Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

George Herbert Walker Bush Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 669 students

 
 

Living in Addison

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $243,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $870.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 24 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

28 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 10, 2013

Bush Elementary is a GREAT school where kids learn and are the priority. Parent communication is good and I know everyone there cares about the children. I think Principal Dash does a great job and is working to make Bush an even better school. Despite some challenges she is facing she is committed to that campus. I appreciate her and so do the kids and I know they are her focus.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2013

This school is great and the teachers are terrific! The principal is lacking for sure - but where the prinicpal falls extremely short - the teachers and parents rise to the occasion. To summarize one persons earlier statement - if you participate in the school, the parent activities, volunteer when you can, offer assistance to the staff and teachers - generally support the school, then you will have a positive reaction and feel great about the environment where your children are being educated. Key item here is you must participate! If you are seeking a school which offers so much in a NEW campus, great facility, environmentally clean, offering a variety of classes - then you MUST check this out! We do not regret one minute sending our children here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2013

We are very fortunate to have this school in the Town of Addison. From our personal viewpoint... we find the teachers to be amongst the best we have experienced - as our youngest child is attending this school (and previously attended a local private school). Agreeing with the other comments on the Principal (as this person is not committed to the students, parents or the school) and is difficult to speak with. I would give her a 1-star rating at a minimum - as there was not a '0' rating. Luckily for the school - the school is full of supportive / nurturing staff / teachers around the campus to assist parents/families when the leadership falls short. The school offers - art, music, gym, computer classes, TAG, two-way dual language, library services, educational garden, YMCA afterschool program., etc... This is a unique school in that is new and has a bright future ahead of itself. We do not regret transferring our child to this public school!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2013

We moved our son out of this school as fast as we could. He was being buliied by another student and it seemed to take a lot of prompting with the vice principal before enough was done to prevent it and the child in question was dealt with appropriately. We found communication with our son's teachers difficult, often not receiving a reply to an email. We also feel that there was not enough communication with parents from the teachers about the curriculum and how they wanted homework assignments approached. I read some of the instructions myself and as an educated woman couldn't figure out what the blast it was that they wanted. We are now in a better school district and our son is much more settled and happier. I wouldn't recommend this school. Even at PTA events where our kids performed, we felt like outsiders. Left an overall bad taste in our mouths for Bush and DISD.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2013

Addison is an area where most families send their kids to one of its many private schools; while, we can afford to do the same Why should we? The debate on the pros/cons; priorities/goals of public vs private are often inaccurate and irrelevant. After weighing our options, we dove in without hesitation and after 1-year, I am proud to say we do not regret our decision - as you do "create your own environment . If you want a poor experience sit back and do nothing. Being involved/supportive in our children s education to make sure the environment is what we expect is key. The school is excelling beyond our expectations, especially given it is DISD. The school is not perfect and those issues we personally have would be found in any school whether it be public or private. The school provides a beautiful/safe/clean learning environment, with all of the modern conveniences expected in a new school with ample opportunities to achieve academic excellence for those who want it. Teacher involvement (for us) has been phenomenal with constant communication and support. Frustration will be high for those who feel the school should deliver excellence without working for it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2013

We've had 4 teachers that have been exceptional. From an academic standpoint - all teachers have delivered. They have taught our student how to read in Kindergarten. They have brought forth exciting, hands on material for science, social studies, reading, writing and math. The teachers have demonstrated a real passion for what they do and have nurtured and loved our student. Parents must be involved and engaged. I'd recommend this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2013

Great school! The teachers are hard working, dedicated, and passionate about what they do. We've only had experience with Kinder and 2nd Grade teachers, but they were awesome. My children love going to school and I love knowing that they are really learning. My child was struggling and the teacher reached out to me before it became a problem. Next, she was getting after school tutoring and a packet of practice sheets and other resources to help out at home. My only complaints are that the kids only get recess twice a week, even in the lower grades. I feel like kids NEED that recess time and three days of gym is NOT a substitute! Also, there are only specific days I can eat lunch with my kids. I thought that was weird. At our old school, a parent could eat whenever they wanted with their child! Overall, I'd recommend this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2013

I have found the current principal there to be uninviting, rude and fake. I have been to the school several time and when Principal Dash entered into the front office she never acknowledged me as parent. Everytime I was in the office she never greeted parents by saying good morning. To me the principal is more concerned with making announcements over the intercom then interacting with the students. She does not allow the students above second grade to have recess. The good get punished for the bad. This includes the Honor Roll students. Now they will not allow the kids to talk at lunch time. Really?? When can the kids have their time to take a break and have a little fun. I'm all about education because both my kids are honor roll students, however, I do believe school should be fun and not a prison. I always hear from my children that the assistant prinicipal engages with students and parents more so than the prinicipal. As far as the teachers, I only know of two good ones there because my kids had them but the rest of them are unhappy and their for a paycheck. I know more about the teachers personal life then whats on the school cirriculum.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 89% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 88% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 90% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 82% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 87% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a

Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
71%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
61%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

41 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
63%
Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
48%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 71% in 2013.

42 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
69%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
69%
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
43%
Science

The state average for Science was 73% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
61%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students70%
Female76%
Male66%
Black or African American52%
Asiann/a
Hispanic75%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White85%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Special educationn/a
Not special education70%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English70%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant70%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted64%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students46%
Female44%
Male47%
Black or African American28%
Asiann/a
Hispanic47%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White54%
Economically disadvantaged43%
Not economically disadvantaged59%
Special educationn/a
Not special education46%
Limited English proficient (LEP)48%
Proficient in English45%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant46%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted37%
Bilingual50%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students88%
Female95%
Male79%
Black or African American93%
Asiann/a
Hispanic88%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged90%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Special educationn/a
Not special education90%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English90%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant90%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted87%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students63%
Female72%
Male56%
Black or African American63%
Asiann/a
Hispanic62%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged62%
Not economically disadvantaged75%
Special educationn/a
Not special education67%
Limited English proficient (LEP)52%
Proficient in English64%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant64%
Gifted/talented88%
Non-Gifted56%
Bilingual54%

Writing

All Students76%
Female86%
Male65%
Black or African American75%
Asiann/a
Hispanic75%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged77%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Special educationn/a
Not special education80%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English78%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant78%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted72%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students72%
Female86%
Male63%
Black or African American72%
Asiann/a
Hispanic53%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged69%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Special educationn/a
Not special education76%
Limited English proficient (LEP)80%
Proficient in English71%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant72%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted66%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students72%
Female77%
Male68%
Black or African American72%
Asiann/a
Hispanic70%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged72%
Not economically disadvantaged78%
Special educationn/a
Not special education74%
Limited English proficient (LEP)64%
Proficient in English72%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant72%
Gifted/talented93%
Non-Gifted68%
Bilingual64%

Science

All Students93%
Female95%
Male91%
Black or African American97%
Asiann/a
Hispanic91%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged93%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education95%
Limited English proficient (LEP)88%
Proficient in English94%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant94%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted93%
Bilingual89%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

This school did not receive a rating in 2010-2011.

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 59% 52%
Black 25% 13%
White 12% 29%
Asian or Pacific Islander 3% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Two or more races N/A 2%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient (LEP) 36%N/A17%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Beginning teachers 3%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3939 Spring Valley Road
Addison, TX 75001
Website: Click here
Phone: (972) 925-1700

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Greenhill School
Addison, TX



Greenhill School
Dallas, TX





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT