Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
7-8
Public
Alvarado, TX
Students enrolled: 527

4 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


11 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Alvarado J High School 5

Posted December 13, 2013
- a parent
This seems like a jealous parent is posting something on here not letting something go. That is so sad. Sounds like she wants to try and make bad posts to bring the overall rating down. :(

Alvarado J High School 5

Posted December 04, 2013
- a community member
this school has been the best for me. You can go to any teacher and they will give you the help you need. Our principal greets all of us everyday with a smile and I know she wants us here. She helped me when people were being mean. She helps everybody. She got me involved in Wiz Quiz and now I feel good.


Alvarado J High School 5

Posted December 04, 2013
- a teacher
Lately, all I have heard are people bashing this school. I felt my heart lift when I read the comments here. It is not a profession I entered to be wealthy. There are countless hours and dollars spent outside the school day by teachers and staff to make the learning experience a little better for the kids. I have spent my entire teaching career, 29 years, at this school. We are a family and kids that enter our doors are our children, too. We protect, support, celebrate, and cry with them while they are here and for years after they are gone.

Alvarado J High School 5

Posted December 03, 2013
- a teacher
The administrators, office staff and faculty at AJHS are the most caring group of people. We put our students first. Most of our staff will use their lunch times to sit with students to get them caught up on work or tutor them. All of them do whatever it takes to help children succeed, feel safe and develop into young adults. Parents get upset with office staff at times, but please remember we are here to keep your students safe at all times. We do not mean to upset you but we are following procedures. At every campus we are always seeking ways to improve and do what is best for our students success.

Alvarado J High School 4

Posted February 28, 2012
- a parent
We are new to the area but I already see a huge difference between this school and the former school in the same county (different city). That is a really good thing. So far the teachers and special education staff seem very accessible and helpful. Most understand our frustration and are working with us on our needs. It is very much appreciated. So far so good and everyday I speak to a staff member I feel more and more confident they are going to help my kids be succesful and that is a great feeling. I am not familiar with parental involvement yet, But i would like to be a part of anything I can and hope we are notified of such things to come. The principal seems very caring and helpful as well. She seems to understand where we are coming from.


Alvarado J High School 4

Posted May 14, 2009
- a student
this scool is very understanding and supportive.

Alvarado J High School 4

Posted October 16, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Alvarado J High School 4

Posted September 20, 2008
- a community member
I work at Alvarado Jr. High, and I havent been there long. But I have witnessed great leadership, Teachers do care about the kids and do everything in their power to make all kids successful. I do see lack of parent involvement. Some parents do not care enough to make sure their child is successful as well. And as you know it takes EVERYONE to help kids become successful.


Alvarado J High School 1

Posted August 04, 2005
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Alvarado J High School 2

Posted July 26, 2005
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Alvarado J High School
P O Box 387, Alvarado, TX  76009
(817) 783-6840
Last modified Alvarado J High School is a Public school that serves grades 7-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Alvarado J High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top