Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
23 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 24 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


G W Harby J High School 5

Posted June 24, 2013
- a parent
My eldest child attends Harby. My child is in the Pre-AP program and is doing very well. He is challenged by the curriculum, and his teachers are attentive to his needs and to my concerns. The current principal is an exceptional leader and role model for the students. She obviously cares a great deal about her students, and the kids respond to her. I am very happy with the education my child is receiving at Harby. He has had a wonderful junior-high experience and actually looks forward to going to school. The extracurricular activities are also varied and provide him with many fun, educational experiences. For any parent reading these reviews and who are concerned with those reviews that mention bullying as a problem, please realize that those reviews were written when Harby had a different principal and different leadership. The current administration is wonderful!

G W Harby J High School 1

Posted March 19, 2012
- a parent
My daughter is attending here as well. We moved here from out if state and she has been bullied since her second day. The teachers don't remove her they turn a blind eye and pretend they don't see it or hear it. Not sure what is worse :(


G W Harby J High School 1

Posted August 24, 2011
- a parent
My son went here for 6th and 7th grade. He was also bullied by students and two teachers. Like a pp said, he was isolated and blamed for being bullied. He transferred to another Alvin school for 8th grade and was much more successful. AISD needs to clean house at Harby and hire teachers and staff that care about their students.

G W Harby J High School 4

Posted April 22, 2011
- a parent
My daughter is a 6th grader in the MAP program and we have been very pleased with the school. The new principal is very approachable and very active with parents, teachers, and students. The MAP program has been truly beneficial for my gifted child. Few school districts offer as such a program for GT kids. Thank you!

G W Harby J High School 2

Posted April 13, 2010
- a parent
Harbys way to deal with bullying is to remove the child being bullied from the class to basic isolation and not address the actual problem. My child is being punished for being bullied and reporting numerous times this is going on to no avail.He is in 2 map classes in 6th grade and has maintained a straight a average until the bullying which started at the first of the yearbecame worst.This is a very serious concern for myself and family.Please have your kids be careful they are not safe at harby.


G W Harby J High School 4

Posted November 19, 2009
- a community member
i'm an Alumni of this school, currently in the 10th grade, and i think this school was just great. way better than Alvin High School. at Harby, i actually learned things instead of always worrying about dress code. now, at Alvin High School, i have to worry about Dress code more than schoolwork. teachers need to step it up and think more about the curriculum than dress code.

G W Harby J High School
no rating

Posted November 12, 2009
- a student
Thank you so much out of most teachers for helping me lear alot. Especially Mrs.Unruh....i've learned so much about the human body, alot for my job i'll be doing!!!!

G W Harby J High School 5

Posted October 25, 2009
- a student
i am a map student, cheerleader, actress, percussionist, and volleyball player and harby junior high does not make it hard to do everythin that i want to do! Mr.DeLeon is the absolute coolest teacher the word will ever know. I will have him for the next 3 years and he defintely deserves teacher of the year!!!!


G W Harby J High School 5

Posted April 21, 2009
- a student
what a school. what a place. i love it here i've been here for 1 year and its now my home away from home! if your going to a new school in alvin come here!!!

G W Harby J High School 5

Posted December 02, 2008
- a student
i was a student at Harby Junior High and i loved it, they had some of the coolest teachers ever especially for the map program, like mrs. deleon, mrs. whitlock, mr.deleon, mrs.ruiz, mr. leal, there awesome, even though i got my mountain dew taken away in class forr being to hyper, the school is great, lunches are wonderful, and all the school sponsered events arent that bad the dances are alright, and the talent shows actually have talent in them, its awesome being a student at harby junior high. -kyle sepulveda

Nearby schools

G W Harby J High School
301 East House Street, Alvin, TX  77511
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. (281) 585-6626
Last modified G W Harby J High School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top