Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 14 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


15 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Valley Christian Heritage School 5

Posted June 11, 2014
- a parent
I wrote the previous review and I forgot to add that convenience should not be on your mind. I work and live in McAllen, but I drive to Alamo without a moment's hesitation because I want what is best for my child. If we can't be inconvenienced for our children than who will we sacrifice for? Please excuse the typo in my earlier review. It should say "take it from someone"...

Valley Christian Heritage School 5

Posted February 18, 2014
- a parent
This is an outstanding school. One of the best decisions my husband and i have made for our kids (were both public ed. Teachers). Rules and policies are seriously enforced, so that's why it works. Believe me, public schools do not follow this. That's why students are passed and get away from any disciplinary actions. My kids are doing great, they are happy, and best of all being influenced with good morals.


Valley Christian Heritage School 5

Posted August 22, 2012
- a community member
Most private schools tend to accept children from middle class homes, or people with money no matter the source This school attract parents that are of like minds as far as values are concerned. You will find a mixture of financial conditions among the parents, but they are united in wanting the best for their children. You will find many parent that are teachers in the public school system and it would be more convenient to take their children with them. Why do you think they would do that if it was not worth it?. Even if you are not a Christian it must be a good thing to be academically viable in today's society. Are we going to continue to import all of our educated people from over seas? Stop worrying about the threat of Islam start concerning ourselves with poor parenting and lack of leadership in our homes. Valley Christian Works with the family of ally children not just the gifted kid from well to do homes.

Valley Christian Heritage School 1

Posted April 14, 2011
- a community member
dont limit your child! this place is nothing what you get in the real world. The woman who terrorizes this place like the fuhrer has one goal in mind; limit your outside connection....and go to her prized affiliated Christian University. The "standardized" tests are dated from mid to early 90's at best. The text books are mid 80's. The teachers are great people there, they are just limited by the VCHS dictator on what they are able to offer children.

Valley Christian Heritage School 4

Posted September 23, 2010
- a teacher
I enjoyed working at VCHS The classes were small. The students were respectful and though some were below grade level they worked hard and caught up most parents were supportive of my efforts


Valley Christian Heritage School 1

Posted September 16, 2010
- a community member
I do not recommend this school for any student. When my parents withdrew me (which took an attorney) I was in the seventh grade and we soon found out I was testing at a fifth grade level. I have since had to complete 5th through 9th grade in three years. My school books at this school were not up to date; with some dating back to the 70s (my other actually had the same spelling book when she was a child). The principal was cruel to students and played favorites. Teachers were scared of the principal and if they were not they were made so miserable they quit. I had a severe family crisis before I left and have since found out that the principal told several students what had happened to me; causing me great embarrassment. I attribute my success after leaving there to my parents and McAllen ISD.

Valley Christian Heritage School 1

Posted September 13, 2010
- a parent
There is nothing wrong with this school except for the superintendent. Too much conflict of interest with administation and board members (Family). This school will never grow due to current adminstration refusing to use technology. (Still doing everything by hand and not computerized.) A classroom full of computers and not using them. Science lab full of brand new equipment and gas not hooked up. Choose another school.

Valley Christian Heritage School 5

Posted July 19, 2009
- a parent
I am very happy with this school. My child had severe attention deficit and here at this school they have been able to work with her. She is not on medication, but instead she is succeeding with the professional insight of the teachers at this school. And, she loves this school too.


Valley Christian Heritage School 5

Posted January 07, 2009
- a student
I LOVED LOVED LOVED my experience at VCHS. I am a former student who transferred over to public school after just 6 years. I truly loved all the activities that were done. They also had high academic standards which helped me tremendously in life.

Valley Christian Heritage School 1

Posted December 21, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Valley Christian Heritage School
932 North Alamo Road, Alamo, TX  78516
(956) 787-9743
Last modified Valley Christian Heritage School is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Valley Christian Heritage School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top