Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
28 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 37 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Independence High School 5

Posted July 13, 2016
- a parent
Our neighbor's child had a bad experience at Indy, so we were concerned when our daughter was about to start there. However, after four years there, I can tell you confidently that this was a great school for her. She found e/c groups to belong to , which is absolutely key when attending a big school (1,500 kids). She needed challenging classes to prepare her for college, and she had that (6 AP classes over four years, plus several honors classes). For a college bound kid, this is a great school. My son chose not to attend Indy, simply because he does not work well in large numbers of people. Thankfully, we found a great school for him, too.

Independence High School 5

Posted May 22, 2016
- a community member
Yesterday, our family just celebrated our third son to graduate from IHS, with one more to go in '18. Independence High has provided our children with a nurturing and encouraging environment to grow academically, socially, intellectually, physically, spiritually, & mentally. We are so grateful for the administrators and faculty who invested & challenged them to mature as students, prepped for university success!


Independence High School 5

Posted December 26, 2015
- a parent
My daughter loves this school, our experience here has been exemplary. We would recommend this school to anyone moving in to the area.

Independence High School 1

Posted July 27, 2015
- a student
If you like little academic challenge, racist, sexist class mates, and administration that doesn't care, then this is the place for you. Along with the kill lists and bomb threats, there are many problems with this school. First off over 50% of the school goes to Thompson station church. If you don't go to the church then you are a minority. If you're looking for drugs this is the place. Vapes are the craze right now and I cannot begin to describe how many vapes I have personally seen. There are many agricultural kids that run around screaming in between classes. The number of self harming drug addicts is alarming. There Is much profanity. The staff and administration don't help anyone and resort to yelling if they don't like something. Many females dress very provocatively. The choices in classes are very limited and very few ap classes are available for freshman and sophomores. There are swastikas and other phrases carved on the desks. If you are over 6ft. Tall or over 250 pounds you will have a very hard time getting in and out of desks. Some kids have to sit in the back without a desk because they do not fit. Don't let the fact that this is a Williamson county school fool you.

Independence High School 3

Posted September 28, 2014
- a community member
My granddaughter moved here from out of state this school year. She seems to be happy with most of her teachers. She is involved in sports and I pray she will grow , make new friends and love her new school.


Independence High School 5

Posted June 06, 2014
- a student
Independence High School is amazing. I'm currently a "honors student", and take mostly "AP" classes. The teachers are instructive and challenging. The students made me feel at home, and the teachers made my journey, through high-School, even better. The extra classes are,and always be , amazing! They challenge me, but at the same time help me learn new things. I have no problem saying that this school is "AMAZING." The administration are awesome, and always help me with problems. I have never seen any physical attack, nor any bullying. This is the school for you.

Independence High School 2

Posted April 26, 2012
- a parent
Every time I try to write a bad review of this school, it gets pulled. The school is average at best. Problems are hidden and you cannot get an honest answer from administration. It is a poorly run school and it has been going downhill ever since the current principal arrived.

Independence High School 4

Posted March 27, 2012
- a parent
We love Independence. No school is perfect. I would rather fault on the side of being too churchy.


Independence High School 5

Posted June 30, 2011
- a community member
great school. lots to do and everyone goes to the sporting events, especially football games. the education is very good here and the teachers are great.... INDY NATION

Independence High School 3

Posted June 02, 2011
- a community member
As a student of four years, I agree with some of the other people who've posted that a lot of favoritism is shown towards the churchy kids, and I'm not afraid to name names. The members of Thompson Station Church (it's Baptist no matter what the try to tell you) has a massive hold over both this school and the community in general. The students that go to the church are very cliquish and rude and they usually all vote for each other for class offices. Out of all the student speakers at our 2011 graduation, all of them attend TSC to my knowledge, except one. Thankfully, our valedictorian was not part of the club and kept her speech free of religion. I'm a Christian myself, but I don't appreciate having another church forced down my throat and I disagree with subjecting non-Christian students to it at school. Guidance is slow and the administration sucks. Otherwise, I enjoyed my time at Independence. The standard classes are a joke, but AP classes are great and honors classes usually are, too. There's a lot of extra-curriculars to get involved in and if a student puts in the work, they can be massively successful here no matter how they feel about their teachers and fellow students.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Independence High School
1776 Declaration Way, Thompson's Station, TN  37179
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 37 reviews. (615) 472-4600
Last modified Independence High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top