Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public district
Abilene, TX
Students enrolled: 643
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Ortiz Elementary School 1

Posted May 28, 2015
- a parent
Ortiz teachers no longer try to help their students. They never send home any information. They don't return phone calls unless you get Mrs Fulkerson the principal involved. They switch classes but the homeroom teacher never knows what going on with your child you have to go on a hunt for each teacher. They'll switch your kids classes without even letting the parent now. This year I didn't get a conference to see how my son was doing. When I finally just went up there the teachers that didn't just leave at 3 with the kids just told me oh your son is doing fine.... Real fine...They were so proud. But when I brought up that he wasn't even being given his spelling tests and some grades were low well then that acted like, really? We didn't know. Mrs donnell never tried to fix it either until I brought ms Fulkerson in it. This school was great for my 2 oldest kids But my 3rd child has suffered and been behind since 1st grade and all they care about now and teach all year is the star test. No Child left behind.....yea whatever.

Ortiz Elementary School 2

Posted April 24, 2014
- a community member
I do not know anything about this school except they received a score of "10" on their March 2014 Health Department inspection, according to their published data. I hope this is a typo, but if not, that is very scary.


Ortiz Elementary School 5

Posted June 27, 2009
- a parent
The teachers are some of the most dedicated I've seen. They give so much extra time to tutor students and do 'extra' things with them. My kids have been happy and feel safe at Ortiz.

Ortiz Elementary School 5

Posted April 04, 2008
- a parent
The teachers at Ortiz truly want their students to succeed. They go above and beyond to find out each child's strength. The library is top notch and Mrs. Hartline loves to see each student fall in love with reading. Mrs. Haley has a hands on science lab once a week for each class at the school. Her ideas are innovative and help each child learn the basic concepts of science. Mrs. Jenkins is an outstanding art teacher. She has an amazing gift and brings the artistic talent in each student in her class.

Ortiz Elementary School 5

Posted January 17, 2007
- a parent
Ortiz is a wonderful school, filled with children who come from varied backgrounds. Teachers expect all children to work hard to achieve as much as they can. I'm impressed that the teachers care so much about their students.


Ortiz Elementary School 4

Posted May 25, 2006
- a parent
overall a good school, some of the little things have to be addressed but still very workable. the pickup and drop off is horrible and needs to be redone.

Ortiz Elementary School 5

Posted June 24, 2005
- a parent
this school is one of the most parent/teacher involved schools that i have ever seen. the teachers are wonderful and keep the parent up to speed on all of their childs progress and what needs improvement. i would recommend this school to any one.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ortiz Elementary School
2550 Vogel Street, Abilene, TX  79603
(325) 671-4945
Last modified Ortiz Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Ortiz Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top