Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
24 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 37 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Flossie Floyd Green Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted September 29, 2015
- a parent
Thanks to all of the teachers for spending countless hours (after school, at night, and on weekends) to plan the best and most effective lessons for the students! Thank you for caring that much!

Flossie Floyd Green Elementary School 5

Posted September 29, 2015
- a parent
Green Elementary is an inspiring school based on a culture of kindness and compassion. The entire staff is devoted to meeting the learning needs of ALL students! I would recommend this school to anyone looking for a place that truly cares about the success of students...now and in the future!


Flossie Floyd Green Elementary School 5

Posted May 31, 2015
- a parent
My daughter spent one year at Green because she was in 6 th grade. We had just moved here to Allen from out of state. Normally, this would be middle school and I was worried she would be set back a year. She actually benefitted from the small class sizes and extra attention from teachers. After school tutoring was offered at no extra cost. Being in the small environment she has gained confidence in herself. I don't like that some 6 th grade teachers were moved up from primary grades and are used to younger students and treated 12 years like 8 years old. Overall, we were please with this school.

Flossie Floyd Green Elementary School
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted May 30, 2015
- a parent
No, I know one parent pulling her kids from the school because of bullying. The parent requested her child be moved to another class and was denied.

Flossie Floyd Green Elementary School 1

Posted May 30, 2015
- a parent
The principal of the school is the problem. All lip service and no follow through. Many students are leaving for lack of leadership of the school. I have not met a teacher yet that is passionate about teaching students. After talking with principal and her promising to get back with us in a couple of days with resolution to our issue, no call. We called again and another faculty member apologized for the principal "dropping the ball" on our situation. One school year has gone by for my son with promises but no follow through from anyone at the school. Another parent is taking her kids out of school for bullying. That parent requested her son to change classrooms to get away from the bullying and it was not done. We don't want to leave the school, we would like positive changes to occur.


Flossie Floyd Green Elementary School 5

Posted February 10, 2014
- a parent
Our schools in Allen are awesome! We researched many school districts before choosing Allen. We moved here for the school system, and we couldn't be happier. We have great investment in technology, beginning in the early school grades. The teachers are very responsive and supportive. WE LOVE ALLEN!

Flossie Floyd Green Elementary School 2

Posted February 08, 2014
- a parent
Teacher is worst and does not pay attention to kids, teacher is getting "old" and comes to work just for paycheck but no passion to teach. Teacher is in her own "world" and does not involve in the class, she scares the kids with "sign filder" and their greatest accomplishment is NOT getting a signed folder. I wish the teacher understands that a generation's future is in her hands and takes pride in doing the job.

Flossie Floyd Green Elementary School 2

Posted January 23, 2014
- a parent
This school is not equipped for average kids. My kids are very good students who rarely get in trouble but that doesn't seem to be good enough. When I work at the school I hear the teachers praise the students who have parents who work as ER doctors or local surgeons. One teacher even commented on how much harder it must be for that child to get homework done with her daddy busy saving so many lives. Kudos to that daddy but seriously? Are there no other good people out there with busy schedules we can teach our children to admire? And why does the parents occupation need to be discussed in the everyday classroom setting? There's far too much concern at this school with image, money and ego. I prefer my child in a superior academic setting.


Flossie Floyd Green Elementary School 5

Posted January 16, 2014
- a parent
This is my son's second year at this school. We moved from NY and he started first grade in Ms. Levy's class... she is AMAZING! We were so blessed to have her, she made the transition so easy. This year he s in Ms. Courtney's class and she is a pleasure as well. He has excelled so much. I don't really understand the reviews about unkind parents and staff. I have never had a problem with anyone here, they are always very kind and genuine. I guess if your still in a high school mindset and looking for BFFs at Parent Teacher meetings you may have an issue, but as an adult I rate this school a 5!

Flossie Floyd Green Elementary School 2

Posted July 24, 2013
- a parent
My son attended this school years ago and we are still dealing with issues from Green elementary that we caused by the cliques. When we first moved into the neighborhood, there was no room in the Green Classes so we had to shuttle him to Norton Elementary. They we very welcoming and team teachers we motivated and caring. Green staff and parents were snooty and only interested in their own self, rather than the students as a whole. Beware!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Flossie Floyd Green Elementary School
1315 Comanche Drive, Allen, TX  75013
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 37 reviews. (972) 727-0370
Last modified Flossie Floyd Green Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top