Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
19 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 21 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Palo Duro High School 5

Posted October 22, 2014
- a parent
All four of my kids went to Palo Duro and loved it. The teachers have no problem getting in contact with parents on there grades. The teachers would stay on top of my kids if they were falling behind. They also helped them so much with the college preparations.

Palo Duro High School 5

Posted July 31, 2014
- a community member
I went to this school for 2 years didn't graduate from it how I would of loved too but it's the best school ever! .I enjoyed it very muchh


Palo Duro High School 1

Posted September 30, 2011
- a student
im going to palo duro and i can really say its horrible everyone there is pregnant the teachers dont care about who learns and who dont there is no modivation at all all there is is drugs and pregnancy why would you want your kid to go here?! and we have the worst scores ever! keep that in mind if your thinking about sending your kid here!

Palo Duro High School 4

Posted September 01, 2011
- a teacher
My son and daughter graduated from Palo Duro HS and have both moved on to be successful, equipped with the knowledge gained from exceptional teachers. My son graduated with a degree from the University of Oklahoma and my daughter is in a management position with one of the top companies in the United States. If you're looking with a multicultural education PD is the place!!

Palo Duro High School 4

Posted November 02, 2010
- a student
I go to P.D. and i like going there.I would not go to any other school in Amarillo. At P.D. I have opportunities I would not get anywhere else. I have one of the best English teachers, Ms.Peeples!


Palo Duro High School 5

Posted April 14, 2010
- a student
I went to p.D. My freshman year and i loved it! i wish i could go back, i never wanted to leave that school. But lets be honest it is pretty tough, not every one would like it as much,

Palo Duro High School
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
All three of my kids have attended and loved it.

Palo Duro High School 2

Posted May 25, 2009
- a student
Something Palo Duro HS is not lacking in is teachers that really care for their students and strive to allow them to succeed, ethnic and social diversity, along with great programs to increase college enrollment (ACE). All that being said, I rated PDHS a below average because while all that is present, there is a lack of motivation from lots of the current students there. I was a former student and because of the low level beng taught there to accomodate the unmotivated students, I really felt that it hindered my learning. I truly didn't feel quite prepared for college, although you do adjust. I graduated summa cum laude from a great university. I really hope one day they would make PDHS a magnet school to increase the amount of motivated students and to really showcase the current exceptional faculty that really live for their students, namely Mrs. Rohanne :)


Palo Duro High School
no rating

Posted February 28, 2009
- a student
It was a great school. Thank you for every thing.

Palo Duro High School 5

Posted August 26, 2008
- a student
I go to PD and I think its the greatest school ever!!! I wouldn't go to any other school for any reason. Right now I am a junior and I know some people change their minds, but I know for sure that i never will.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Palo Duro High School
1400 North Grant Street, Amarillo, TX  79107
(806) 326-2400
Last modified Palo Duro High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Palo Duro High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. Top