Advertisement
Advertisement

Amarillo Montessori Academy

Private | PK-3

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Amarillo

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $86,200. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $790.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 26, 2012

My three children attended the Amarillo Montessori Academy and I served on the board of directors. My children played outside every day unless it was freezing or wet on the playground. They also had indoor recess with gross motor activites in their very large classrooms. Three of the six classrooms are larger than 1,000 square feet each. From toddler classes through preschool, my children were never in a class with maximum ratios. The very low ratios were what attracted us to the school. My family was treated with love and respect and my children even wanted to invite their teachers to their birthday parties. We loved the individual attention that each child got and we were so pleased that all three children were respected for the gifts that they brought to the classroom. I am sorry that the Amarillo Montessori Academy is sometimes confused with other Montessori schools in town because I would highly recommend it to anyone looking for education, respect and affection for their child!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2011

Both of my children attend Amarillo Montessori Academy. My daughter is four, she is reading, writing, making patterns, adding, and loves seeing Ms. Ince and Penny the Prairie Dog every day. My son is two and loves Mrs. Ray. They are finishing up a unit on penguins, learning letters, phonics, and numbers. She is working so patiently with his potty training. I get a write up of what he worked with during the day and how his day went. I couldn't be happier with the choice in a school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2010

If you have a child who is totally compliant and can entertain him or herself in a 2x2 square this is the school for you. My son was significantly happier at a school where there was room to play and understanding teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2010

Things have not changed since 2004. There is still no place for the children to play in bad weather. This means they are cramped in small rooms for the entire day. The rooms here are also much smaller than classrooms at other schools. My child attended this school for a year and loved it until he became an active little boy instead of a small toddler. His new teacher made it clear she could not deal with him. My son is now in a school with large rooms and a gym to play in on bad weather days and is thriving. I haven't had to leave him crying for me once at his new school. When considering schools for your child please look for one with a gym for bad weather days.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2008

We like the low teacher/student ratios and low turnover, but feel unwelcomed by the staff who seems to be indifferent towards parents in general. Perhaps a gentle nudge into reality, out of the complacency that comes with tenure would remind them that - in addition to providing all supplies & snacks - we also pay their salaries...Some regard and courtesy is in order.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2007

My children attended the Amarillo Montessori Academy for preschool and elementary school. They were each treated as individuals with different needs. The curriculum was challenging and they were able to excel at their own pace. Spanish, music and art are all offered either as part of the tuition or privately at the school. They were loved and respected by the staff and any concerns that we had were handled to our satisfaction. My husband and I both volunteered at the school and got to know the teachers and administration. I believe that children get more from school when parents are involved and communicate regularly with the teachers. My children felt accepted and cherished for their individual gifts. They never felt rejected if they did not understand a new concept or if they were learning a new social skill. I hope that my grandchildren will someday attend the Amarillo Montessori Academy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2006

I would not take my son anywhere else. He is in the infant/toddler class and loves it. they take time to teach babies what they have the potential for learning, it's not just playing. they play with learning toys, listen to music, outside time. they encourage parent involvement and we can help as much as we want. They have certain amount of hours of parent activities required,which is not much, to get the parents involved but there are plenty of things to get involved in. I love it and wouldnt trust many others with my son, especially with all the day care 'problems' lately.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2005

My son is in the toddler program at the school. He really seems to enjoy the atmosphere and teachers. The activities they have on a daily basis include art (color, marker, paint, stamps, etc), music, reading, outside time, learning life skills (using utensils, intro to the potty, manners, sign language, etc).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2005

Both my son and saughter went to this school and we loved it. The staff was kind and great to work with. The worked great with my gifted children. My kids would still be at this school if we had not moved out of sate. I would highly recommend this school for any and all kids. They really look out for the whole family and include parents in the classroom. A+
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2004

My son went to this school for a year and it was difficult and frustrating for him and for us. The facility does not provide for indoor play. So when it is cold they are cooped up in small classrooms with maximum capacity student loads. The administration was ineffective in solving problems and if I had looked closer they have very few boys enrolled. In retrospect they prefer compliant little girls over active little boys. We have changed to another school with kinder teachers, listening administrators and a great big gym.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 85% 37%
Asian 8% N/A
Hispanic 8% 47%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Black 0% 14%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Montessori
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3806 Bowie St
Amarillo, TX 79110
Phone: (806) 353-3871

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT