Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Cornerstone Christian School

Private | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Abilene

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $88,700. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $720.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 23, 2013

Great Biblical training. My daughter is in the 3rd grade at Conerstone Abilene and each year has been outstanding. They work hard to keep cost afordable for parants. Check them out. You will love the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 27, 2008

Both of my kids go here & we have always been very impressed with the education & leadership of Cornerstone. I like the teacher/student ratio. It is a smaller school, so both of my kids have the attention of the teacher more than they would in a public school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2007

Our daughter began school at CCS, she's now in 1st grade. She can read at a 2nd grade level and is learning cursive this year. She is futher along than other 1st graders in the public school system. Cornerstone is a great school, we wouldn't have her at any other school. Jennifer
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2007

Our daughter has been at CCS since kindergarten. She will be entering 4th grade this year. We have been very pleased overall with the staff and Abeka ciriculum. It is a great place to send your child
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2007

Our kids learn about the Lord in EVERYTHING they do at Cornerstone! An incredibly loving environment instilling discipline and of course FUN. The A Beka curriculum is top notch. There is no other place I'd want to send my children for 7 hours a day. What a blessing this school is for our family and the Abilene community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2005

My child arrived at CCS with all C's and D's. We were completely confused and upset by her performance, she had previously been an A, B student. Upon arriving here, her new teacher took her under her wing and said she did not want to see her grades; she wanted to get to know our daughter first. God Bless her. By the end of the first 9 weeks 'Elisabeth' was making straight A's. The love and attention she received here was unbelievable. Our daughter is now in four pre-AP classes in Junior High and doing well. We cannot help but believe through the love and awesome curriculum here at Cornerstone that this is the only answer to our success. We now have our other two children here as well and are quite pleased with their academic achievements. God bless Cornerstone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2005

Excellent curriculum. Knowledgable teachers for the most part. Family-type environment that the kids seem to enjoy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2003

Cornetstone is a great school it is small but students get a lot of one on one education. Great environment lots of parents are very involved there it is an excellent school I recommend it.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 80% 31%
Hispanic 16% 51%
Black 5% 13%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Pacific Islander 0% 4%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

718 Barrow Street
Abilene, TX 79605
Phone: (325) 676-8232

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Sp Ed O J T
Abilene, TX




Christian Academy
Abilene, TX




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT