Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
24 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 33 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Allen Elementary School 2

Posted May 10, 2016
- a parent
I am so thankful that the school year is almost over and that my daughter will finish 5th grade at this horrible school. The only thing good about her 5th grade teachers was the math teacher. He has made a different in her math comprehension. The music and physical education teachers are good as well. Her other two teachers should find another profession. We have tried for 5 years to avoid the cliches and deal with Hamilton County public education. NO LONGER. The administration at this school will not step in and discipline the children when needed. They just want to pass the buck. I have personal examples but I will not post names online. Avoid this school at all costs.

Allen Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted March 04, 2016
- a community member
I think common core has been a major downfall. Everything is so drawn out and too repetitive. It puts too many limitations on fun learning. The math is the worst. Teachers should be a blessing to teach in their own creative way as long as it works. It is so repetitive and so much reading, I catch my kids just writing down anything to not have to look at it anymore.


Allen Elementary School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted March 04, 2016
- a community member
Way too much in certain grades. Others, not so bad. Kindergarten through second is a little excessive.

Allen Elementary School
Develops grit: Agree

Posted March 04, 2016
- a community member
Especially in PE. Also my youngest son has a teacher who excels in thiis. I can't say enough about her abilities. She can turn his tantrums around ao easily and quickly way better than I ever could.

Allen Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted March 04, 2016
- a community member
Almost no respect for authority. My kids rarely get in major trouble at home, but will show no respect towards much of the staff. After all a child who wants to go home and gets sent home, gets their way and loses respect for the staff. However the ones that have held them accountable for bad behavior get more respect from them. The parents and schools need to support each other or it doesn't work very well and frustration is on all ends.


Allen Elementary School
Develops empathy: Agree

Posted March 04, 2016
- a community member
I think they need to realize when a child is in a bad mood, they may need some time and spece. Instead they want the child to change their mood in an instant. If they don't, expect a phone call to pick them up. When a child is hovered, it only frustrates them more.

Allen Elementary School
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted March 04, 2016
- a community member
I just don't feel it's really important here. Many schools are lacking in this area.

Allen Elementary School 2

Posted March 04, 2016
- a community member
Way too much gossiping among some of the teachers, staff, and PTA volunteers. So much that lies are stirred around that it has even had my son so upset listening to a woman telling lies about his mother. Fortunately, my children have had some of the really good teachers there. My youngest kind of clashed with one, but none the less, she was a good, caring teacher. I believe you can have too much parent involvement. I do not volunteer for anything here because of how horrible some of these women are. Not all, but it's pretty bad.


Allen Elementary School 5

Posted August 22, 2013
- a parent
Allen elementary is a very good school !! My two daughters went there and loved it . The teachers are very caring and concerned about my children's progress . The whole staff is like a huge family concerned for their kids . I currently live up north and whenever I talk about good schools Allen elementary is always the one .

Allen Elementary School 1

Posted September 25, 2010
- a teacher
Allen Elementary was a great place for students a few years ago. Unfortunately, that is no longer the case. All the teachers are very hard working, but the administration is sorely lacking. They lead through bullying and intimidating their teachers, and that makes for a very poor environment. Our test scores have gone done for the past two years. This is a direct result of administration. Favored teachers don't produce the scores for the school, while others who do are not treated equally. Teacher morale is the lowest I have seen it in over ten years.

Nearby schools

Allen Elementary School
9811 Dallas Hollow Road, Soddy-Daisy, TN  37379
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 33 reviews. (423) 843-4713
Last modified Allen Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top