Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Marvin Wright Elementary School

Public | K-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 15, 2012

am sure everyone is buzzing about our MWES principal. I just want to say in our experience, as the parent of 3 children that have or are attending there, we saw Mr. Harrison a lot. He was always out and about, inviting, welcoming and friendly. He was never too busy to take a minute when you expressed a concern. He always took the time to be a part of a meeting with a parent and teacher if needed. My kids simply loved him, that said that sometimes he was strict, but said he is doing his job to keep us all safe. One of my children, had to visit Mr. Harrison on a few occasions due to his behavior, etc. Mr. Harrison took time to REALLY TALK and COMMUNICATE to my son. My son came home & knew I had already been called by the principal. But my son left the office that day with even more respect for his principal, Mr. Harrison. He said, he knew (even though he got in trouble) Mr. Harrison really cared about him. He genuinely took the time to instill different ways to handle things and why... he took time to help him react better....and It worked. I don't know what happened, but I do know there are always 2 sides to very story.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2012

My son has been going to MWES for the past 2 years now and love his teacher. The Principal there is very unprofessional, and for the safety officer he well he's just a joke seem to like to pick on boys. For some reason my son just must have a bulls eye on. The school is great and I would recommend it however they need to go.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2012

The transition from being a stay-at-home child to a full time student was exciting, yet challenging, for my kindergartener. However, the teachers and staff have been very supportive and helpful...communicating with us every step of the way. So far we love MWES!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2012

The teachers and staff are great! No air conditioning for 23 days now is not. How do you expect children to learn in hot germy classrooms?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2011

MWES is a very welcoming and friendly school. I have a 1st and 3rd grader there. Their is pride with the school and area. Many teachers have even taught for many years in Williamson county. The teachers have been kind and on-task with making certain the children are reaching appropriate goals. I feel the school does a great job of letting kids be kids but challenging them as well. Most teachers welcome parents at the school and are thankful for their help. I do believe the administration could be better with parent/school communication.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 7, 2010

As a mother of a son with ADHD, I experienced excellent communication, support and a fantastic curriculum tailored specifically to his needs and adjusted as each school year progressed. The parents are truly involved. The more familiar you become with the staff, the more welcoming they are. From the "Good Morning" greeter at the car rider line, to the teachers, principal, cafeteria staff, etc. I am always met with a smile when I come to the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2010

my daughter just started kindergarten there this week, and we've already run into several snags with the scheduling, the flow (or lack thereof) of information between parents and within the school itself, and the mishandling of my daughter's transition from her classroom to the after school program. the only reason i didn't give it one star is because my daughter seems to enjoy it and i like her teacher. stay tuned... i'm not optimistic.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 28, 2008

This is our 1st year at MWES and we are loving it...I feel like they are really challenging my daughter and they are truly a very caring school...My daughter broke her arm on the playground which can happen anywhere at anytime and from the principal, her teacher, the front office and the nurse, they were truly amazing.....I can't even explain how awesome they were.....Her teacher still continues to amaze me for the way her loves shows on the kids.....My daughter loves school and I can say a great big thanks to Mrs. Nix!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
42%

2010

 
 
58%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 49% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
38%

2010

 
 
46%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
72%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 84% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 49% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
38%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 48% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
52%
Science

The state average for Science was 56% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
52%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 88% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 57% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
20%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 55% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
49%
Science

The state average for Science was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
39%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 87% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students75%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White77%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Students with disabilities40%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students64%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White65%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Students with disabilities27%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students85%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White86%
Economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilities47%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students92%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilities60%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students52%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White53%
Economically disadvantaged46%
Students with disabilities14%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students67%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White69%
Economically disadvantaged61%
Students with disabilities14%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students78%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White81%
Economically disadvantaged68%
Students with disabilities36%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students94%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilities79%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 87% 67%
Hispanic 5% 7%
Black 4% 23%
Two or more races 3% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 35%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4714 Derryberry La
Spring Hill, TN 37174
Phone: (931) 486-3586

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Spring Hill Academy
Spring Hill, TN


Heritage Elementary School
Thompson Station, TN


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT