with a police officer and let them interrogation them when they have done nothing wrong and never called the parents, never let them know about it. They call this 'loco prentice" look it up it does not apply!!!!! And when confronted they say that they can do this, they sit in for the parents. WOW
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2010

I am a senior and for three years I have attended one of the worst schools of my life. The teachers are great, but are unable to do much due to the budget defict. The art department gets little money, the Drama department none what-so-ever, yet they can afford to remodel the stadium, and buy a large flat screen TV that is used to post announcments everyday. Need I mention the bathrooms?
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 6, 2009

The faculty and administration work very hard to see that each student has the opportunity to learn, build self-confidence, and are ready to take their place in today's society as a productive citizen.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 16, 2009

This school is a decent school and there are many staff members that will go out of their way to help you. I've had teachers that would be willing to help you as much as possible. Some staff members are different, but there are various members of the staff that will do everything in their power to make sure your needs are met. Funding priorities are a bit disoriented. The school can not afford certain supplies and tools such as technology for the science department and decent art supplies for the art department. However, they can afford to make various renovations to the stadium. This disappoints me since I believe that the school is not spending their money wisely. They could be using this money to provide for the various departments at our school that actually need funding. School's a bit crowded, but I still enjoy it for the most part.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 18, 2009

I've read the reviews and can agree with some dating back as far as 2004. This is 2009 going into 2010 and things will never change. The bathrooms are a mess, no locks, no privacy, i've been there. The cafeteria will never change, for two years my sons have been eating out of snack machines because the lines are so long and if you do manage to obtain any food there is no time to eat. The system hasn't changed, still the ole who's who still works at this school. And parent involvement..forget about it!!! They don't want us there!!! I was very involved in middle school, but high school.. The staff thinks it knows better! I've been in the office and when a parent arrives the staff is very edgy and defensive. Things probably are not as smooth as they would like us to think.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

Oh sevier county...where do I begin. I should have graduated with the class of 2009. Although I instead finished my education at Whites Adult High School. When I was a sophmore at SCHS I got pregnant about halfway through the year and everything went downhill from there. I dont expect kids to turn and look the other way when one of their peers turns into a balloon, but the rude comments and head turning was unbearable. It was obvious to see the way I was treated by both students and teachers was unfair and judgemental. My son is two now, and i'll tell you what, he's not setting foot in sevier county unless he's a star athlete, thats the only way students are treated nice.


Posted June 17, 2009

Much better now that it is under new management of the new principal. One can see that the vast improvements made. Could not always see this with prior administration. Good Job moving up in the world from what is was just a short time ago. Morale is improving and problems are actually dealt with and not ignored.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2009

I am so impressed with the quality of education that my child is receiving at Sevier County High School! The teachers and administrators are willing to make time to inform me of my son's progress and are really making him feel secure while learning. I am so thankful for SCHS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2008

I think this school is wonderful! I am in my freshman year and it is wonderful. I just moved here the summer before and I thought I would have a hard time meeting people and making friends. So not true! The people here are great and friendly. It's so diverce here its impossible to not find anyone you can become great friends with. You can get a great education here with so many classes to choose from. And teachers especialy want to help you. It's great! We also are the only school is this area that has a vocational building. So if your planning on finding a school in this area, this school is the best!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 29, 2007

We are the only school in the area to offer vocational classes. We serve all students and meet their needs. I work with the best teachers ever and we have a new principal who is inspiring change.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 26, 2006

I think all you parentals have it wrong. As a former student and graduate of 05, I stand in protest. Sevier County High School was one of the best times of my life. Sure some of the books and desks were slightly outdated, but when a school is growing so rapidly like that one, it's harder to keep up. I know they were trying! Every year I would help sort through new books and rearrange new desks in rooms. As for the administration, they are the best in town. Noone could ask for better and that 'good ole country boy' bs...they never pushed any type of political stance on anyone. Many have opinions but they would never intend to completely justify their own political views over your own. They honestly informed us more so of a world outside the confines of SCHS. SCHS is one of my best and most missed
—Submitted by a former student


Posted December 12, 2005

As a parent of kids that have and are attending Sevier County High i will say that the principals and staff are great. The principal has been around for more than 15 years and has done wonders in turning the school around. Maybe some of these negative parents need to look into how far the school has come along or try putting them in another school if this one is that bad.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2005

