Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-12|Private
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
40 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 52 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Trinity Christian Academy
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted June 21, 2016
- a parent
At a time when manners and civil discourse seem to have been abandoned by society, the community works to teach courtesy, manners, and how to disagree in an acceptable and respectful manner.

Trinity Christian Academy
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted June 21, 2016
- a parent
Mission and service projects are an important part of school life. Students have multiple opportunities to minister to other both within and outside the TCA community.


Trinity Christian Academy
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted June 21, 2016
- a parent
Activities, classes, and even discipline plans are designed to develop the students' character. The desire of the community is to contribute to the development of the whole child.

Trinity Christian Academy 5

Posted June 21, 2016
- a parent
The teachers and staff took a personal interest in my children - encouraging them to do their best and holding them to high standards academically, socially, and spiritually. It was worth every penny spent!

Trinity Christian Academy
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted April 16, 2016
- a community member
In sports, academics and fine arts my teachers and coaches held me to a high standard, teaching me how to live a life of integrity. The way the discipline program is designed is to reward honesty and integrity. If a student confesses to the administration that they broke a rule, including class A (the worst) rules, expulsion is out of the question. Punishment will still be given, decided by a committee of students, in a fair system.


Trinity Christian Academy 5

Posted April 16, 2016
- a community member
This school completely prepared me for the college curriculum. I am finishing up my freshman year of college easily with a 4.0 GPA taking 17 hours. Every step of the way the teachers and faculty encouraged me to excel, to dig deeper into concepts, and really understand how to solve problems. Each and every one of my teachers were enthusiastic about their subject and about making sure I understood each lesson. They were available and willing to come early and stay late to help me succeed in their class. I was not only prepared academically but also spiritual. I learned how to apply each concept I learn and relate that to how God has created and sustained the earth. I feel completely confident in the Word and because of the community I had at Trinity, i was encouraged to find a similar group of solid christian friends in college. However, not the entire student body is strong in their faith, but that is to be expected. If you are looking for a school with perfect people, that is not here, frankly that is not anywhere. Yes, bullying is there, but the faculty takes this very seriously, and most of the time when people "get away with bullying" it is because nobody tells someone. But this is a school with faculty and staff who love the Lord and pour out into each of the students. I learned so much about grace, faith, and love by the stories and actions of my teachers. When I have a family, I will do whatever I can in my power to make sure my children attend this school. Trinity Christian Academy prepared me academically, spiritually, and in character to thrive on a secular campus and make movements for the kingdom of God on my campus.

Trinity Christian Academy 1

Posted March 02, 2016
- a student
Elementary school and middle school were both fine. The teachers were great, and the other students were friendly. However, the high school is absolutely miserable for anybody who isn't rich or athletic. It often causes huge amounts of anxiety from both the academic and social pressures. The academics cater to a very small group of people;most find it too difficult, and a few others find it boring or too easy. Most the teachers are helpful, but people in the administration often pick on certain students who don't fit their mold of a perfect TCA student. It's full of brainwashed, elitist, hypocritical students who have a "holier than thou" attitude. Religion is forced on students constantly in an extremely specific way, and anybody who doesn't fit their idea of a Christian is outed by their peers. The administration is brainwashing the entire student body to be an exclusive "Jesus club." Voicing an opinion different from your peers will result in an onslaught of insults. the majority of students end up being slapped in the face with reality when they go off into the real world. TCA is not teaching Jesus's message of love and grace for everybody, but they are promoting a completely different message through their words and actions. Quite a few people have been turned away from the faith by TCA's approach rather than drawn to it. Overall, this school is a horrible choice for anybody who doesn't fit their religious mold and isn't smart, athletic, and rich, so stay far away.

Trinity Christian Academy 2

Posted December 04, 2015
- a student
If your child isn't not a brilliant student then TCA is not for you. In high school it is a requirement to take honors and AP english and history, for some students that's too much. Also if your child doesn't take honors and AP classes sophomore through senior year, then they will feel like they've not worked hard enough because the rest of their grade is taking harder classes. Have your child take choir or drama 1 in high school as an elective. Let me just tell you that the art program as good as it may be IS NOT worth it. All you get is teachers who are somewhat rude in their critiques, count you off for things they told you to do, and give you a ridiculous amount of homework and art papers. Go to Prestonwood or public school, your child will excel.


Trinity Christian Academy 1

Posted April 14, 2015
- a community member
As a past student I would never recommend this school to anyone. If you only went there through 4th grade it would be fine. After you reach middle school it all goes down hill. Students are bombarded with work they are not prepared for and the teachers aren't much help. The high school is the worst part. The administration is made up of egotistical people who do not care for the kids well being. Everything is weighted, cheer and drill team tryouts, ambassadors, counselor interviews, etc. They also refuse to replace teachers who are terrible at their jobs because they give the school money. The student body is a mess of cliques and bullies. Whenever I speak to people who still go there they say they wish they had the courage to leave. If you send your child here you will be trapped in the TCA "bubble". The "bubble" is the inescapable social barrier that forms there. The kids there never know what the real world is like until they graduate. Many alumni had trouble making friends after going to college because they lived and breathed TCA their entire lives. Run, don't walk, run away from this school.

Trinity Christian Academy 2

Posted September 18, 2014
- a parent
This is a great school if your child excels in sports and academics. If not...forget it. They provide absolutely NO help if your child is underperforming. You must hire a tutor. No after school help. No before school help. They won't even switch teachers if it's not a good fit. It's your problem alone if your child needs a little help. Bullying is rampant. Shocking what "good Christian kids" say to each other when they think no one is looking. There is absolutely no parent involvement. Especially out of school. No parties, social gatherings or moms get togethers. You have to be nominated to be a room mom!!! Very strong alumni presence...and not in a good way. Very ostracizing and unfriendly to new families.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Trinity Christian Academy
17001 Addison Rd, Addison, TX  75001
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 52 reviews. (972) 931-8325
Last modified Trinity Christian Academy is a Private school that serves grades K-12
Top