Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Carter Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 517 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 7, 2014

I am disappointed.. adults in parking lot yelling about painting a line an inch off and in the office they act like its just a Job and they seem in a bad mood. Not a good atmosphere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2010

This is a great community school, rated high academically and full of good, caring teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2009

My daughter is finishing her Kindergarten year at Carter. I have been very impressed with the school, staff and principal. Mrs. Thompson knows every child. She is in the hallway greeting them when they arrive, and she helps with Car Riders every afternoon. The teachers all seem to work together to make the best of the old building. The classrooms are small and the class sizes are large. 22 kindergartners in a class is too many!! Despite these difficulties, my child thrived thanks to her teacher, the teaching assistants, and all of the volunteers. I would recommend Carter Elementary to anyone who wants a good education for his/her child!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2005

As a parent of 3 kids right now that go to Carter Elementary, I am very pleased with the teachers and other staff that will go out of their way to help you with a problem or your child...Everyone is so freindly and cheerful which I think plays a big roll on the start of a childs day to begin school with..If you have a problem or concern with something the teachers and principal are right there and take care of it. I have seen alot of teachers that are still there when I went there and of course that was years ago, I wouldnt recommend any other school to no one. I would like to make a suggestion though they do need a bigger newer school really bad...In August 05 my youngest one will start as well and I hope they all stay at Carter and have as much fun.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2005

My daughter is in fifth grade at Carter Elementary. She is transferred there from another county. I attended Carter myself and will do whatever I can to keep my children there. I think Carter has a higher quality of education that my daughter would receive at her zoned school. I think Ms. Thompson is an excellent principal who takes the time to get to know the children and spends alot of her time with them. She also encourages them by holding award ceremonies each grading period to acknowledge their accomplishments and achievements, building their self-confidence will make them better students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2004

My child is a student at Carter, she is going into 3rd grade.She has made so much progress and now is a honer student.I myself as a child also attended Carter and this is the school that I want my children to always attend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2004

The teachers and staff at Carter are very caring. I have 2 children that attend Carter and I have been impressed by the dedication of the principal and teachers. I feel as though Carter's only downfall is the age of the facilities. The building is very old. A new building has been discussed and the property for it has been purchased but it needs to become a priority. Overall, Carter is a wonderful shool and I feel we are fortunate to have such a caring enviroment for our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2004

Carter Elementary is a rural community school with a very dedicated staff. As a 6th teacher at Carter Middle School I have first-hand knowledge of the skills children from the school bring with them. The teachers work hard to prepare their students to move into the middle school. The principal is visible and accessible to parents. She often greets students as they enter the building in the mornings and has worked hard to get to know each child and make them feel welcomed. I always knew that Carter Elementary was a good school. This year I have had the pleasure of working with the staff as a parent since my grandson entered kindergarten. I appreciate the professionalism of the teachers and the warm atmosphere of this school. They provide a safe environment in which children can learn and feel accepted.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

Both of my children have went to Carter Elementary and have done great. The teachers are wonderful. We also at Carter score high on T-CAPS and such. Overall the Carter schools are great.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
41%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 49% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
33%

2010

 
 
31%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
52%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 84% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 49% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
24%

2010

 
 
36%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 48% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
34%

2010

 
 
40%
Science

The state average for Science was 56% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
38%

2010

 
 
51%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 88% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 57% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
35%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 55% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
50%
Science

The state average for Science was 63% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
60%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 87% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students61%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White62%
Economically disadvantaged45%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students52%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White54%
Economically disadvantaged31%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students70%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White70%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students90%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students33%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White31%
Economically disadvantaged28%
Students with disabilities10%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students41%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White40%
Economically disadvantaged32%
Students with disabilities40%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students43%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White43%
Economically disadvantaged36%
Students with disabilities50%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students85%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White85%
Economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilities80%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students57%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White56%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Students with disabilities58%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students56%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White56%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Students with disabilities50%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students68%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White68%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disabilities50%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students89%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilities67%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 90% 67%
Hispanic 5% 7%
Black 3% 23%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 2%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 58%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (865) 932-8190

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9304 College La
Strawberry Plains, TN 37871
Phone: (865) 933-4172

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Rush Strong Elementary School
Strawberry Plains, TN


Blue Springs Christian Academy
Strawberry Plains, TN






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT