Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Western Plateau Elementary School 5

Posted December 06, 2011
- a parent
We love this school. They are very helpful and supportive of all the kids and their families. I've seen many teachers, staff and volunteers go out of their way to help the kids, the families and each other.

Western Plateau Elementary School 5

Posted October 04, 2009
- a parent
I love western plateau because my daughter was struggling with reading and comprehending what she read. They not only taught her how but she is know getting an A in reading. Also they provide awesome opportunities for kids in music, which I believe enhances the their education even more.


Western Plateau Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted October 03, 2009
- a parent
We have excellent, seasoned teachers that are well schooled in reading and balanced literacy. The administrative staff is very supportive of the kids as well as the teachers. The teachers are full of love and devotion to the children and the children are learning!!!

Western Plateau Elementary School 5

Posted September 09, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Western Plateau Elementary School 2

Posted February 10, 2008
- a parent
My children seemed to have enjoyed the teachers at this school. Unfortunately, bullying seems to be a pretty bad problem. Yes, even in elementary school.


Western Plateau Elementary School 5

Posted January 09, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Western Plateau Elementary School 4

Posted August 02, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Western Plateau Elementary School 4

Posted July 23, 2007
- a parent
We had a very good experience at SH. My son was a kindergartner and had a great first year with the most amazing teacher! Felt that, overall, teachers, parents, and students were well supported. Staff knew students by name and made an effort to make parents feel welcome. Huge emphasis on child safety and health that I sure appreciated! Wish that the school could incorporate more 'free/active' time during the school day. This active time is so crucial to attention and learning and was often limited due to limited teachers/aids and staff to watch the child while playing outside. It was always a 'special' day when the children got to play in the gym, etc. That should be as routine as spelling time, in my opinion. Overall, we were very pleased with WP and would highly recommend!


Western Plateau Elementary School 4

Posted May 30, 2006
- a parent
Great librarian, great pre-k teacher! Principal is a little stubborn; she refuses to move kids from 1 class to another regardless of problem.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Western Plateau Elementary School
4927 Shawnee Trail, Amarillo, TX  79109
(806) 326-5550
Last modified Western Plateau Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Western Plateau Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top