Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Palo Duro High School

Public | 9-12 | 1975 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 30, 2011

im going to palo duro and i can really say its horrible everyone there is pregnant the teachers dont care about who learns and who dont there is no modivation at all all there is is drugs and pregnancy why would you want your kid to go here?! and we have the worst scores ever! keep that in mind if your thinking about sending your kid here!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 1, 2011

My son and daughter graduated from Palo Duro HS and have both moved on to be successful, equipped with the knowledge gained from exceptional teachers. My son graduated with a degree from the University of Oklahoma and my daughter is in a management position with one of the top companies in the United States. If you're looking with a multicultural education PD is the place!!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 2, 2010

I go to P.D. and i like going there.I would not go to any other school in Amarillo. At P.D. I have opportunities I would not get anywhere else. I have one of the best English teachers, Ms.Peeples!
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 14, 2010

I went to p.D. My freshman year and i loved it! i wish i could go back, i never wanted to leave that school. But lets be honest it is pretty tough, not every one would like it as much,
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 16, 2009

All three of my kids have attended and loved it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2009

Something Palo Duro HS is not lacking in is teachers that really care for their students and strive to allow them to succeed, ethnic and social diversity, along with great programs to increase college enrollment (ACE). All that being said, I rated PDHS a below average because while all that is present, there is a lack of motivation from lots of the current students there. I was a former student and because of the low level beng taught there to accomodate the unmotivated students, I really felt that it hindered my learning. I truly didn't feel quite prepared for college, although you do adjust. I graduated summa cum laude from a great university. I really hope one day they would make PDHS a magnet school to increase the amount of motivated students and to really showcase the current exceptional faculty that really live for their students, namely Mrs. Rohanne :)
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 28, 2009

It was a great school. Thank you for every thing.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 26, 2008

I go to PD and I think its the greatest school ever!!! I wouldn't go to any other school for any reason. Right now I am a junior and I know some people change their minds, but I know for sure that i never will.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 1, 2008

I went to Palo Duro, and the time I spend there was just a waste of time. Some of the teachers do no pay attention to their student. When I have my children I would not enroll them in Palo Duro.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 25, 2008

It is a great school, with lots of ethnic diversity and when I have children I won't let them go to any other school in Amarillo.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 26, 2007

I love Palo Duro I went to Palo Duro and I wouldn't want my son to go to any other school. The teachers do care and they do want you to succeed.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted December 17, 2006

I went to school here, and I wish I would have gone to a better school. It seems like teachers dont really care if students learn or not. There is alot of students who distract other students from learning.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted November 3, 2006

Palo Duro is a great school. Kids of all kinds can come to this school and just feel right at home. It's just a great school all around.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 29, 2006

I went to school here as well as my 2 younger brothers. We all loved it here. The band program has become outstanding under the leadership of Jeff Doughten and Terry Baker. And we all know how Coach Parr has turned the football program around. PD was the frist school in the area to offer almost full scholarships to every graduating senior. All you have to do is sign up as a freshman,keep a GPA of at least a 3.0 (or a B),stay in school, andnot fail a grade. It's really not that hard. I think that it challenges students to try their best so that they can go to higher education. Northside Pride! Nuff said!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 4, 2006

I think that the parent involvement could be better. there are alot of drugs going around this school. the teachers are not very interested in the children's education.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted December 29, 2004

Academic programs and extra curricular are available and facilitators are eager to get students involved. However, low income students attend the school and are less likely to be involved. The students who are involved tend to be the middle income students who do better in school. Parental involvement in middle to low.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 89% in 2011.

515 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
87%
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2011.

498 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
55%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 91% in 2011.

392 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
85%
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2011.

391 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
69%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2011.

389 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
58%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 93% in 2011.

385 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 95% in 2013.

365 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
82%
Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

365 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
74%
Science

The state average for Science was 95% in 2013.

361 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
77%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 98% in 2013.

366 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students87%
Female91%
Male83%
Black or African American80%
Asian79%
Hispanic90%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged85%
Special education40%
Limited English proficient (LEP)41%

Math

All Students85%
Female85%
Male84%
Black or African American75%
Asian87%
Hispanic86%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White93%
Economically disadvantaged83%
Special education52%
Limited English proficient (LEP)50%

Science

All Students87%
Female87%
Male87%
Black or African American83%
Asian80%
Hispanic89%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White93%
Economically disadvantaged85%
Special education40%
Limited English proficient (LEP)49%

Social Studies

All Students95%
Female94%
Male95%
Black or African American89%
Asian90%
Hispanic97%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged93%
Special education56%
Limited English proficient (LEP)78%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Academically Unacceptable".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Academically Acceptable".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Academically Acceptable".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 78% in 2013.

406 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
77%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 97% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
58%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 85% in 2013.

491 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
85%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 84% in 2013.

392 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
n/a
English I Reading

The state average for English I Reading was 65% in 2013.

566 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
50%
English I Writing

The state average for English I Writing was 48% in 2013.

618 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
23%

2012

 
 
29%
English II Reading

The state average for English II Reading was 78% in 2013.

423 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
n/a
English II Writing

The state average for English II Writing was 52% in 2013.

423 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
n/a
English III Reading

The state average for English III Reading was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English III Writing

The state average for English III Writing was 42% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 86% in 2013.

373 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
100%
Physics

The state average for Physics was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
World Geography

The state average for World Geography was 75% in 2013.

533 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
66%
World History

The state average for World History was 70% in 2013.

407 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

All Students74%
Female75%
Male72%
Black or African American68%
Asian63%
Hispanic78%
Multiracial75%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White67%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged65%
Special education41%
Not special education76%
Limited English proficient (LEP)54%
Proficient in English77%
Migrant75%
Non-migrant74%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted73%
Bilingualn/a

Algebra II

All Students97%
Female98%
Male96%
Black or African American93%
Asian100%
Hispanic97%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged96%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education98%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English97%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant97%
Gifted/talented95%
Non-Gifted97%
Bilingualn/a

Biology I

All Students80%
Female82%
Male78%
Black or African American72%
Asian74%
Hispanic81%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White87%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Special education58%
Not special education81%
Limited English proficient (LEP)55%
Proficient in English84%
Migrant80%
Non-migrant80%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted79%
Bilingualn/a

Chemistry

All Students83%
Female85%
Male80%
Black or African American80%
Asian92%
Hispanic83%
Multiracial83%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White78%
Economically disadvantaged82%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Special education50%
Not special education85%
Limited English proficient (LEP)66%
Proficient in English85%
Migrant80%
Non-migrant83%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted81%
Bilingualn/a

English I Reading

All Students45%
Female50%
Male39%
Black or African American36%
Asian23%
Hispanic49%
Multiracial56%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White58%
Economically disadvantaged44%
Not economically disadvantaged54%
Special education6%
Not special education48%
Limited English proficient (LEP)15%
Proficient in English52%
Migrant73%
Non-migrant44%
Gifted/talented93%
Non-Gifted43%
Bilingualn/a

English I Writing

All Students23%
Female26%
Male20%
Black or African American13%
Asian20%
Hispanic25%
Multiracial20%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White36%
Economically disadvantaged22%
Not economically disadvantaged34%
Special education2%
Not special education25%
Limited English proficient (LEP)2%
Proficient in English28%
Migrant40%
Non-migrant23%
Gifted/talented93%
Non-Gifted21%
Bilingualn/a

English II Reading

All Students69%
Female72%
Male67%
Black or African American61%
Asian60%
Hispanic73%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White70%
Economically disadvantaged68%
Not economically disadvantaged76%
Special education18%
Not special education72%
Limited English proficient (LEP)27%
Proficient in English76%
Migrant83%
Non-migrant69%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted67%
Bilingualn/a

English II Writing

All Students34%
Female38%
Male30%
Black or African American20%
Asian40%
Hispanic36%
Multiracial67%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White48%
Economically disadvantaged34%
Not economically disadvantaged36%
Special education5%
Not special education36%
Limited English proficient (LEP)8%
Proficient in English39%
Migrant33%
Non-migrant34%
Gifted/talented92%
Non-Gifted31%
Bilingualn/a

English III Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

English III Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

Geometry

All Students82%
Female88%
Male77%
Black or African American75%
Asian90%
Hispanic83%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White84%
Economically disadvantaged83%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Special education39%
Not special education86%
Limited English proficient (LEP)67%
Proficient in English84%
Migrant86%
Non-migrant82%
Gifted/talented93%
Non-Gifted82%
Bilingualn/a

Physics

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

U.S. History

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

World Geography

All Students58%
Female55%
Male62%
Black or African American47%
Asian43%
Hispanic62%
Multiracial60%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White70%
Economically disadvantaged58%
Not economically disadvantaged64%
Special education13%
Not special education62%
Limited English proficient (LEP)29%
Proficient in English64%
Migrant44%
Non-migrant58%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted57%
Bilingualn/a

World History

All Students64%
Female56%
Male73%
Black or African American49%
Asian81%
Hispanic65%
Multiracial67%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White73%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged72%
Special education29%
Not special education67%
Limited English proficient (LEP)39%
Proficient in English67%
Migrant83%
Non-migrant64%
Gifted/talented96%
Non-Gifted62%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 59% 52%
Black 18% 13%
Asian or Pacific Islander 13% 4%
White 8% 29%
Two or more races 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient (LEP) 17%N/A17%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Beginning teachers 7%N/AN/A
Source: CRDC, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
College counselor(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • SANDRA WHITLOW
Fax number
  • (806) 381-7166

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • College/career center
  • Library
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1400 North Grant Street
Amarillo, TX 79107
Website: Click here
Phone: (806) 326-2400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Ascension Academy
Amarillo, TX






Caprock High School
Amarillo, TX


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT