Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

9-12|Private
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
7 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (3 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 25 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Holy Cross Catholic Academy 5

Posted July 22, 2016
- a parent
This a wonderful place. All teachers have many years of teaching experience. Most have their Master's degrees. No high stakes testing, no bullying, a great community of people. Not all students are Catholic, some are here for the great academics and small class size.

Holy Cross Catholic Academy
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted July 22, 2016
- a parent
Darla Mueller is the heart of the school. She knows each student well and helps them be their best. She is experienced and always ready to help.


Holy Cross Catholic Academy
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted July 22, 2016
- a parent
Students at HCCA may be at a private school but unlike other private schools in our area HCCA has a wide range of social and economic differences. It is the only private high school in the area that helps students from other countries receive visas's to study in the USA.

Holy Cross Catholic Academy
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted July 22, 2016
- a parent
These characteristics are as important as individual or academic achievement at Holy Cross. Students help one another and for the most part integrity and positive values obvious to those who visit.

Holy Cross Catholic Academy
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted July 15, 2016
- a community member
When I was a student, each and every teacher helped me grow and learn more and more, even in the topics I wasn't interested in at all. Without each and every one of the wonderful teachers at HCCA, my life would be completely different. To this day, when I see one of my previous teachers, I look at them with admiration and true respect for the respect and admiration they gave me while I was learning from them. I want to make each of them proud.


Holy Cross Catholic Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted July 15, 2016
- a community member
If the teachers were not effective, the school would not survive. The teachers truly believe and love what they teach. If they were in it only for the money, they would be somewhere else.

Holy Cross Catholic Academy
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted July 15, 2016
- a community member
Sometimes, the work can pile up if the students don't keep up with what they need to do when. And when this happens, the students get a real-life lesson in learning to manage their time.

Holy Cross Catholic Academy
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted July 15, 2016
- a community member
In a small-school atmosphere, the stakes are high and the competition is fierce. Through challenging courses, HCCA encourages the students to try their hardest and most definitely prepares each and every student for college.


Holy Cross Catholic Academy
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted July 15, 2016
- a community member
All of the teachers offer many one-on-one services if a student is struggling. Before school, during lunch, or after school, these teachers truly care about their students and want to seem them grow and learn as much as they can within their short time at Holy Cross.

Holy Cross Catholic Academy
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted July 15, 2016
- a community member
Honesty is a high priority for Holy Cross students. Through teacher's examples, students strive to be the best students they can be.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Holy Cross Catholic Academy
4110 S Bonham St, Amarillo, TX  79110
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 25 reviews. (806) 355-9637
Last modified Holy Cross Catholic Academy is a Private school that serves grades 9-12
Top