Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public district
Addison, TX
Students enrolled: 669
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


George Herbert Walker Bush Elementary School 2

Posted June 08, 2015
- a parent
The teachers are awesome at this school. However, there is a high turnover rate. Why? The Principal, Mrs. S. Dash is controlling and even treats the parents like children. Many parents and students are leaving or have left all because of this principal who doesn't know how to treat the students, parents and staff with common courtesy. She yells at students, in front of the student's parents. Don't try to take your concerns to her because she won't listen. She thinks she is always right and will quote some 'policy' to try and justify her controlling nature. If Dallas ISD continues to let her stay there, then that school will be closed down. She needs to be taught how to build positive relationships with others.
1 person found this helpful

George Herbert Walker Bush Elementary School
Develops empathy: Neutral

Posted May 24, 2015
- a parent
Perfer not to say, except I am disappointed with the counselors not following up on interventions and testing of students!
1 person found this helpful


George Herbert Walker Bush Elementary School
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted May 24, 2015
- a parent
As a parent of two students one whom been there since it first opened has never experienced my child saying the staff mistreated them or heard their teachers disrespect their peers.

George Herbert Walker Bush Elementary School 4

Posted May 24, 2015
- a parent
Ive been a Patriots mom since 2011 and yes, Ive had to speak my mind to a couple of teachers, but overall my children are happy. The staff this caring only speaking for myself and the principles they do a good job!

George Herbert Walker Bush Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted May 24, 2015
- a parent
Some, but not all the teachers are effective from past experience. Some dont let the parents know of the child struggling until its to late or you find out in the next school year. They teach to fast or on a level for the advance and somewhat forget about the other students that are having a hard time comprehending.


George Herbert Walker Bush Elementary School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted May 24, 2015
- a parent
The homework is a bit too much, espescially when it comes to studying for tests. Some of the assignments arent explained enough to understand and focus on. They jump around on different materials to fast for the students to grasp understand and really succeed. Lack of preparation time for students.

George Herbert Walker Bush Elementary School
Develops grit: Neutral

Posted May 24, 2015
- a parent
In my opinion the staff is determined in seeing all the students do their best and the teachers have confidence.

George Herbert Walker Bush Elementary School
Develops respect: Agree

Posted May 24, 2015
- a parent
I have been called when students done something bad to my child. As a pareng I like how they quickly respond to parents and think of your child as if theur own.


George Herbert Walker Bush Elementary School 4

Posted April 26, 2015
- a parent
We have been at this school for a few years. Our experience has been good, because of the excellent teachers. We do have the same concerns as mentioned by the other parents about the principal, but we continue to stay because the teachers are providing what we find to be an excellent education. It is sad to hear of families leaving, simply because of the principal - as the success of the school is due to the teachers and parents - not the principal (as I agree this principal does not provide the warm reception and guidance needed in this critical role). Those teachers and families choosing to stay, do so in spite of the principal. It is our responsibility as parents to work with the teachers to insure our children receive the support needed to have a great educational experience. For those looking to educate their children at Bush Elementary - do not be afraid and do not let others speak for you. Learn for yourself. This is a good school - providing the guidance and education needed. If you are willing to ignore the principal and work directly with your teachers to help your children - then you will succeed.
1 person found this helpful

George Herbert Walker Bush Elementary School 4

Posted March 23, 2015
- a parent
My son has been at the school for four years now and we have been blessed with amazing teachers. They are truly dedicated to their craft. Couldn't be happier

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

George Herbert Walker Bush Elementary School
3939 Spring Valley Road, Addison, TX  75001
(972) 925-1700
Last modified George Herbert Walker Bush Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
George Herbert Walker Bush Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 38 reviews. Top