Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

River Road High School

Public | 9-12 | 417 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 8, 2014

Worst school I have ever been to and I have been to lots of schools...The teachers rarely teach and when they do they do it very poorly! Do not send your kids to this school worsr school ever!!!!


Posted October 4, 2012

River Road High School and River Road ISD is the best in the Area. The teacher and administrators care deeply about every student and work very hard to ensure they receive the best education possible. It is east to cast stones when you have parents who expect the schools to raise their children but despite what the teachers, principals and staff have to deal with, they do a fantastic job. I would not have my kids in any other district. We have been very pleased with our childrens education and will recommend River Road to anyone looking for a quality education for their kids. Thank you River Road!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2011

I am a River Road alumni and that school is literally the worst in the area. Most of the teachers are coaches who don't care about any kids unless their on their sports team. And if you want to be in any other extra cirricular activities, they expect you to pay for every little thing because all the schools money goes to their sports teams. The people in the area are either rich farm kids or kids living below the poverty line. The teachers choose favorites and will easily ignore students that are not excelling in National Honor Society, which by the way, they are so desperate for members they let anyone in. Also, the school allows racism to happen. Because a lot of kids are white in the region, they don't care if the kids yell racial slurs or even taunt others kids about their races. Another thing, their academic programs are so bad that students in River Road's National Honor Society don't qualify for Amarillo High School or really any other honor society because the programs are so ill constructed. Any student graduating from this high school is being cheated a real education. Please, if you love your child, do not send them to this school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 5, 2009

It is the best high school in north Amarillo, & it has the best students in town


Posted January 10, 2009

We have new school that is already falling apart after only two years. The superintendent is clueless and the school just want to spend money to be like the jones. They were going to demo the old school building but all of a sudden see possible new student due to a small housing start in the area, so now 3/4 of it will used as a two grade middle. The teaching staff are more concerned about a paycheck then educating students. Indepth teachng is done is done before and after school for student wish come early 30 minutes or staying late. There are not enough teachers in each subject or room for it either. A third of the teaching staff are coaches teaching other subject. Sports play a major roll in the district allowing others to fall into a stepchild status ( music, arts, etc.).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 27, 2008

I graduated from River Road not that long ago. I recently went to the UIL Marching Contest at Dick Bivins. I almost cried. I give a huge hand to the kids that had the courage to be on that field against so many big bands. It is dissheartening to see the enrollement drop from when I was in band under Mr. Hutson, by the way was 83 to 12. It must be frustrating for the new director, which my daughter had the honor to play for before our move. What is going on at this school? Programs like band and choir are so important to the development in our children. No wonder people are moving away at such a fast rate.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 18, 2008

As a river road alumni, I just have to say that River Road is one of the best small country high schools out there. The teachers know you and if you give them the time of day and don't act foolish or violent everything is fine. One thing that is a real downer is the student body. They would first insult their own school then others, granted insulting your palce of learning is pretty immature it's worse when you do it to your own school. It isn't hard to make good grades and pass course, if you try. 9 times out of 10 the students you here flaming their own school are the students who are un-involved because they are just to cool for school. But if you talk to any student who is actively involved with an organization or sport you will find a whole different attitude.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 23, 2008

First they were going to tear up the old high school and build a new HS with the bond money . Hah!!! We were lied to from the get go, now they are going to put the Jr. high kids in the old part with the asbestos. I don't have any respect for the ones that decided to do this, Notice the superintendent is still in the new part. For this reason I give the school and all who run it a big fat 0 I am just glad the people in bushland were smart enought to vote down the second bond. Way to go Bushland!!!


Posted August 17, 2007

Its pathetic. The teachers have a horrible disposition about themselves and the students have a low morale from the disrespect received from the administrators. The only extracurricular activities they really have is sports. The discipline is irresponsible and the parents could care less. Unless their kids are in sports. Then they make sure their kid is comfortable on the bus to the game. But don't do anything about the classes. They give all the opportunities to the gifted kids and pay no attention to the ones that are average and/or struggling.


Posted April 18, 2007

Hello I am a Sophmore fixen to become a Junior and I have to say something about this school yes it is a safe school I have to give them that but they they dont care about there choir and band or theater or anything like that all they care about is there athletic program. I dont think that the school should be spending so much time on athletics and a little more on choir and band and theater and stuff like that but other than than that the school is ok
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 2, 2006

I had my doubts about RRHS the first 2 years of my enrollment here, But now entering my Junior year I can see how I was very wrong. The teachers are great with one-on-one with the students and I have really learned alot more than I thought I would. I do think we could spend more on our music and art programs, but other than that this school is simply a fun learning experience. And I see a new face every week in the hallways now. So I guess people are starting to realize the possibilities of RRHS. Hail to Glory, River Road!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 9, 2005

This high school puts more into Athletics than anything else such as Chior, Art, etc. They care more about their loosing football team than anything else.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 24, 2005

The academic programs are great. The smaller class sizes create more one on one with the students. The extracurricular activities are available to everyone as long as you comply with the guidelines to each sport or extracurricular activity. The parents are usually involved with everything that they are permitted to be involved with. By that I mean things that the parents might get in the way like practices and team meetings. I feel that this school is as safe as a school can be.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 89% in 2011.

117 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
94%
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2011.

114 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
61%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 91% in 2011.

103 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
87%
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2011.

101 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
60%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2011.

105 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
72%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 93% in 2011.

104 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 95% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
89%
Science

The state average for Science was 95% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
91%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 98% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students94%
Female97%
Male92%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged92%
Special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a

Math

All Students90%
Female89%
Male90%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged89%
Special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a

Science

All Students95%
Female95%
Male96%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged92%
Special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a

Social Studies

All Students98%
Female97%
Male98%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged97%
Special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Academically Acceptable".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Recognized".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Academically Acceptable".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 78% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
85%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 97% in 2013.

33 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 85% in 2013.

115 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
85%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 84% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
n/a
English I Reading

The state average for English I Reading was 65% in 2013.

122 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
64%
English I Writing

The state average for English I Writing was 48% in 2013.

131 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
45%
English II Reading

The state average for English II Reading was 78% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
n/a
English II Writing

The state average for English II Writing was 52% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
n/a
English III Reading

The state average for English III Reading was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English III Writing

The state average for English III Writing was 42% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 86% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
93%
Physics

The state average for Physics was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
68%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
56%
World Geography

The state average for World Geography was 75% in 2013.

116 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
79%
World History

The state average for World History was 70% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

All Students70%
Female71%
Male68%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic59%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White73%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Not economically disadvantaged68%
Special education33%
Not special education72%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English70%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant70%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Gifted69%
Bilingualn/a

Algebra II

All Students94%
Female100%
Male89%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic83%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged94%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Special educationn/a
Not special education94%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English94%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant94%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted92%
Bilingualn/a

Biology I

All Students90%
Female86%
Male94%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic79%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White93%
Economically disadvantaged91%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Special education83%
Not special education90%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English90%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant90%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted89%
Bilingualn/a

Chemistry

All Students92%
Female92%
Male92%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged93%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Special educationn/a
Not special education92%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English92%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant92%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted90%
Bilingualn/a

English I Reading

All Students61%
Female64%
Male58%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic48%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White67%
Economically disadvantaged58%
Not economically disadvantaged66%
Special education13%
Not special education65%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English62%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant61%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted59%
Bilingualn/a

English I Writing

All Students40%
Female44%
Male37%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic20%
Multiracial86%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White45%
Economically disadvantaged38%
Not economically disadvantaged44%
Special education13%
Not special education42%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English41%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant40%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted37%
Bilingualn/a

English II Reading

All Students85%
Female93%
Male78%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic77%
Multiracial80%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged84%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Special educationn/a
Not special education88%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English85%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant85%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted84%
Bilingualn/a

English II Writing

All Students60%
Female67%
Male54%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic36%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White65%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Not economically disadvantaged67%
Special educationn/a
Not special education61%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English60%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant60%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted56%
Bilingualn/a

English III Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a

English III Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a

Geometry

All Students88%
Female89%
Male87%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic89%
Multiracial80%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged92%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Special educationn/a
Not special education89%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English88%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant88%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted87%
Bilingualn/a

Physics

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a

U.S. History

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a

World Geography

All Students84%
Female79%
Male92%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic71%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged82%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Special education63%
Not special education86%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English85%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant84%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted83%
Bilingualn/a

World History

All Students73%
Female67%
Male79%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic68%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White73%
Economically disadvantaged65%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Special educationn/a
Not special education75%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English73%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant73%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted70%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 75% 29%
Hispanic 20% 52%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 0%
Two or more races 2% 2%
Asian or Pacific Islander N/A 4%
Black N/A 13%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Beginning teachers 16%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

101 West Mobley Street
Amarillo, TX 79108
Website: Click here
Phone: (806) 383-8867

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Ascension Academy
Amarillo, TX




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT