Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Daisy Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 10, 2013

We could not be happier at Daisy Elementary! Both of my children are growing by leaps and bounds in all subjects thanks to the hands on approach of the staff. I cannot say enough good things about the teachers and leadership at Daisy Elementary!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 11, 2012

This school offers little to no help with children with learning disabilities, adhd, and etc. My children have attended this school for many years. One of my children suffer from adhd and this school offers no extra help. They have no special programs for adhd students. My son is on medication and is being suspended multiple times. He is only in 2nd grade and I feel this is not helping him stay on grade level. When a child is already struggling with his work, being suspened and not allowed to attend. This is not the answer!!! No patients for special needs children! VERY UPSETTING
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2012

Horrible communication with the teacher and principal. They only respond with threats and condesending attitudes. Would NEVER recommend or go back.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

I like Daisy's curriculum and ability to stay organized. I like how they work with the children and get involved in activities for learning, such as field trips.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Wonderful teachers who care about the children & some of the best test scores in the state
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2008

I have two daughters that attend Daisy Elementary.One of them is going into the 1st grade and the other is going into the 4th grade,they really love thier school and i am very impressed with the teachers at daisy.The teachers are very special and sweet to the children and their safety and education is their number one priority.My girls and myself included can't wait for the first day of school,it is so exciting. Happy parent,angie
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2007

Greetings, I am happy to report that at first , my main consurn was if my son would get the full attention he should be getting in school, an if the teachers were patiant willing to help in getting the school ridum on its way, an if our principal was on the ball, safety of the school-i am glad to report that my son is attending an excellent school an that so far i have'nt been let down. safety in that school is one of the things i have been impressed by an my teacher mrs. shiply, well my son loves her need i say more. my son rides the bus an she has not been late once, you can time it by the min.most parents are consern about how well there school performs, i have learn that it is a partnership between parent/techer- are you doing your part?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2007

My kindergarten son is definitely learning a lot at Daisy. The only thing that has really disappointed us is the lack of art class. Although they have local artists come by periodically, I wish they had a weekly class. This is a district wide problem, which some schools have resolved by paying an art teacher through the PTA.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
54%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 49% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
38%

2010

 
 
36%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
66%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 84% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 49% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
52%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 48% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
37%

2010

 
 
42%
Science

The state average for Science was 56% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
58%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 88% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 57% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
63%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 55% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
49%
Science

The state average for Science was 63% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
64%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 87% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students63%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White65%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Students with disabilities46%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students49%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White50%
Economically disadvantaged39%
Students with disabilities27%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students65%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White65%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Students with disabilities36%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students89%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilities73%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students72%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White73%
Economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilities43%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students50%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White49%
Economically disadvantaged41%
Students with disabilities14%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students57%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White56%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Students with disabilities29%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students88%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilities64%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students82%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White82%
Economically disadvantaged73%
Students with disabilities58%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students57%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White58%
Economically disadvantaged45%
Students with disabilities42%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students79%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White81%
Economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disabilities58%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students93%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilities50%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 96% 67%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 2%
Black 1% 23%
Hispanic 1% 7%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 64%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (423) 332-8816

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

620 Sequoyah Rd
Soddy Daisy, TN 37379
Phone: (423) 332-8815

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Allen Elementary School
Soddy Daisy, TN





Soddy Elementary School
Soddy Daisy, TN



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT