Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
14 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 24 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Mary Evans Elementary School
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted October 01, 2015
- a parent
They need to lead by example for this to happen. You can't say one thing and act in a different manner. Kids are too smart and will see the hypocrisy.

Mary Evans Elementary School 2

Posted October 01, 2015
- a parent
This school has a very cold atmosphere, just walking into the building feels like walking into a funeral parlor. The principal is not visible; my child has been here several years and I've never seen her. I have to pry information from teacher for extra curricular information and they act like it's a burden. I wouldn't recommend this school; the saving grace is that the parents and students are generally well mannered and intelligent.


Mary Evans Elementary School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted June 11, 2015
- a parent
Depending on the teacher, one teacher may give the kids 30 mins to do homework in class, while another grade does not. Then, that evening, I have two kids at home. one with no homework as he/she has completed it in class, and the other has an hour or more of homework, because she/he has not been given the opportunity to do her homework in school.

Mary Evans Elementary School 3

Posted June 11, 2015
- a parent
This school has gradually declined since it's opening. The teachers are great and most seem to care about the students and are doing their best. I feel my kids are getting a good education. However, never are they recognized for excelling academically or in any aspect of their schooling. Where other schools are having awards ceremonies and pep rallies to recognize kids who excel, this school sends them home at the end of the year in an envelop like it's top secret. There's no excitement, no hype, no honor in being a standout. The Admin, both Principal and Assist. Principal, seem out of touch and are seldom out greeting kids as they enter the building or during the day. Kids are scared to death of the Assistant Principal as she always has a sour look on her face and snaps at them if the kids talk. The extracurricular activities put on by the PTA and school admin are mediocre. School Dance in Elementary, I feel the dances should be left to Middle schools and high schools, this puts undue pressure on kids as "date awareness" begins forming in the 3rd, 4th, and 5th grades. School policy and rules are selectively followed depending on who is breaking the rules. Overall, good education, but so sad to watch the decline over the 7 years it has been open.

Mary Evans Elementary School 5

Posted March 17, 2015
- a parent
No school is perfect and you cannot count on every teacher that you get being a superstar. With that said, our experience over the last several years has not been what some of the negative reviews on this site imply. We have seen a principal that cares about all of the students and tries very hard to do what she believes is in their best interest. We have been blown away with the special education support we have received.


Mary Evans Elementary School 1

Posted February 12, 2015
- a parent
Bad school teacher and principal. Students can not explain to their teacher. When parent spoke with principal just want to protect teacher and never what kids. Terrible school.

Mary Evans Elementary School 3

Posted December 11, 2014
- a parent
I echo the lack of diversity in the teaching staff. I also feel as though teachers favor students that are gifted and lose interest in challenges. The gifted children need to be acknowledged, but the children with learning disabilities or challenges need extra attention as well. I feel like Evans drops the ball there. It's a good school, but there is still much to be learned here by the prima donna staff and PTA. The PTA is a small version of "The Real Housewives of Allen", they are clicky and unfriendly, you must engage them to be a part of your child's academics.

Mary Evans Elementary School 2

Posted May 29, 2014
- a parent
Our experience was very nice but academics were below par so we had to move out. We are in Brinker Elementary now and very happy with standard of education in Plano ISD. Its great to see kids getting challenged and enjoying it.


Mary Evans Elementary School 4

Posted May 07, 2014
- a parent
This is an incredible school with incredible teachers and staff. I wish there was a little diversity in the teaching staff.

Mary Evans Elementary School 4

Posted March 17, 2013
- a community member
My Granddaughter is new to the school, Looking forward to a good report with attending 4th grade at Mary Ellen Elementary school

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mary Evans Elementary School
1225 Walnut Springs Drive, Allen, TX  75013
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. (972) 747-3373
Last modified Mary Evans Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top