Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
8 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 23 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Smithville Elementary School 5

Posted November 30, 2015
- a teacher
Smithville Elementary is an excellent school. The teachers care about the students, and the leadership at the school is outstanding.

Smithville Elementary School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted November 30, 2015
- a teacher
The entire staff at Smithville Elementary are amazing people! They work hard every day to make sure that the students are taught in a safe, nurturing environment. The principal, Mrs. Julie Vincent, has high expectations for both the staff and the students, and has transformed Smithville Elementary into a school to be proud of in her time there.


Smithville Elementary School 5

Posted November 30, 2015
- a teacher
I think the principal and assistant principal are wonderful people. The are very approachable when you need to some advice on a problem. I love my school because all the staff works together. The parents are always welcome for any activity or event that is going on at school. I have worked here for 18 years and still enjoy working with the students and staff.

Smithville Elementary School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted November 30, 2015
- a teacher
I enjoy talking to the Principal, Julie Vincent and Vice- Principal, Anita Puckett. They a re nice people.

Smithville Elementary School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted November 30, 2015
- a teacher
Yes, I do. Most all the students want to show what they can do for their teachers.


Smithville Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted November 30, 2015
- a teacher
Respect is a value that is important to all students. Respect is taught by all the staff.

Smithville Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted November 30, 2015
- a teacher
Our school has a loving and caring staff. Every teacher teaches compassion, caring, and empathy by their actions toward each other.

Smithville Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted November 30, 2015
- a teacher
The students are taught that honesty is the best policy. It helps the students to look at problems in different ways instead of bulling, or fighting. Our schools has wonderful teachers that teach manners and how to respect the other person. Fairness is a number one objective to all students.


Smithville Elementary School 5

Posted May 12, 2011
- a teacher
I think any parent permitted to buy favoritism should be reported to the principal and then if the principal cannot recognize the problem, go to the school district. The field trip is in appropriate if one parent is being told she cannot go...especially if it is supervised by staff and the father is attending as well. Sounds like he is thwarting her efforts to be an involved parent so he may use it against her in court. she should report the school and the trip should be canceled or parents should pay just like they always do. Its not expensive to go to the zoo,.

Smithville Elementary School 1

Posted April 18, 2011
- a parent
I was appalled to learn that the school allowed a parent to influence the teacher and principal to allow him to pay for a end of year class field trip he gets a discount as a zoo membership allows), My daughter is going to be on that trip and my ex (the father paying for this trip) has said I am not allowed to attend. The school is allowing it. Since when do teachers and principals get to ban parents from a field trip that not only the other parent is present but other parents and staff.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Smithville Elementary School
221 East Bryant Street, Smithville, TN  37166
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. (615) 597-4415
Last modified Smithville Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-2
Top