Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


10 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Wylie High School 3

Posted June 08, 2011
- a student
I am a recent graduate of this school. Overall, mine was a neutral experience. I moved into this school at the beginning of my 9th grade year. Compared to my previous school, the academics were not very challenging. Few AP classes and electives are offered, making the academics seem very bare-boned and centered on average students. However, the teachers are supportive, friendly, and willing to go out of their ways for struggling individuals. The school's emphasis and funding are almost entirely centered on sports (mostly football); other extracurricular activities such as UIL seemed to be underfunded in comparison. For example, millions of dollars were dumped into the new football stadium. Necessary? I think not. tl;dr, great for sports, limiting in many other aspects.

Wylie High School 3

Posted April 04, 2011
- a parent
Wylie is not a very diverse community: ethnicity, religion, economic status. Kids achieve their when they fit that mold. Unfortunately several kids do not and never find their place in the school. Academically, teachers leave the education to parents. So if you push your kid and "teach them" what teachers can not, then they will achieve.


Wylie High School 0
no rating

Posted December 30, 2009
- a student
I was a student at Wylie awhile ago. It was small, and the teachers cared, but the academics were not particularly rigorous. I had moved to Wylie from a very academically challenging middle school elsewhere, and found Wylie to be quite average. Most kids didn't leave TX for college.

Wylie High School 5

Posted April 24, 2007
- a former student
I graduated from Wylie and felt very prepared for college. A very safe environment and teachers that care & challenge students.

Wylie High School 5

Posted December 05, 2006
- a student
I am an old student of this school. I was sad to move away. A good school..yet many preppy people. Sometimes they don't care about their grades, but there are still very bright students. I was surprised about the high academics ratings, due to the aforementioned apathetic students. The staff is wonderful, especially the math department. Mrs Pugh rules! The band is the best!


Wylie High School 1

Posted September 16, 2006
- a parent
A great school for the country club set. My daughter's english teacher asked her what her political affiliation was. Her PE teacher told her that since she is Roman Catholic she isn't really a Christian. (Peter and Paul would be surprised, I think) Peer influence is strong. Sexual innuendo is rampant on the buses, but ignorance of biology keeps things in check.

Wylie High School 3

Posted July 03, 2006
- a former student
This review submitted without content.

Wylie High School 5

Posted December 22, 2005
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Wylie High School 5

Posted April 01, 2005
- a parent
I believe Wylie is an excellent school system. The teachers are awesome, the parental involvement is tremendous. I have two boys who have/are been through the school since kindergarten and the sports dept. is one of the best. The coaches are not just interested in sports, they're also interested in the students' academics.

Wylie High School 1

Posted April 28, 2004
- a administrator
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Wylie High School
4502 Antilley Road, Abilene, TX  79606
(325) 690-1181
Last modified Wylie High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Wylie High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top