Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-12|Private
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
37 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 45 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Trinity Christian Academy 2

Posted December 04, 2015
- a student
If your child isn't not a brilliant student then TCA is not for you. In high school it is a requirement to take honors and AP english and history, for some students that's too much. Also if your child doesn't take honors and AP classes sophomore through senior year, then they will feel like they've not worked hard enough because the rest of their grade is taking harder classes. Have your child take choir or drama 1 in high school as an elective. Let me just tell you that the art program as good as it may be IS NOT worth it. All you get is teachers who are somewhat rude in their critiques, count you off for things they told you to do, and give you a ridiculous amount of homework and art papers. Go to Prestonwood or public school, your child will excel.

Trinity Christian Academy 1

Posted April 14, 2015
- a community member
As a past student I would never recommend this school to anyone. If you only went there through 4th grade it would be fine. After you reach middle school it all goes down hill. Students are bombarded with work they are not prepared for and the teachers aren't much help. The high school is the worst part. The administration is made up of egotistical people who do not care for the kids well being. Everything is weighted, cheer and drill team tryouts, ambassadors, counselor interviews, etc. They also refuse to replace teachers who are terrible at their jobs because they give the school money. The student body is a mess of cliques and bullies. Whenever I speak to people who still go there they say they wish they had the courage to leave. If you send your child here you will be trapped in the TCA "bubble". The "bubble" is the inescapable social barrier that forms there. The kids there never know what the real world is like until they graduate. Many alumni had trouble making friends after going to college because they lived and breathed TCA their entire lives. Run, don't walk, run away from this school.


Trinity Christian Academy 2

Posted September 18, 2014
- a parent
This is a great school if your child excels in sports and academics. If not...forget it. They provide absolutely NO help if your child is underperforming. You must hire a tutor. No after school help. No before school help. They won't even switch teachers if it's not a good fit. It's your problem alone if your child needs a little help. Bullying is rampant. Shocking what "good Christian kids" say to each other when they think no one is looking. There is absolutely no parent involvement. Especially out of school. No parties, social gatherings or moms get togethers. You have to be nominated to be a room mom!!! Very strong alumni presence...and not in a good way. Very ostracizing and unfriendly to new families.

Trinity Christian Academy 5

Posted September 14, 2014
- a parent
This is a great college prep school. We were previously at an "elite", secular private school. The Lower School is a loving and nurturing gem. My dd says that it is like a play date everyday. Strong art, great playground, chapel. Incredible reading program. Middle School is about building independence. Strong academics, numerous sports and fine arts. They also study Latin. High behavior standards. The US is where it all comes together. My high schoolers actually feel like the administration cares about them, individually as a person. My son is taking many honors classes in math, science, technology and English/history. It is challenging, even for gifted students. Most graduates go to UT, TAMU and Baylor, but also Princeton, Cornell, University of Virginia, Vanderbilt, Duke, etc. There is also a strong emphasis on spiritual development through reflection, mission trips and community service. It compares to the best private schools in Dallas, with one big difference: the teachers pray for the students and are committed to developing them for the glory of God.

Trinity Christian Academy 5

Posted July 26, 2014
- a parent
Excellent school. Strong academic curriculum with a core foundation in Christian values. No school is perfect but it's far better than school nearby, both public and private. As a parent, I've watched my child develop lasting friendships without the social pressures from their previous school. The academic rigor is strong while preparing students for life beyond the classroom. TCA continues to seek excellence from its students with a strong biblical foundation. Highly recommend.


Trinity Christian Academy 3

Posted July 15, 2013
- a parent
Serves the average to above average student; the caliber of students in general is far less competitive than more prestigious schools like ESD, Parish, Greenhill, Ursuline, etc. Sweet Christian families and a strong community but not a springboard to the Ivy League.

Trinity Christian Academy 3

Posted January 08, 2013
- a parent
We sent two children through TCA. It is a good school but I honestly don't think it was worth the tremendous amount of money we paid. Our priority was a Christian environment, but unfortunately many of the same problems of public school are at TCA - teachers who don't always have a student's best interest at heart, teachers who should have retired or been fired a long time ago, and teachers who do not model Christian behaviour. Also the vast majority of TCA families are wealthy, and it can become a problem to keep up if one is not also wealthy. There are also few families who really walk the walk when it comes to their faith. They talk about their faith, but then let 12 year olds watch R movies - same problems as public school friendships. I think that I might recommend to a young family with children to use all that money in a more productive way, and just keep your children very active in a good Bible church and stay very involved in their lives, and put them in a public school where they can develop empathy for those less fortunate.

Trinity Christian Academy 5

Posted January 05, 2013
- a parent
We have two children attending TCA lower school. Very happy with all aspects of the school. Teachers are very dedicated and caring. The student:teacher ratio is about half the public school ratio. Excellent use of technology with extensive use of iMac equipment in classrooms. If you want a very high quality education in a Christian environment, TCA seemed the obvious choice to us after looking closely at all of the top private schools in the Dallas area. Other considerations: TCA has lots of extracurricular activities, such as sports and performing arts. The academic standards are very high, although it may not be quite as rigorous as a specialized gifted program. They do demand, and get, top results for the capabilities of the majority of students. Be aware that the school academic and child development culture of TCA expects a lot of parental involvement. There is also an emphasis on directing the students to become independent, self-motivated. The cost is not insignificant, but comparing it to the cost of other private schools and what you get at TCA, we concluded it is a bargain. Also, you can pay monthly, with no interest charge, rather than all upfront lump-sum.


Trinity Christian Academy 5

Posted December 29, 2012
- a parent
We LOVE second grade at Trinity Christian Academy. We were blessed with a loving and nurturing teacher who now has my child believing that getting a new book is the best present ever. Now, I have a child who loves to read and is reading many grades above level. My child has learned to spell, write, add/subtract and do word problems really well. My child is learning the basics, which is what elementary education should be about. On top of that, my child attends specials classes, like art, music, spanish, and computer. Most importantly, he is learning God's word and is being taught good values. It is be the best place for our child at this point in life. I have had limited interaction with the principal of the elementary school. He comes across as a man of integrity, who truly loves children and guiding them in the right direction. Unfortunately, I cannot say this of other educators that I have observed in the past. A great, dedicated leader is key! P.S., if I could have one special request, I would ask that elementary science be broken out as a specials, rather than included with the core class.

Trinity Christian Academy 1

Posted November 14, 2012
- a parent
The bulling situation is terrible my son attending the school in 7 th grade he was bullied form day one. cried everday afterschool, spoke to the owners which are the principals and she stated that they made fun of themselves aswell, that school is a joke , parents they are there to make money .

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Trinity Christian Academy
17001 Addison Rd, Addison, TX  75001
(972) 931-8325
Last modified Trinity Christian Academy is a Private school that serves grades K-12
Trinity Christian Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 45 reviews. Top