Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
10-12
Public
Allen, TX
Students enrolled: 4,416

4 stars
Based on 45 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


50 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Allen High School 5

Posted September 30, 2014
- a community member
This is a blue ribbon school and one of the best out there, not sure why or how the rating went down now ...

Allen High School 1

Posted June 22, 2014
- a parent
Our oldest went there and two younger ones went to Plano West. There is a night and day diffrence between two schools. Allen is too focused on buildings, football and stadiums. Academics are barely average. You can look at their high school SAT, ACT, Science Fair, Presidential Scholars, TIP, National Merit Scholars statistics. Nothing matches with the schools of same demographics. I don't understand how Highland Park, Plano, Coppell and Southlake can do so well but Allen can't. We were very disappointed.
1 person found this helpful


Allen High School 5

Posted April 23, 2014
- a parent
Based on the Texas Education Agency report I have rated it high. Number of students graduated and they have excelled in SAT

Allen High School 5

Posted April 11, 2014
- a parent
We moved here from Frisco school system and couldn't be happier! Although the school is large, you would never know it. The teachers give each student the attention they need and know all their student's names almost immediately. The class room sizes are smaller than average and the programs offered are second to none! I didn't realize how little Frisco had to offer until coming to Allen. There is something for everyone, way more than your "traditional" high school. The thought that someone would get lost here due to the size couldn't be further from the true. I wish we had moved here during the earlier years and hadn't waited so long. Love Allen High School!

Allen High School 5

Posted April 11, 2014
- a parent
We love everything Allen! The high school offers so many opportunities for every child. We couldn't be happier!


Allen High School 5

Posted March 14, 2014
- a parent
Allen and all of it's HUGE growth spurts has been doing some well needed updates city wide! We have amazing new roads, great new high school, awesome public library, great police dept, expanded fire dept, updated city hall, the schools rate? got one child with Adhd and dyslexia (serious time about read problems attended to), the other AP student Got equal time of concern from AISD!!... Allen HS is also home to the largest marching band and orchestra! Some of the best equipped computer labs, science labs and academic availability known. 98% growth rate! Would pass any app to grow a city! Allen did not even"give in" to the Dart system and it's $ hungry ways. They found a more comparable establishment to support public transport. My 2 cents on that.. the new public bus should stop by the high school!! Kids looking for jobs. Gripes? Allen is highly competitive on ALL realms! PS.. putting a dyslexic//adhd child in the new classroom environment of self or reverse education... not a good idea!

Allen High School 5

Posted March 03, 2014
- a parent
It offers A LOT of options in a variety of areas for every student. From agricultural to arts, medical to engineering fields ... I would say the only one missing so far is aviation and I am sure they would consider it soon as well.

Allen High School 1

Posted March 01, 2014
- a parent
Now that we have crack stadium. The money should have been used on a new high school instead


Allen High School 5

Posted February 28, 2014
- a student
I love this school. We have a big population in our school, but that's also the reason the school has a number of programs. Its academic standards are very high and give the most opportunity in the area.

Allen High School 5

Posted February 28, 2014
- a student
My school is the best with the best opportunities! I have multiple scholarship offers because of the education I have gotten here.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Allen High School
300 Rivercrest Boulevard, Allen, TX  75002
(972) 727-0400
Last modified Allen High School is a Public school that serves grades 10-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Allen High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 50 reviews. Top