Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
13 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 15 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Sweetwater High School 1

Posted August 19, 2014
- a student
Below, was written by a student of Sweetwater HS. This student explains our frustrations as parents to SHS current students (past/future too). The old saying..."straight out of the mouths of babes!" This was a terrible school. If you can't breeze through the curriculum, you're not paying attention - at all. There's no challenge, it caters to the lowest scoring students. If your child is making "decent" grades at this school, they are still not prepared for college. I realize there are "advance placement" classes. However, for those who are making higher grades than their peers, but not high enough for AP courses, there should be classes tailored to their learning abilities so they aren't slowed down. This school does not foster an environment to encourage students to excel. Never one for the any level of government to interfere...but, they need come in...fire everyone!!! Rehire the good teachers (there are a few in SHS...with their hand tied) Hire EDUCATORS!!! NOT CATERS TO THE STANDARDIZED SYSTEM!!!

Sweetwater High School 2

Posted August 12, 2014
- a student
This was a terrible school. If you can't breeze through the curriculum, you're not paying attention - at all. There's no challenge, it caters to the lowest scoring students. If your child is making "decent" grades at this school, they are still not prepared for college. I realize there are "advance placement" classes. However, for those who are making higher grades than their peers, but not high enough for AP courses, there should be classes tailored to their learning abilities so they aren't slowed down. This school does not foster an environment to encourage students to excel.


Sweetwater High School 1

Posted October 03, 2012
- a parent
I had 2 older children go through SHS the oldest was dyslexic and the middle one was above the academics the school offered. By his Junior year we were paying for college courses because SHS did not offer many advanced classes. Our youngest was to enter as a Freshman last year and we chose to home school him and continue to do so. As with any school parent involvement is critical and we do not have that in this area. I agree with what was stated earlier about the band and other events being cut. This is just terrible. Someone also said you can not teach the unteachable ? There is no such thing every child deserves the right to a safe learning environment. There are children who are allowed certain privileges as in carrying and texting from cell phones why is no one complaining about this . All in all we have a wonderful little town here in Sweetwater, but the school system as a full has a lot to be desired

Sweetwater High School
no rating

Posted January 26, 2010
- a student
I'm not sure why people have such a negative image of this school. True, there are students that have a lack of respect for learning, but can tell me of a school that doesn't have students such as this? The teachers at this establishment care enough for these students that they give their all everyday to make sure every student has the opportunity to get an education. This school has had it's ups and downs, but through it all, they've kept their heads up and not let it get them down that people put down their every move. You may not agree with what the administration says, but it's they make those rules in the best interest of the students. I ask that you do not look at Sweewater High School with a bad eye, but merely give it a chance to succeed.

Sweetwater High School
no rating

Posted December 03, 2009
- a parent
If your child attends this school they will not be givin homework because they will not allow them totake books home. Funds were cut because of low scores that showed no improvement. The worst school due to funding, location, and faculty.


Sweetwater High School 3

Posted May 10, 2009
- a student
Sweetwater is not the best school in the world, most definitely not, but i've learned and continue to learn from fun respectful teachers. All schools have bad students and show how disrespectful they are. It happens.. so chill. I wish that there was longer time to have lunch or a free period. Study hall is so boring and students might actually like school if there was something at least a little bit fun.

Sweetwater High School 2

Posted April 05, 2009
- a community member
This is school is a bind in the moment for the fact they are loosing what I consider,a great program, the High School Band. Due to lack of consideration both from the High School and Junior High the band has lost their feeder program. This means since the feeder program at the Junior High no longer exists the band will be gone within two to three years. This is a great disappoint due to the fact that the band the past years has had superior ratings. I really hate to see this happen but someone needs to do something about this and get the Junior High feeder program back or the High School band will no longer exist. What will it be like with no band at a football game?

Sweetwater High School 5

Posted April 02, 2008
- a student
Sweetwater is an excellent learning environment. The teachers try extremely hard to teach what i consider the unteachable.


Sweetwater High School 1

Posted March 21, 2008
- a parent
Complete disrespect of students and parents from the faculty and staff, disturbing mismanagement of funds, teachers hate their jobs, and let the students know frequently... the fact that this school is not shut down is an absolute disgrace.

Nearby schools

Sweetwater High School
414 South High Street, Sweetwater, TN  37874
Rating: 2 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. (423) 337-7881
Last modified Sweetwater High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top