Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
6-8
Public
Strawberry Plains, TN
Students enrolled: 792

3 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


15 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Carter Middle School 1

Posted April 19, 2013
- a parent
Carter Middle has some of the rudest teaching staff I have ever encountered! The principals are even worst. They act like their only goal is to get through the day and go home. The students mean nothing to them. The only caring people are the office staff! Admin. is never 'in' so problems never get solved! Will move if necc. just to get away from Carter!

Carter Middle School 1

Posted April 01, 2013
- a parent
I want to know where all the wonderful teachers have gone at Carter Middle School. Why are they all leaving? My daughter is a 7th grader there and has always been an honor student. She says the school environment is not good. She says the teachers are always sad and stressed and they don't seem to care for the administrators. I have always believed that attitudes reflect leadership. I just want to know what has happened to all of the great teachers that have been there. Only one or two could have retired. Those teachers have made Carter a great school in the past. We need them to come back


Carter Middle School 0
no rating

Posted May 25, 2009
- a parent
CMS has lots to offer. The person who wrote the band is the only bright spot has obviously not checked into all of the extra clubs offered. Scholars Bowl, Drama, Writers Club, Beta Club, etc. Many of these clubs are not during school and the teachers do not get extra pay for their time. Take the time to really check into what goes on at CMS. You will be enlighted!

Carter Middle School 0
no rating

Posted May 15, 2009
- a parent
CMS is a great school to send your children to. This school helps students as a single person, and has amazing teachers and staff......if I was still a kid I would go there everyday

Carter Middle School 0
no rating

Posted April 06, 2009
- a parent
I have a 6th grader at CMS. This is my 2nd child to attend. I have been very pleased with the communication and the teaching at the school. I got involved and stay involved in my childrens education. When I have had concerns they were addressed quickly and to my satisfaction. I love CMS and the staff.


Carter Middle School 5

Posted March 01, 2009
- a teacher
If parent involvement is low at CMS, blame the parents, not the school. CMS does an outstanding job communicating and encouraging parents and the community to be involved - phone calls, conferences, e-mails, parent portal, newsletters, open house, book fairs, ballgames, PTO, fundraisers and concerts - oh and they also have to teach these children as well. If the students' test scores are poor, teachers are blamed, not the students. If a child can't/won't learn - it's the teacher's fault, right? Parents must start taking more responsibility for their children & care enough about them to get involved in their school. Parents need to help make their child a responsible learner. Whoever posted the comment about the lack of leadership and quality of education @ CMS, I welcome you to come do our job for 1 day. It would be an eye opening experience!!! How much are YOU involved at CMS?

Carter Middle School 1

Posted January 14, 2009
- a parent
The quality of education at Carter Middle is very low. Too many field trips, lack of communication with parents, lack of leardership are just three of the many problems observed by this parent.

Carter Middle School 5

Posted November 12, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Carter Middle School 5

Posted May 05, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Carter Middle School 5

Posted May 05, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Carter Middle School
204 North Carter School Rd, Strawberry Plains, TN  37871
(865) 933-3426
Last modified Carter Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Carter Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top