Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

White House Middle School

Public | 5-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 6, 2010

This is my fourteenth year to be associated with WHMS and I have loved every minute of it. All three of my children attended here and excelled. I know that they have and have had excellent teachers who love their jobs. The administration is the best. The principal goes above and beyond to make the school what it is today. A wonderful place for children to come and learn!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2010

Seems to have gone downhill this year, disciplinary actions inappropriate, serving undercooked or cold food in cafeteria, school not even open on time on a couple of occasions. Will be reporting to district Super.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 3, 2009

Hi, im a student here a white house middle school, and i love it. Im in eighth grade, i've been here since sixth grade, i've improved academically. This is an amazing school, we have so much fun learning and our extra curricular is full attendance. I'll admit it a very clic-ish kinda a school, but no ones snobby or a brat to one another. Everyone gets along pretty well, even though there is some drama, i would know im a student here. But what school doesn't,? Haha. Anyways, its a great school and i would recommend for everyone to give it a shot in this area. (: Hey, go devilsssssss! (:
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 22, 2008

whmsis a wonderful school!its kinda cliquey but once you find the right clique youll fit right in also the cliques are all very tight but always willing to add a new person youll make great friends right away! our school also has alot of school spirit some girls have blue and white fake nails!! n e way the administration is fantastic and the teachers actually teach you stuff and you learn but they make learning fun! whms is a fantastic choice of school!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 3, 2008

I love this school! I am a parent of a student and am very impressed with the staff and especially the principal. He is great with both the students and the parents - difficult to find around here. I feel that my daughter is receiving a great education!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2008

I am a teacher at this school, but I am also the parent of 2 daughters that attend(ed) here. There is not a better group of teachers and administrators anywhere, hands down. I have talked to so many parents that have moved here from other communities, and they all are highly complimentary of WHMS. Our TCAP scores are some of the highest in the county, if not the state, but the best thing about our school is that our teachers TEACH. We strive for excellence here. I am a White House alumni, and I have seen many changes in White House. The WH school system continues to change for the better.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 3, 2008

We moved here right after school began which I thought would be a nightmare, but it wasn't...The kids were very accepting. My daughter is not the popular type, but these kids welcomed her and made her feel at ease. The Principal and staff are very helpful and they teach these kids most of all to respect each other and you can tell! Both my kids love it here, it's been an awesome experience, and neither of them are in sports! I do wich they got more into arts and sciences for after school activities, but most of the schools just aren't there yet.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2007

I moved here from Birmingham, AL and now I notice the teachers are so much nicer! Everyone is nicer! I love it here! i would of moved here years ago if we could of! Then I wouldn't be in such of a friend mee. I agree, it is clicky, but I would never give it up!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 9, 2007

My family and I are what you would call 'transplants' and it has been very difficult for my daughter to fit in here. The school is extremely cliquish and outsiders seem to take 'heat' for a lot of internal things that go on. Disciplinary action is not the same for all. Communication between teachers and parents is also an issue. I requested to speak with all of my daughter's teachers to see how she was doing behaviorally and only heard from one. Maybe it's because of the low academic parental involvement at this school. They seem to care more about sports here than anything. This was clearly evident when I attended a school meeting for the 'Smart board' technology that our students and teachers could benefit from. Only 6 parents attended. This was sad to say the least. If your looking to move here, think again. I'm out of here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2006

White House Middle has met my expectations as a mother and I know my son is very happy too! We moved to White House from Nashville and the education here has been top notch compared to the school he attended in Nashville. I will say the staff and the principal at this school deserve many accolades. The kids in this district are very close and I will make sure my child finishes his education in White House.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2005

I love this school district, it is the reason we moved to White House. I think that the academic program is very good, and this includes the gifted program. I do think that the arts need more attention. I think anyone would be impressed with the levels of parent involvement. White House is such a nice small town. It is a really great place to raise your children and send them to school. We find the quality of our public school to be equal or better that the quality found in many private schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2005

Our school is awesome! The acedemics are incerdible and every teacher tries their hardest to help each individual student with whatever they need. The extracirricular activities are amazing, all the sports teams are very good and the band and chorus are very wonderful. The level of parental involvment is amazing. Take this from a student, White House is an awesome school!
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 11, 2005

I am very happy with our school! I am a White House grad myself, and things have only gotten better. Our academics are very strong,as well as our extra-curricular programs. Our principal and support staff are the best!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2004

I have been utterly thrilled with White House Middle. The staff is fabulous and the principal is first rate! My son is doing wonderfully and is developing into a wonderful well-rounded young man.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2004

this is one of the best schools that I have been to in my life! I like all of my teachers,staff,amd people.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 57% in 2013.

163 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
24%

2010

 
 
13%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 55% in 2013.

163 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
51%
Science

The state average for Science was 63% in 2013.

163 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
53%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 87% in 2013.

163 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2013.

209 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
28%

2010

 
 
32%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

209 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
63%
Science

The state average for Science was 62% in 2013.

209 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
67%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 87% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2013.

236 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
29%

2010

 
 
19%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 47% in 2013.

236 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
44%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2013.

235 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
63%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 41% in 2013.

184 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
30%

2011

 
 
12%

2010

 
 
6%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 47% in 2013.

206 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
51%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2013.

206 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
81%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 82% in 2013.

206 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students67%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White65%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Students with disabilities54%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students64%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White63%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Students with disabilities61%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students76%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White75%
Economically disadvantaged66%
Students with disabilities43%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students95%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilities75%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students58%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic64%
White59%
Economically disadvantaged48%
Students with disabilities56%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students73%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic64%
White75%
Economically disadvantaged66%
Students with disabilities67%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students81%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic82%
White82%
Economically disadvantaged69%
Students with disabilities63%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilities67%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students56%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White58%
Economically disadvantaged43%
Students with disabilities21%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students61%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White60%
Economically disadvantaged48%
Students with disabilities28%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students81%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White81%
Economically disadvantaged72%
Students with disabilities52%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilities90%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students38%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White39%
Economically disadvantaged26%
Students with disabilities7%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students57%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White57%
Economically disadvantaged48%
Students with disabilities60%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students79%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White79%
Economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilities67%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students93%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White93%
Economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilities80%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
100%
English I

The state average for English I was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

English I

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 93% 67%
Black 3% 23%
Hispanic 3% 7%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 34%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Library
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2020 Hwy 31 West
White House, TN 37188
Phone: (615) 672-4379

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Dayspring Academy
Greenbrier, TN






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT