Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

5 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


11 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Amarillo High School 5

Posted May 13, 2011
- a parent
I have two students that currently attend AHS. Both of them have had an excellent education with fantastic teachers. I wouldn't want them to go to any other school in Amarillo. They will both have one year of college credit when they graduate. Their teachers go over and above to ensure a quality education.

Amarillo High School 2

Posted February 09, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Amarillo High School 0
no rating

Posted November 03, 2009
- a parent
Best high school in Amarillo,Great teachers,principals and students! A++++++

Amarillo High School 5

Posted May 16, 2009
- a parent
I am an Amarillo High School graduate and I was a low average student. I left the area after graduating and started college. I was amazed at how easy college was. I graduated with a 3.9 GPA. AHS prepared me in ways that I couldnt imagine.

Amarillo High School 5

Posted December 26, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Amarillo High School 5

Posted July 30, 2007
- a parent
The instrumental music programs are incredible and the benefits my children have received from them are truly the highest level!

Amarillo High School 4

Posted March 13, 2006
- a parent
Freshmen have a difficult time adjusting to the rigorous demands of their classes. Little homework is assigned, yet tests and exams are very difficult. I would like to see more teachers offer a variety of ways for students to show their mastery of a subject rather than simple knowledge-based tests. Many of the projects my kids have done looked more like art projects than a project for the subject they were for. Students need choices on projects as not all students are artistically inclined. Overall, this is a good school, but there should be some improvements made in the academic areas. Extra-curricular activities are top-knotch, though, with a lot of variety and something for just about everyone.

Amarillo High School 4

Posted October 27, 2005
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Amarillo High School 5

Posted October 11, 2005
- a parent
Amarillo High has a great combination of academics and extracurricular activities. Graduates do well in difficult college settings. The sports teams are the finest in the city, and compete well state wide.

Amarillo High School 5

Posted July 14, 2005
- a student
Overall, this school is very accomodating to it's students. With a generous academic program, it's convenient for students to choose their academic path with the option to study courses closely related to their post-school dreams. It offers AP courses with college credentials, and an International Bacculearette program, too. The students are very competetive in the 5 choirs, 3 bands, and numerous intramural sports programs, including tennis, golf, and swimming, aside from the standard basketball, volleyball, and of course, football. The PTA is very active, as a whole, trying to provide safe atmospheres in school events, and of course, raising money to help the school. All in all, Amarillo High is a wonderful place to send your students.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Amarillo High School
4225 Danbury Street, Amarillo, TX  79109
(806) 326-2000
Last modified Amarillo High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Amarillo High School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top