Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Lancaster Christian Academy

Private | PK-12 | 550 students

Obtaining Student Scholarships to College

 

Living in Smyrna

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $120,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $720.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 6 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

49 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 31, 2009

As a public school teacher, I can attest to the wonderful education at LCA. My children are challenged and are way above most public school peers. I am blessed to have my children attend this school. Mr. O'Dea is a wonderful principal!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2009

My children attended LCA for two years before we decided to pull them out because of various issues we had with the administrators and the overall chaos that LCA had become. Both of children made excellent grades at LCA but fell far short of being at grade level when tested at another local Christian School. We had to invest in nearly a year's worth of tutoring to help them both get up caught up with their new classmates. If you value the quality of your child's education, don't buy into that whole 'we test 2-3 grades higher than everyone else' bit. It's not true!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2009

I agree with most of the blogs here- tremendous basketball program with a great coach. He teaches them life lessons on a daily basis through the sport. This program is in pursuit of excellence.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 28, 2008

We have had our child in a public school until this year. He transferred over from a public school. LCA has been a wonderful school for my son to grow in the Lord, and he learns life lessons daily from his basketball coaches which love him enough to discipline him and help him reach his potential. I love the teams motto- no regrets- they play all out for the glory of God and have no regrets when they step off the court. Our son has played at the public school level and while the competition is better, the learning and development of the overall player and person are not. We are so very happy that we made the change and are telling all of our friends that are serious about pursuing their passion to join the LCA family. I have no regrets about sending our son to LCA. Great bball program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2008

The teachers are caring individuals who go above and beyond what they are asked to do, I as a parent have witnessed this on several occassions. We have enjoyed watching a great sports program. The football team is doing great and Lancaster has a top notch basketball program that we have watched have unparralled success for the past two seasons. I look forward to watching all the teams in the future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2008

It is the best place any student could ask for. I have been attending Lancaster Christian Academy for three years, and it is absolutely fantastic
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 20, 2008

One of the best basketball programs in the state and have teachers that care about the welfare of every student. Great Godly environment for a student to learn in.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2008

I am parent of K5 student this coming school year. My daughter entered into the Lancaster program at Pre-K level and the faculty at Lancaster has been wonderful. My daughter was extremely pre-mature and due to the income of our household, did not qualify for the assistance needed from the county so she entered into Pre-K behind on developmental levels of most 4 year olds. However the faculty of Lancaster, not just her assigned teacher, worked hard this past year and she has improved tremendously. Her education and christian foundation is the most important thing to me right now. Lancaster has the christ-like foundation she needs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2008

Wonderful faculty and great basketball program. I believe there's no perfect school! I know that LCA is better for my son than his RCS zoned school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2008

We left the worst primary school in LaVergne for Lancaster Christian Academy in Smyrna. This is a wonderful school that is affordable ($5000 per year). One of my daughter's first remarks about her classmates were that they all knew their grace and courtesies. My daughter has had some challenges, she had been on the principal's list at the public school, and struggled for the first month or two before she caught on. Her teacher was very helpful and told her if she wasn't being challenged then she belonged in a higher grade. She subsequently has made the principal's list every grading period. I can't say enough great things about this school. Christians of every denomination are welcome and we do not see a dominance by any one church affiliation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2008

I love this school. My child has been here since pre-k, and six years later we love it. The staff is wonderful. I cannot explain how I feel when my child talks about how he loves the Lord first, before me.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 19, 2007

I am a parent and also a teacher here at LCA. The school has doubled in size and with that growth, we have to adjust. My two daughters however are receiving an excellent education. The high school also has a number of certified teachers with advanced degrees.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2007

We pulled our child out after one year. Nothing that was promised to us was followed through. I am now concerned about my child's education. He fell way behind due to poor planning on the school's part. He had children in his class that were not ready for that particular grade level. He is now in public school and is much happier.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2007

We've had our child at LCA for seven years now. It's an outstanding Christian school with the best teachers your going to find, even at schools with twice the tuition. It's disappointing to see the angry posts here. My child is an ABC student at LCA and we started him in the best rated HS in Rutherford County. He was breezing through easy A's in the Honors class there. We were so excited to get him back into LCA where there is true academic challenge with a Christ centered culture. LCA gets many kudos for their growth in the sports and arts, especially considering how young the school is. We've been involved in different aspects throughout the years and are well acquainted with a good cross section of students and parents K-12. The owners have a true passion for Christian education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2007

Organization seems to be a major problem at this school. Parents are often not informed of happenings. This only creates stress on families. Non-legalistic? This school is anything but.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2007

Theologically it is great. Our children quote Bible verses and are beginning to grasp the Gospel. Academically we are concerned. The school states the students are testing 2-3 years above average but we have not seen any documentation to support that claim. The curriculum seems average and the student/teacher ratio large. The above average testing (if true) may not be due to the school. Organizationally they are frustrating. You must make separate payments for tuition, after care, lunch, milk, trips, etc. Several times our payments were posted incorrectly and we were sent late notices. The school doubled in size since last year and is experiencing growth problems. We are cautiously monitoring the situation and reevaluating our options. If they can fix the problems and deliver on the above average testing we will stay until college.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2007

This School is Amazing! The teachers are top notch, the administration is excellent & the level of non-legalistic Christian training is priceless! I am so proud to have my children attend Lancaster Christian Academy, and I highly recommend it to everyone we know!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2007

While it is cheap in comparison to other schools, parents are still not getting their money's worth. Things were promised to us that were never followed through on. Small class sizes, regular extracurriculars, and one on one help are just a few of these items.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2007

They promote Christian values, yet treat parents and teachers horribly. We pulled our child out and she is so much happier elsewhere
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2007

I cannot speak for the elementary school. However, I do know that the middle and high school students at LCA are receiving the following extra-curriculars this school year: Spanish, French, Keyboarding, PE, Psychology, Music Appreciation, Art Appreciation, Math Club, Fellowship of Christian Athletes, Spanish Club, Chess Club, Journalism, Student Council, National Honor Society, Drama Club, Theatre, and of course athletics (volleyball, cheerleading, cross country, football, basketball, soccer, and softball). I just wanted to clarify any misconceptions regarding the middle and high school program at LCA. I do believe that similar clubs, class sizes, and one-on-one work happens at the elementary school as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 77% 67%
Black 11% 23%
Hispanic 6% 7%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 2%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school Smyrna High
Public School
LaVergne Schools
Percentage of students going to 4-year college 95% (2013)
Percentage of students going to the military 5% (2013)
Colleges most students attend after graduation Christian Universities
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
College counselor(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
Clubs
  • Math club

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Visual arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Drama club

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered
  • Spanish
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Clubs
  • Foreign language and culture club

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:10 am
School end time
  • 3:10 am
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Kevin Odea
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Christian
Fax number
  • (615) 223-6946

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • College prep
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
  • Project-based
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Foreign languages
  • Mathematics
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Religious
  • Science
  • Service learning
  • Special education
  • Technology
  • Visual arts
  • Writing
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • Spanish
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Mentoring
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Drama club
  • Foreign language and culture club
  • Math club
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


10 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
95
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
100
Students typically come from these schools
Smyrna High
Public School
LaVergne Schools

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$5000 - $7000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Christian Universities
College preparation / awareness offered
SAT/ACT prep classes
College presentations or information sessions
College prep programs/courses during the year
Students' post-graduation plans in 2013
4 year college - 95%
Military - 5%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

150 Soccer Way
Smyrna, TN 37167
Website: Click here
Phone: (615) 223-0451

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT