Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

2 stars
Based on 13 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


15 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Sweetwater High School 1

Posted August 19, 2014
- a student
Below, was written by a student of Sweetwater HS. This student explains our frustrations as parents to SHS current students (past/future too). The old saying..."straight out of the mouths of babes!" This was a terrible school. If you can't breeze through the curriculum, you're not paying attention - at all. There's no challenge, it caters to the lowest scoring students. If your child is making "decent" grades at this school, they are still not prepared for college. I realize there are "advance placement" classes. However, for those who are making higher grades than their peers, but not high enough for AP courses, there should be classes tailored to their learning abilities so they aren't slowed down. This school does not foster an environment to encourage students to excel. Never one for the any level of government to interfere...but, they need come in...fire everyone!!! Rehire the good teachers (there are a few in SHS...with their hand tied) Hire EDUCATORS!!! NOT CATERS TO THE STANDARDIZED SYSTEM!!!

Sweetwater High School 2

Posted August 12, 2014
- a student
This was a terrible school. If you can't breeze through the curriculum, you're not paying attention - at all. There's no challenge, it caters to the lowest scoring students. If your child is making "decent" grades at this school, they are still not prepared for college. I realize there are "advance placement" classes. However, for those who are making higher grades than their peers, but not high enough for AP courses, there should be classes tailored to their learning abilities so they aren't slowed down. This school does not foster an environment to encourage students to excel.


Sweetwater High School 1

Posted October 03, 2012
- a parent
I had 2 older children go through SHS the oldest was dyslexic and the middle one was above the academics the school offered. By his Junior year we were paying for college courses because SHS did not offer many advanced classes. Our youngest was to enter as a Freshman last year and we chose to home school him and continue to do so. As with any school parent involvement is critical and we do not have that in this area. I agree with what was stated earlier about the band and other events being cut. This is just terrible. Someone also said you can not teach the unteachable ? There is no such thing every child deserves the right to a safe learning environment. There are children who are allowed certain privileges as in carrying and texting from cell phones why is no one complaining about this . All in all we have a wonderful little town here in Sweetwater, but the school system as a full has a lot to be desired

Sweetwater High School 0
no rating

Posted January 26, 2010
- a student
I'm not sure why people have such a negative image of this school. True, there are students that have a lack of respect for learning, but can tell me of a school that doesn't have students such as this? The teachers at this establishment care enough for these students that they give their all everyday to make sure every student has the opportunity to get an education. This school has had it's ups and downs, but through it all, they've kept their heads up and not let it get them down that people put down their every move. You may not agree with what the administration says, but it's they make those rules in the best interest of the students. I ask that you do not look at Sweewater High School with a bad eye, but merely give it a chance to succeed.

Sweetwater High School 0
no rating

Posted December 03, 2009
- a parent
If your child attends this school they will not be givin homework because they will not allow them totake books home. Funds were cut because of low scores that showed no improvement. The worst school due to funding, location, and faculty.


Sweetwater High School 5

Posted September 13, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Sweetwater High School 1

Posted September 13, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Sweetwater High School 1

Posted May 15, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Sweetwater High School 1

Posted May 15, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Sweetwater High School 1

Posted May 15, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to inspire and support families to champion their children's education - at school, at home and in their community. We are a national non-profit with offices and programs in Oakland, Milwaukee, Washington D.C. and Indianapolis.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sweetwater High School
414 South High St, Sweetwater, TN  37874
(423) 337-7881
Last modified Sweetwater High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Sweetwater High School Rating: 2 out of 5 based on 15 reviews.