Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Obion County Central High School

Public | 9-12 | 944 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 8, 2013

OCCHS is a great place to go to school! It is very clean and organized! All the teachers are friendly and know he subject that they are teaching very well. There is always an officer on duty to insure the safety of students and faculty throughout the day. We have a great athletic and academic reputation. Coming from a student, there is no where else I would rather go to school than Obion County Central High School!
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 20, 2008

We have a pretty good school, I suppose. We have some outstanding teachers. Our principal, however, is another story. She is downright mean, but I guess you're going to have a con everywhere. The rest are pretty much pros. It is very clean, and most people are pretty nice. It is an overall good school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 9, 2008

I love this school except for the people that think they're better than you. But i guess all schools have those kinds of people. It is a great school. And the teachers are always willing to help.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 12, 2008

Obion county central has been said to be one of the greatest schools in America! it is great!
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 6, 2007

All the teachers at occhs are very kind and great. There is a police officer on duty every day of school to keep the halls, cafeteria, and bathrooms safe. As of now, there is a new school! Excellent A/C and Heating. Super clean restrooms. Most of all there is a huge variety of what you can eat at lunch. You can choose between American Bar (pizza, cheeseburger, and fires every day), Mexican Bar (Varies from tacos to chillie and spicy cheese dip), and an Entree Bar (hot food everyday), And salad
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 24, 2005

I am a student at (OCCHS) yr. '08! This school has some great teachers and some not so great teachers. I have an excelent math teacher, but not so great english teacher. There are also some teachers whom express their opinions to openly. That is one bad thing. There is a GREAT libarian. We also have some great guidence counselers. They are willing to do anything. Some teachers need to be investigated further for their treatment of students. Just a heads up! Can't wait for the new school! - You Academic Leader of '08!
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 21, 2005

I am a former graduate of OCCHS...it was a wonderful school to attend, all of the teachers were waiting and willing to help. Keep up the good work central!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 31, 2005

I think that OCCHS has one of the best band teachers ever. I love this school. By 8-10-07 we will have a Brand New School built, so if you want to go to a new school that will be fun come to OCCHS!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 13, 2004

Overall the school is the best in the whole U.S. Everyone just about gets along with each other. We welcome all new students to a fun new experiance. So if your looking for a great-fun-welcoming-safe-educational-school come to Obion County Central High School (OCCHS)!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 17, 2004

I think obion county central is a clean wonderful school. They have excellent teachers and have won many trophies in the past. Occhs is one of the best high schools in the nation. It is a wonderful place to go to school at. It is also very safe! Let's go OCCHS!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 10, 2003

This school is dirty and it is know good .
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 65% in 2013.

272 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
42%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 42% in 2013.

204 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
39%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 62% in 2013.

269 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
56%
English I

The state average for English I was 68% in 2013.

252 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
59%
English II

The state average for English II was 59% in 2013.

231 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
68%
English III

The state average for English III was 40% in 2013.

212 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
43%
U.S. History

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students71%
African American44%
Asiann/a
Hispanic68%
White74%
Economically disadvantaged65%
Students with disabilities33%
English language learnersn/a

Algebra II

All Students71%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic57%
White73%
Economically disadvantaged59%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Biology I

All Students65%
African American38%
Asiann/a
Hispanic86%
White66%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Students with disabilities35%
English language learnersn/a

English I

All Students77%
African American15%
Asiann/a
Hispanic81%
White80%
Economically disadvantaged66%
Students with disabilities50%
English language learnersn/a

English II

All Students62%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic43%
White63%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Students with disabilities27%
English language learnersn/a

English III

All Students39%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White41%
Economically disadvantaged24%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

U.S. History

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities91%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 93% 67%
Hispanic 4% 6%
Black 2% 24%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian 0% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 45%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

528 North Hwy 51
Troy, TN 38260
Phone: (731) 536-4688

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Union City High School
Union City, TN



Baptist Temple Academy
Union City, TN





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT