Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
14 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 22 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Abilene High School 5

Posted January 28, 2016
- a community member
This school district has been nothing but great. They work hard to accommodate the disabled and have provided all of his needs through out the year. Thank you AISD!

Abilene High School 5

Posted November 13, 2014
- a student
Hear me say, choose Abilene High School. It has top notch arts education--band, choir, fine arts especially. It has unopposed literature and rhetoric education which should be the base or cornerstone of a person's education--that all other education will be enlightened with literature and rhetoric education. The natural sciences are also well developed at Abilene High and have a reputation for being the best in town based on AP scores and pass rates. Finally, the administration is outstanding. AHS admins understand that there are the students who work hard, behave, and find success and those that do not; they make decisions with this in mind and allow everyone to coexist peacefully. If you are the parent of a child who works hard, do not fear this place because of the other. As a hard working student myself, experiencing high school with people who were not at all like myself was possibly more valuable than anything taught. The world is a huge place full of people mostly unlike me. This is valuable because it allows me to see myself in a global perspective. It makes me more sympathetic and aware of humanity's struggles. It's a great day to be an Eagle.


Abilene High School 5

Posted December 26, 2013
- a student
Abilene High is a very good school. They have great pre-ap and ap classes and have so many electives and clubs to be involved in.

Abilene High School
no rating

Posted October 25, 2009
- a community member
Because they teach children how to get along after graduation. Thats where I graduated from. They have teachers that care.

Abilene High School 4

Posted February 27, 2008
- a community member
i love abilene high because their are many different races and there are plenty of people to get to know. i attended abilene high only 2 years but i loved it. to me there is alot of drama but it's still a pretty cool school. . the teachers are good (some of them are great) and they will do anything to help you pass. most teachers make it impossible for you to fail their class.


Abilene High School 5

Posted February 19, 2007
- a parent
We had a great experience at Abilene High School. We are a military family and moved for my sons sophmore year. Abilene schools provided him a great basis for AP classes at the new school. He was far ahead in some areas, and right on in others. The marching band program in Abilene was top notch. He couldn't have had any better training. He also had outstanding teachers in every catagory and they were wonderful at helping us choose classes to take at the new school. Abilene High has the largest range of offerings and AP classes in the Abilene area. This is the High School to attend in the area in our families opinion.

Abilene High School 5

Posted September 15, 2005
- a student
Abilene High School is one of the best schools in west texas. if anyine is looking to move into the abilene area I suggest that they send there kids to this great school.

Abilene High School 4

Posted January 14, 2005
- a parent
We have been in Abilene for 20 years and have had a very positive relationship with the schools. I have chronically ill child and they have supported him in taking accelerated classes so he can reach his full potential. As a freshmen at AHS he has enjoyed the challenge of the pre-AP program a great deal. Almost all of the teachers are supportive and encouraging.


Abilene High School 5

Posted August 06, 2004
- a parent
We had two sons graduate Abilene High (1999 & 2004). The high school principal is very supportive of the students, knowing most by name. Our boys finished the recommended Texas Scholars curriculum and both graduated with honors. Abilene High prepared them so that they received automatic admission to a Division I university (Texas Tech) based on SAT scores. Honors or Advanced Placement classes are offered as well as a wide array of extracurricular activities such as athletics, drama, music, and debate/speech. The band program is especially of high quality as the top level band routinely plays pieces in concert that are usually reserved for collegiate level bands. (The band parents are awesome in their support of the band program.) Likewise, the drama program is first rate. In fact, the drama program and band often cooperate to put on at least one musical a year. Great school!

Abilene High School 5

Posted February 13, 2004
- a parent
Abilene High is one of the very best large high schols in the state. Students excell in academics, athletics, music and drama and all other areas of endeavor. Teachers are caring and administration is student orientated.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Abilene High School
2800 North 6th Street, Abilene, TX  79603
(325) 677-1731
Last modified Abilene High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Abilene High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. Top