Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 23 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


24 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


G W Harby J High School 5

Posted June 24, 2013
- a parent
My eldest child attends Harby. My child is in the Pre-AP program and is doing very well. He is challenged by the curriculum, and his teachers are attentive to his needs and to my concerns. The current principal is an exceptional leader and role model for the students. She obviously cares a great deal about her students, and the kids respond to her. I am very happy with the education my child is receiving at Harby. He has had a wonderful junior-high experience and actually looks forward to going to school. The extracurricular activities are also varied and provide him with many fun, educational experiences. For any parent reading these reviews and who are concerned with those reviews that mention bullying as a problem, please realize that those reviews were written when Harby had a different principal and different leadership. The current administration is wonderful!

G W Harby J High School 1

Posted March 19, 2012
- a parent
My daughter is attending here as well. We moved here from out if state and she has been bullied since her second day. The teachers don't remove her they turn a blind eye and pretend they don't see it or hear it. Not sure what is worse :(


G W Harby J High School 1

Posted August 24, 2011
- a parent
My son went here for 6th and 7th grade. He was also bullied by students and two teachers. Like a pp said, he was isolated and blamed for being bullied. He transferred to another Alvin school for 8th grade and was much more successful. AISD needs to clean house at Harby and hire teachers and staff that care about their students.

G W Harby J High School 4

Posted April 22, 2011
- a parent
My daughter is a 6th grader in the MAP program and we have been very pleased with the school. The new principal is very approachable and very active with parents, teachers, and students. The MAP program has been truly beneficial for my gifted child. Few school districts offer as such a program for GT kids. Thank you!

G W Harby J High School 2

Posted April 13, 2010
- a parent
Harbys way to deal with bullying is to remove the child being bullied from the class to basic isolation and not address the actual problem. My child is being punished for being bullied and reporting numerous times this is going on to no avail.He is in 2 map classes in 6th grade and has maintained a straight a average until the bullying which started at the first of the yearbecame worst.This is a very serious concern for myself and family.Please have your kids be careful they are not safe at harby.


G W Harby J High School 4

Posted November 19, 2009
- a community member
i'm an Alumni of this school, currently in the 10th grade, and i think this school was just great. way better than Alvin High School. at Harby, i actually learned things instead of always worrying about dress code. now, at Alvin High School, i have to worry about Dress code more than schoolwork. teachers need to step it up and think more about the curriculum than dress code.

G W Harby J High School 0
no rating

Posted November 12, 2009
- a student
Thank you so much out of most teachers for helping me lear alot. Especially Mrs.Unruh....i've learned so much about the human body, alot for my job i'll be doing!!!!

G W Harby J High School 5

Posted October 25, 2009
- a student
i am a map student, cheerleader, actress, percussionist, and volleyball player and harby junior high does not make it hard to do everythin that i want to do! Mr.DeLeon is the absolute coolest teacher the word will ever know. I will have him for the next 3 years and he defintely deserves teacher of the year!!!!


G W Harby J High School 5

Posted April 21, 2009
- a student
what a school. what a place. i love it here i've been here for 1 year and its now my home away from home! if your going to a new school in alvin come here!!!

G W Harby J High School 5

Posted March 03, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

G W Harby J High School
301 East House Street, Alvin, TX  77511
(281) 585-6626
Last modified G W Harby J High School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
G W Harby J High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. Top