What problems! Where do I start? Atheletes receive preferential treatment. Big political distinctions. Supplies are nil. Desks are old and probably stay together only from years of gum underneath them. Girls and boys bathrooms do not have doors. Kids are told to buddy with someone to 'be their door' while they go to the bathroom. This is a gross privacy issue. Rest assured, administration and teachers have bathroom doors. Kids do not give up their constitutional rights because they attend public schools. For heavens sake, this is a public establishment and the kids are entitled to bathroom doors! Administration gripes that they have no money, yet, athletic department certainly does not hurt for funds. Priorities in the wrong place. True all over the county. School is large and overcrowded and poorly managed. Morale county wide is very poor. 'Good ol boy' system is rampant here! Our tax dollars spent how?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2005

I think that some of you parents are just wrong. Yes, we may lack the beauty of the school, but the teachers are extreamly helpful and friendly. The staff has always been helpful and told me if I needed anything else to come see them. And I have and they have been nothing but kind and helpful. Many of the students I go to class with are extremely rude and disrespectful to the teachers. Most of them sleep in class and could care less. All my teachers have offered extra help always ask if there are any questions and care about us students. The regular lunch is not nasty. And the pizza is our choice to get. I am in the band and it is wonderful to be in.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 2, 2004

SCHS in my opnion is a very nice school. Although it may not be the most newest school around-It has been around for a long time and the money issue is true. But I do believe that the teacher are very educational. And while alot of the kids at the school dont want to be there i think the teachers make it as easy as they can. While I do believe they teach at the same thing. If a student needs help with something they do help. And about the food policy: Pizza is not the only food they have. They have another bar everyday. And if thats not something they have many of snack machines.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2004

As with any school, Sevier County High School has high points and low points. Sure, some things are based on politics (ex. whether you have the 'right' last name or whether your family has money or not) but, honestly, the whole county is like that! As Students of SCHS we resent the appearance of our school when we are supposably rated one of the 'richest counties in Tennessee', looking at SCHS, you could hardly tell that we would be thought of as any kind of 'rich'. Our school looks rusty and moldy and plain gross but no one is doing anything about it. The staff at SCHS is typical. There are the very educated and friendly teachers and then there are the exact opposites.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 13, 2004

Something is very wrong here. Administrators and teachers talk out of both sides of their mouth. Most children (my child included) learn by example--teachers use foul and profane language in front of students, yet admonish the kids for doing so. Attempts are made by administrators to threaten kids into submission. School food is bad--administrators engage in nepotistic activity--school cafeteria is said to have lost the pizza contract (which was the only edible food) from a local town vendor to a member of the school board's nephew in a neighboring town--now is horrible and does not sell. Few good teachers but most live in their own little world. Very poor coordinator for special education. Lacks initiative and drive. Monies are greatly needed here. The equipment is old and falling apart. Money is not equally distributed in this county school system. Administrators apathetic and not willing to promote positive change. Very scary place!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 65% in 2013.

458 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
46%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 42% in 2013.

440 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
32%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 62% in 2013.

438 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
49%
English I

The state average for English I was 68% in 2013.

432 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
57%
English II

The state average for English II was 59% in 2013.

446 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
59%
English III

The state average for English III was 40% in 2013.

334 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
32%
U.S. History

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students61%
African American58%
Asiann/a
Hispanic69%
White60%
Economically disadvantaged58%
Students with disabilities28%
English language learnersn/a

Algebra II

All Students39%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic40%
White39%
Economically disadvantaged28%
Students with disabilities10%
English language learnersn/a

Biology I

All Students65%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic48%
White66%
Economically disadvantaged59%
Students with disabilities26%
English language learnersn/a

English I

All Students60%
African American70%
Asiann/a
Hispanic33%
White61%
Economically disadvantaged53%
Students with disabilities24%
English language learnersn/a

English II

All Students57%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic45%
White58%
Economically disadvantaged47%
Students with disabilities35%
English language learnersn/a

English III

All Students32%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic17%
White33%
Economically disadvantaged23%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

U.S. History

All Studentsn/a
African American90%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities90%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 91% 67%
Hispanic 6% 7%
Black 2% 23%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 56%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1200 Dolly Parton Parkway
Sevierville, TN 37862
Phone: (865) 453-5525

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Parkway Academy
Sevierville, TN




Pigeon Forge High School
Pigeon Forge, TN


Gary Hardin Academy
Sevierville, TN



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT