Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Heritage Middle School

Public | 6-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 11, 2014

I think that this is a great school. It has an astounding performing arts program, which includes things such as: a yearly play and musical, a talent show, a dance team, a majorettes team, and a great choir teacher, Mrs.Benton. There are also many related arts including STEM, theatre, general music, digital music, piano, guitar, gym, art, spanish, French, German(eighth grade only), and creative communications. Other opportunities include battle of the books, algebra 1 and geometry, honors spanish and French, sports teams and many other clubs. As a student, I have only had one bad teacher and I really enjoy the school.


Posted March 31, 2014

This school is an absolute joke. The new admiration is one of the worst I've seen in a public school system. The Principal loves the kids, but I honestly think she doesn't do the best job managing the school. The two assistant principals are all a joke. They sent my child to Juvenile Court because he missed 2 days of an after school remediation program. 8th grade has a horrible math teacher. ( I won't name names.) HMS has one of the nicest cafe staff. The lunch ladies are all jewels. Overall, since the new principal rolled in a 2 years ago, this school has gone down the drain. I would consider different schools if you had the choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2010

I have been very impressed with this school. My daughter has grown and advanced and the teachers have been very intuitive and enjoy makingl earning fun. I'm glad she is there! Keep up the good work! I hope Spring Station Middle is just as great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2010

As a parent if you have options I would look into other schools. The faculity does not have control of the student body and the students know it. If you can find another school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2009

i graduated this year from HMS and8th grade year was the best teachers let u slide more and we went on awesome feild trips. the teachers really got u ready for 9th grade we got registered and we even had people from the high school come and answer all of our questions.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 26, 2009

I graduated in 2006 and it went through a lot of changes, dress codes, vandelism, and PDA. The most you could touch another student was a hand shake. And i think in the last year, we had some rediculous three second hug rule or something. Some teachers cared and some did not. This school could a little bit better of preparing 8th graders for high school, actually i do not remember of Heritage telling us at all about Independence High School (feeder school for HMS). Do not know how it has changed sense i graduated but compared to everyother most middle schools in Tennessee it is average. Average teachers, average sports/coaches, average administrators and average everything.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 12, 2008

Heritage Middle School is a great place. While our administrators are average we ha great teacher and up dated textbooks. Every classs is equipped with three to four computer stations, one projector, a TV/and or LPD projector. One class in our school is being tested with a Smart board as well. If this test succeds all of our classes coud be given smart boards whichwould replace all other electronic projectors. Over the course of the next several years certain highschools will be given laptops for every Pupil. These laptops will act as agenda, textbook, organisational folder, and work station. Eventually these computers will be moved down to the middle school level. At heritage seurity is also a priority. The school is surounded by an exterior radius of cameras both inside and out. These security surveillence cameras canbe used to locate bullies, prevent theivery and to prevent vandalisation.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 4, 2007

Student- our principle could literally care less about sports. It's a pretty good school, and there are some really good teachers ,but there are some that just make me want to transfer. And the poor teachers giving the rating a 4/5.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 9, 2007

Hi, I was a student at Heritage Middle from 6-8th grade. 2006-2007 was my last year there. It is not an excellent school. Most of the teachers dont seem to care at all about the students. They give us busy work alot. I know that we are a wealthy school but that doesnt make it good. Its average.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2013.

302 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
40%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

302 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
71%
Science

The state average for Science was 62% in 2013.

302 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
66%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 87% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2013.

240 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
42%

2010

 
 
48%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 47% in 2013.

245 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
70%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2013.

245 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
73%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 41% in 2013.

229 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
41%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 47% in 2013.

263 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
63%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2013.

263 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
76%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 82% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students50%
African American35%
Asiann/a
Hispanic27%
White53%
Economically disadvantaged32%
Students with disabilities17%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students80%
African American60%
Asiann/a
Hispanic47%
White84%
Economically disadvantaged68%
Students with disabilities46%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students86%
African American85%
Asiann/a
Hispanic67%
White88%
Economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilities58%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic93%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities75%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students60%
African American25%
Asiann/a
Hispanic29%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White63%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Students with disabilities35%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students69%
African American17%
Asiann/a
Hispanic29%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White74%
Economically disadvantaged47%
Students with disabilities33%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students86%
African American67%
Asiann/a
Hispanic57%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged69%
Students with disabilities67%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
African American83%
Asiann/a
Hispanic86%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilities89%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students49%
African American39%
Asiann/a
Hispanic53%
White49%
Economically disadvantaged34%
Students with disabilities25%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students82%
African American73%
Asiann/a
Hispanic75%
White83%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilities53%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students92%
African American80%
Asiann/a
Hispanic81%
White94%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilities69%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
African American93%
Asiann/a
Hispanic88%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilities89%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
100%
English I

The state average for English I was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

English I

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 89% 67%
Hispanic 5% 7%
Black 4% 23%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 16%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Nurse(s)
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • School psychologist
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (615) 595-7033

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Tutor
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4803 Columbia Pk
Thompson Station, TN 37179
Phone: (615) 472-4540

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Cornerstone School
Spring Hill, TN



Willow Hall Academy
Franklin, TN



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT