Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


14 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


River Road High School 1

Posted August 08, 2014
- a community member
Worst school I have ever been to and I have been to lots of schools...The teachers rarely teach and when they do they do it very poorly! Do not send your kids to this school worsr school ever!!!!

River Road High School 5

Posted October 04, 2012
- a parent
River Road High School and River Road ISD is the best in the Area. The teacher and administrators care deeply about every student and work very hard to ensure they receive the best education possible. It is east to cast stones when you have parents who expect the schools to raise their children but despite what the teachers, principals and staff have to deal with, they do a fantastic job. I would not have my kids in any other district. We have been very pleased with our childrens education and will recommend River Road to anyone looking for a quality education for their kids. Thank you River Road!


River Road High School 1

Posted April 10, 2011
- a student
I am a River Road alumni and that school is literally the worst in the area. Most of the teachers are coaches who don't care about any kids unless their on their sports team. And if you want to be in any other extra cirricular activities, they expect you to pay for every little thing because all the schools money goes to their sports teams. The people in the area are either rich farm kids or kids living below the poverty line. The teachers choose favorites and will easily ignore students that are not excelling in National Honor Society, which by the way, they are so desperate for members they let anyone in. Also, the school allows racism to happen. Because a lot of kids are white in the region, they don't care if the kids yell racial slurs or even taunt others kids about their races. Another thing, their academic programs are so bad that students in River Road's National Honor Society don't qualify for Amarillo High School or really any other honor society because the programs are so ill constructed. Any student graduating from this high school is being cheated a real education. Please, if you love your child, do not send them to this school.

River Road High School 0
no rating

Posted October 05, 2009
- a community member
It is the best high school in north Amarillo, & it has the best students in town

River Road High School 2

Posted January 10, 2009
- a parent
We have new school that is already falling apart after only two years. The superintendent is clueless and the school just want to spend money to be like the jones. They were going to demo the old school building but all of a sudden see possible new student due to a small housing start in the area, so now 3/4 of it will used as a two grade middle. The teaching staff are more concerned about a paycheck then educating students. Indepth teachng is done is done before and after school for student wish come early 30 minutes or staying late. There are not enough teachers in each subject or room for it either. A third of the teaching staff are coaches teaching other subject. Sports play a major roll in the district allowing others to fall into a stepchild status ( music, arts, etc.).


River Road High School 2

Posted December 27, 2008
- a parent
I graduated from River Road not that long ago. I recently went to the UIL Marching Contest at Dick Bivins. I almost cried. I give a huge hand to the kids that had the courage to be on that field against so many big bands. It is dissheartening to see the enrollement drop from when I was in band under Mr. Hutson, by the way was 83 to 12. It must be frustrating for the new director, which my daughter had the honor to play for before our move. What is going on at this school? Programs like band and choir are so important to the development in our children. No wonder people are moving away at such a fast rate.

River Road High School 0
no rating

Posted December 18, 2008
- a student
As a river road alumni, I just have to say that River Road is one of the best small country high schools out there. The teachers know you and if you give them the time of day and don't act foolish or violent everything is fine. One thing that is a real downer is the student body. They would first insult their own school then others, granted insulting your palce of learning is pretty immature it's worse when you do it to your own school. It isn't hard to make good grades and pass course, if you try. 9 times out of 10 the students you here flaming their own school are the students who are un-involved because they are just to cool for school. But if you talk to any student who is actively involved with an organization or sport you will find a whole different attitude.

River Road High School 0
no rating

Posted March 23, 2008
- a community member
First they were going to tear up the old high school and build a new HS with the bond money . Hah!!! We were lied to from the get go, now they are going to put the Jr. high kids in the old part with the asbestos. I don't have any respect for the ones that decided to do this, Notice the superintendent is still in the new part. For this reason I give the school and all who run it a big fat 0 I am just glad the people in bushland were smart enought to vote down the second bond. Way to go Bushland!!!


River Road High School 5

Posted August 31, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

River Road High School 0
no rating

Posted August 17, 2007
- a community member
Its pathetic. The teachers have a horrible disposition about themselves and the students have a low morale from the disrespect received from the administrators. The only extracurricular activities they really have is sports. The discipline is irresponsible and the parents could care less. Unless their kids are in sports. Then they make sure their kid is comfortable on the bus to the game. But don't do anything about the classes. They give all the opportunities to the gifted kids and pay no attention to the ones that are average and/or struggling.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

River Road High School
101 West Mobley Street, Amarillo, TX  79108
(806) 383-8867
Last modified River Road High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
River Road High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top