Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Independence High School

Public | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 6, 2014

Independence High School is amazing. I'm currently a "honors student", and take mostly "AP" classes. The teachers are instructive and challenging. The students made me feel at home, and the teachers made my journey, through high-School, even better. The extra classes are,and always be , amazing! They challenge me, but at the same time help me learn new things. I have no problem saying that this school is "AMAZING." The administration are awesome, and always help me with problems. I have never seen any physical attack, nor any bullying. This is the school for you.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 26, 2012

Every time I try to write a bad review of this school, it gets pulled. The school is average at best. Problems are hidden and you cannot get an honest answer from administration. It is a poorly run school and it has been going downhill ever since the current principal arrived.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2012

We love Independence. No school is perfect. I would rather fault on the side of being too churchy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2011

great school. lots to do and everyone goes to the sporting events, especially football games. the education is very good here and the teachers are great.... INDY NATION


Posted June 2, 2011

As a student of four years, I agree with some of the other people who've posted that a lot of favoritism is shown towards the churchy kids, and I'm not afraid to name names. The members of Thompson Station Church (it's Baptist no matter what the try to tell you) has a massive hold over both this school and the community in general. The students that go to the church are very cliquish and rude and they usually all vote for each other for class offices. Out of all the student speakers at our 2011 graduation, all of them attend TSC to my knowledge, except one. Thankfully, our valedictorian was not part of the club and kept her speech free of religion. I'm a Christian myself, but I don't appreciate having another church forced down my throat and I disagree with subjecting non-Christian students to it at school. Guidance is slow and the administration sucks. Otherwise, I enjoyed my time at Independence. The standard classes are a joke, but AP classes are great and honors classes usually are, too. There's a lot of extra-curriculars to get involved in and if a student puts in the work, they can be massively successful here no matter how they feel about their teachers and fellow students.


Posted June 1, 2011

Having suffered along with my children wth this school for 4 years . . . I have issues with: Favoritism of sports and religious groups (even having school events at a specific church). It favors the establishment of one religion over another by allowing that religion to bully non-belivers or other religions ON CAMPUS, including physical attacks. Difficult relations wish Student Services/Nurse/Check-In Out and Sick, each child and parent is treated like a criminal Gifted Program is a joke - it caused more problems rather than assisting me or my child with the unique challenges of being gifted. Unless you or your child are a sports person or a southern baptist, you shouldn't attend this school - you, and especially, they will be miserable. School should be about academics. Period.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2010

IHS is a great school. We moved here from another state just for the highschool. It was the best decision for schools and area to live in. Love it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 31, 2009

I could not have been happier at any other high school in the county. Something about the teachers and students and IHS make you want to get involved. I took advanced classes and was very impressed with the quality of teachers. I do not think that the teachers of lower level classes were as good, but that is expected. I often took AP and honors classes in subjects I was not interested just because of the quality of the teachers. IHS was an amazing experience.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 28, 2009

I have a child who attends this school with an IEP. And I for one have not one complaint.(as of yet) I have found the faculty, staff, and administration very helpful. They communicate with student and parent as often as I would like. (I am a very involved parent and seem to meet with the entire group of administration and faculty involved with my child every marking period always evaluating what can be done to make the four years here successful). Looking at choices of homeschooling, private or Independence, I could highly recommend you to try Independence.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2009

If your child is a struggling student this is not the school for them. IHS is only interested in educating students that are self motivated and do not need any guidance along the way. If your child is extremely bright and self motivated they will be happy to service you to improve their test scores.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2009

The Band, Drumline, Color Guard and the entire Music Program! They are why we purchased a house in the area. The IHS Eagles Marching Band is the best!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2009

I attended IHS for two years and was miserable. Students were clique-y and hostile. If it wasn't for Stacie Byrd and Kim Peters, I would never have survived the two years I was forced to attend. Admin & faculty cares about only about the athletes, the test scores, and the 'wealthy' image of the school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 22, 2009

I am currently a junior at IHS and have found that this school is a wonderful learning enviroment. The teachers work well with students and actually care about our education. It is fillled with INDY spirit and makes me proud to call myself an eagle. KAKAW!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 28, 2009

My child is an honors student and plays two sports as well. The test scores alone speak for the excellent teachers. We have outstanding coaches and I have found the executive staff to be extremely easy to work with and they welcome partent comments and involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2009

I have found the new principle difficult to work with as a parent. Having a child who is an early graduate, they do not get any senior privledges which include no senior pic in the yearbook. They also do not get a 'senior gift' at graduation
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2009

The requirement for a note is not a district policy. You may look up the actual policy here, http://www.wcs.edu/district/boardpolicy/sect6/6200.pdf The requirement of a note is up to the principal of the school and as far as I know (I am a school board employee and a parent of an IHS student) IHS is the only school that wants this . It is ludicrous for you to say that if a child is sick enough to miss school then they should go to a doctor. Employees do not need doctors notes for illness less than five days. In the schools we are told to stay home if we feel ill. Schools are breeding grounds for sickness and one person coming in with a cold will soon spread it to hundreds. Get your facts straight. However, I do think that IHS is a good school now that Dr. Campbell has taken over.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2009

The adminsitration of independence requires a note from a doctor if a student is sick because that is district policy. This school does a good job of correctly following the rules and not putting up with nonsense from students. This school sees that if a student is sick enough to miss school, they need to be seen by a physician, and they do so rightly. The activities at the school are incredible. They have a club for everyone. The students are also extremely kind and courteous. Go ihs!


Posted January 7, 2009

School administration has not respect for parents. Sometimes required DOCTOR notes if student is sick the day before or the day after a holiday. Why take your child to a doctor when they just have a stomach bug? It's an unnecessary cost. The administration has way too much power.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 65% in 2013.

321 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
62%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 42% in 2013.

338 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
64%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 62% in 2013.

318 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
71%
English I

The state average for English I was 68% in 2013.

372 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
82%
English II

The state average for English II was 59% in 2013.

293 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
78%
English III

The state average for English III was 40% in 2013.

199 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
63%
U.S. History

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students81%
African American67%
Asiann/a
Hispanic77%
White83%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilities34%
English language learnersn/a

Algebra II

All Students66%
African American66%
Asiann/a
Hispanic53%
White67%
Economically disadvantaged61%
Students with disabilities32%
English language learnersn/a

Biology I

All Students87%
African American74%
Asiann/a
Hispanic85%
White88%
Economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilities54%
English language learnersn/a

English I

All Students87%
African American75%
Asiann/a
Hispanic74%
White89%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilities37%
English language learnersn/a

English II

All Students86%
African American74%
Asiann/a
Hispanic83%
White87%
Economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilities55%
English language learnersn/a

English III

All Students54%
African American21%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White60%
Economically disadvantaged45%
Students with disabilities10%
English language learnersn/a

U.S. History

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 89% 67%
Black 6% 23%
Hispanic 4% 7%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 15%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Reading specialist(s)
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Security personnel
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Art teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
  • Theory
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • German
  • Italian
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
Fax number
  • (615) 472-4621

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • German
  • Italian
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
  • Transportation provided for special education students only
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Rugby
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Tennis
  • Track

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
  • Theory
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1776 Declaration Way
Thompson's Station, TN 37179
Phone: (615) 472-4600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Summit High School
Spring Hill, TN


Cornerstone School
Spring Hill, TN






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT