Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Whitwell Elementary School

Public | PK-4 | 605 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 5, 2014

I am a 34-year veteran teacher. All 34 years have been in special ed. I think that if m ore teachers would not act insulted that there are spec ed kids in it, we'd go a lot farther. I do pull-out simply because common core is too difficult and too fast paced for my students to be able to survive in the general ed classroom. I have supportive teachers, a very supportive principal and assistant principal. And wonderful parents!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 5, 2014

My school is great! The front office needs a way to be able to open the locked front door. We need to keep unwelcome "visitors" out. But other than that, it's super!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 17, 2010

I cannot say enough good about this school, we had our daughter in private school. we then put her in whitwell ele. and have not regretted our decision. the teachers really care about these kids and wants the best for them, our daughter was strugglin in math and they were on top of gettin her the tutoring and help she needs to get her where she needs to be. they keep well in touch with the parents. love the staff...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2010

My son is a kindergarten student this year and I cannot say enough good things about his teacher or this school. We had contemplated private schools, but I feel we are getting just as good of an education with the public system. My son is in an advanced class to keep him challenged. The school is small enough that each staff member knows my son by name.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2009

My daughter has had a wonderful experience at this school. She loves her teachers and loves her Principal. Mr.Smith truly loves these children and tries to do what is best for them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2009

We are very happy to have our son attend WES. They have great teachers, and are very caring about the children. I have never had any complaints about anything. Our son loves it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 29, 2008

The Teachers care about the kids and work with them to help the complete there work and understanding of the subjects.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2003

My oldest child is in 3rd grade now, and my youngest is in kindergarten. My experience with the teachers has been nothing but positive. All of my eldest son's teachers have kept me and my exhusband abreast of his progress, strengths and weaknesses, and how we can help him become a better student. They've never been too busy to answer questions, or talk over any concerns we have had.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
45%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 49% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
28%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
39%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
64%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 84% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 49% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
15%

2011

 
 
25%

2010

 
 
24%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 48% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
26%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
30%

2010

 
 
38%
Science

The state average for Science was 56% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
35%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 88% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students60%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White59%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Students with disabilities25%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students45%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White46%
Economically disadvantaged38%
Students with disabilities19%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students59%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White59%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Students with disabilities38%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students77%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White78%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilities50%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students42%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White43%
Economically disadvantaged36%
Students with disabilities7%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students26%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White27%
Economically disadvantaged22%
Students with disabilities13%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students42%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White43%
Economically disadvantaged38%
Students with disabilities27%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students84%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White85%
Economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilities60%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 97% 67%
Hispanic 2% 7%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 2%
Black 0% 23%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 76%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (423) 658-0306

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

150 Tiger Trail
Whitwell, TN 37397
Phone: (423) 658-5313

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Nolan Elementary School
Signal Mountain, TN



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT