Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-12
Private
Addison, TX
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 34 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


36 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Trinity Christian Academy 2

Posted September 18, 2014
- a parent
This is a great school if your child excels in sports and academics. If not...forget it. They provide absolutely NO help if your child is underperforming. You must hire a tutor. No after school help. No before school help. They won't even switch teachers if it's not a good fit. It's your problem alone if your child needs a little help. Bullying is rampant. Shocking what "good Christian kids" say to each other when they think no one is looking. There is absolutely no parent involvement. Especially out of school. No parties, social gatherings or moms get togethers. You have to be nominated to be a room mom!!! Very strong alumni presence...and not in a good way. Very ostracizing and unfriendly to new families.
2 people found this helpful

Trinity Christian Academy 5

Posted September 14, 2014
- a parent
This is a great college prep school. We were previously at an "elite", secular private school. The Lower School is a loving and nurturing gem. My dd says that it is like a play date everyday. Strong art, great playground, chapel. Incredible reading program. Middle School is about building independence. Strong academics, numerous sports and fine arts. They also study Latin. High behavior standards. The US is where it all comes together. My high schoolers actually feel like the administration cares about them, individually as a person. My son is taking many honors classes in math, science, technology and English/history. It is challenging, even for gifted students. Most graduates go to UT, TAMU and Baylor, but also Princeton, Cornell, University of Virginia, Vanderbilt, Duke, etc. There is also a strong emphasis on spiritual development through reflection, mission trips and community service. It compares to the best private schools in Dallas, with one big difference: the teachers pray for the students and are committed to developing them for the glory of God.


Trinity Christian Academy 5

Posted July 26, 2014
- a parent
Excellent school. Strong academic curriculum with a core foundation in Christian values. No school is perfect but it's far better than school nearby, both public and private. As a parent, I've watched my child develop lasting friendships without the social pressures from their previous school. The academic rigor is strong while preparing students for life beyond the classroom. TCA continues to seek excellence from its students with a strong biblical foundation. Highly recommend.

Trinity Christian Academy 3

Posted July 15, 2013
- a parent
Serves the average to above average student; the caliber of students in general is far less competitive than more prestigious schools like ESD, Parish, Greenhill, Ursuline, etc. Sweet Christian families and a strong community but not a springboard to the Ivy League.

Trinity Christian Academy 3

Posted January 08, 2013
- a parent
We sent two children through TCA. It is a good school but I honestly don't think it was worth the tremendous amount of money we paid. Our priority was a Christian environment, but unfortunately many of the same problems of public school are at TCA - teachers who don't always have a student's best interest at heart, teachers who should have retired or been fired a long time ago, and teachers who do not model Christian behaviour. Also the vast majority of TCA families are wealthy, and it can become a problem to keep up if one is not also wealthy. There are also few families who really walk the walk when it comes to their faith. They talk about their faith, but then let 12 year olds watch R movies - same problems as public school friendships. I think that I might recommend to a young family with children to use all that money in a more productive way, and just keep your children very active in a good Bible church and stay very involved in their lives, and put them in a public school where they can develop empathy for those less fortunate.


Trinity Christian Academy 5

Posted January 05, 2013
- a parent
We have two children attending TCA lower school. Very happy with all aspects of the school. Teachers are very dedicated and caring. The student:teacher ratio is about half the public school ratio. Excellent use of technology with extensive use of iMac equipment in classrooms. If you want a very high quality education in a Christian environment, TCA seemed the obvious choice to us after looking closely at all of the top private schools in the Dallas area. Other considerations: TCA has lots of extracurricular activities, such as sports and performing arts. The academic standards are very high, although it may not be quite as rigorous as a specialized gifted program. They do demand, and get, top results for the capabilities of the majority of students. Be aware that the school academic and child development culture of TCA expects a lot of parental involvement. There is also an emphasis on directing the students to become independent, self-motivated. The cost is not insignificant, but comparing it to the cost of other private schools and what you get at TCA, we concluded it is a bargain. Also, you can pay monthly, with no interest charge, rather than all upfront lump-sum.
1 person found this helpful

Trinity Christian Academy 1

Posted November 14, 2012
- a parent
The bulling situation is terrible my son attending the school in 7 th grade he was bullied form day one. cried everday afterschool, spoke to the owners which are the principals and she stated that they made fun of themselves aswell, that school is a joke , parents they are there to make money .
1 person found this helpful

Trinity Christian Academy 1

Posted October 25, 2012
- a parent
Not happy with the quality of the teachers here at all. If you have a child that iis gifted- I mean truly gifted- do not send him or her here. As far as the Christian aspect of the school- it would be nice if they practiced what they preached. The teachers can be very judgmental if you don't fit into their norm. I was just told at a conference that this is very much a "niche" school and that we may be better off someplace else because my son is very shy, not an athlete and does not have friends. He is not a behavior problem and gets very good grades- but not good enough at this school. So unless you are pretty sure you fit into this very tight knit community- look at the many other quality schools that Dallas has. Also- the class sizes are way too big at the elementary level. They do not have a gifted program and are weak in fine arts, too. I have also found that in the lower school- they pretty much give them nothing but worksheets...not much in the way of creative writing or science. Also know that teacher's kids get free tuition, so all of them have kids at the school which is great for them, but maybe that is why the quality of teachers is not as competitive.


Trinity Christian Academy 5

Posted June 21, 2012
- a parent
This school features high academic standards, kindly and highly skilled teachers, and devoted parents. The Christian environment makes this school great. I'm surprised at the recent spate of one star reviews. Honestly, I don't know of an unhappy TCA family. Nothing is ever going to be perfect, but this school's strong administration and Christ-focused point of view, its challenging academics and its caring teachers combine to produce a truly impressive school environment. My three children feel devoted to TCA. I DO wish our school had an orchestra and debate squad. I wish there were a few more moderates there. Our children are blooming in this environment, so we stay. They are dearly loved and well educated at TCA. Avoid the formal admission events; they feel false. Call Mary Helen Nolan for a tour instead. We feel glad we didn't get chased away by the dog and pony show events.

Trinity Christian Academy 1

Posted January 01, 2012
- a community member
Do not believe the five star reviews they are placed here by the staff and administration. The school is overpriced and the admission is controlled by an elitist religious fanatic. Check out Prestonwood its about the same money with friendly people, new facility, and normal people.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Trinity Christian Academy
17001 Addison Rd, Addison, TX  75001
(972) 931-8325
Last modified Trinity Christian Academy is a Private school that serves grades K-12
Trinity Christian Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 36 reviews. Top