Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
15 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 23 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Community High School 5

Posted October 28, 2015
- a parent
Both my children graduated from Community High School. They earned great scholarships to a major university where they both maintain high GPAs.

Community High School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted October 28, 2015
- a parent
Mrs. Amanda Lemmons has been a fantastic influence upon my daughter in choosing to study to become an educator.


Community High School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted October 28, 2015
- a parent
The teachers and administrators are fine role models. Many are leaders in their local churches.

Community High School 2

Posted December 17, 2010
- a community member
I am an alumni of Community High School. Here is my review: Pros: Caring Teachers - Almost all of the teachers that I had while attending Community cared about their students immensely. They truly take initiative to make a connection with the student, and they strive to help any students who aren't grasping the material. Extracurricular Activities - Community has a club for anybody. There are many leadership and community service clubs, as well as sports and the band. Many of the sports place very well in their divisions, and the band is one of the best in Tennessee. Cons: Academics: In most of the classes, the subject material is taught in very non-innovative ways. Usually, classes are not very interactive. Usually, the teacher lectures the class from an overhead projector, and then passes out worksheets. This does not aid in the learning of students. Even worse, compared to other schools, Community does not cover nearly as much material. This makes the transition to college very difficult. The test scores show that this is a below-average school academically. There are many teachers at this school that need to be evaluated more intensely.

Community High School 5

Posted January 29, 2009
- a parent
I have 2 children currently attending CHS. I truely believe it is not only the schools responsibility, but also the parent's to encourage and support our students. My children have received personal care and attention in every aspect of their education at CHS. I have one child that is an athlete and one child that isn't. Not only do I feel they are both scholasticly treated equally and challenged to rise to a higher level, but I also feel they are treated equally on all levels. When they depart CHS I feel they will have received the best possible education they could have received and I will thank the administration and faculty for that.


Community High School
no rating

Posted November 19, 2008
- a student
I attend Community High School and for those who say its all about the athletics I would like for you to know that I am an athlete and my grades are above average. Many of my friends are also athletes and are also above average grade wise. We abide by all TSSAA rules and our principal sets even higher standards for us as athletes; not only with our grades but also our leadership. I'm very offended that anyone would think negative against CHS!

Community High School 1

Posted September 28, 2008
- a parent
CHS is a poorly run institution with regard to academics. Primary emphasis at this school seems to be on the athletic deptartment(s) and sports programs. I personally had three children attend this school, and each one was literally 'dumbed-down' by the educational standards at CHS, and by the ignorance conveyed by many of the faculty members. It is a sad thing when the students are brighter/smarter than their teachers. As referenced by another reviewer 'the [test] scores don't lie.' It have a gradute level degree, and it is my educated opinion that the state of Tennessee needs to review this school's teaching methods and needs to administer 'appropriate' proficiency testing to the teachers themselves...perhaps even observe the teachers. I wish all the students at CHS the best of luck...you're going to need it.

Community High School 5

Posted January 21, 2008
- a student
Community High School is a very well 'oiled' school! They have intellengent teachers that guide you down the right path! The principal and assistant principal are always their to greet you. I walk down the halls of Community daily! You can see all the wonderful people that walk down the hall too!


Community High School 5

Posted December 05, 2005
- a parent
Community High School is an excellent school with a friendly and helpful staff. The principal is very understanding and cooperative in helping individual students and parents with legitimate concerns about academic matters. The majority of the teachers are equally concerned about helping motivated students achieve their scholastic goals. I feel that my child is receiving the best high school education available in Bedford County and highly recommend this school to any student with a desire to learn.

Community High School 1

Posted June 28, 2004
- a student
This school has a horrible educational standard (far bellow what should be expected). The TCAP scores don t lie. I am concerned about these students being properly prepared for the real world as well as for college. In short, it is a shame that Bedford County s education is so callously disregarded; and students ultimately pay the price. I am truely glad I didn't stay at Community High.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Community High School
100 Community Crossing, Unionville, TN  37180
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. (931) 685-1418
Last modified Community High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top